Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bobsled ride is unreal! Great Bonus Features
"Cinerama Holiday" was the 2nd of the original, 3-panel Cinerama travelogues. Released in 1955, the motion picture crisscrosses two hybridized travelogues of the "Cinerama camera accompanied" vacations of two adventurous, real-life, married couples. The couple from America go to Europe and the couple from Switzerland tour the USA. My granddaughters love the rollercoaster...
Published 15 months ago by Mark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the rest of the film is very slow and low action make enjoy this technology
Restoring flawless film. the sound is a little loose knowing the quality of Cinerama.
The documentary itself is not deserving of the Cinerama technology since except for the last scenes of flight with the U.S. Navy, the rest of the film is very slow and low action not allowed to enjoy this technology.

The blu ray suffers in the second part of the film some...
Published 6 months ago by Lluis S T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bobsled ride is unreal! Great Bonus Features, October 28, 2013
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"Cinerama Holiday" was the 2nd of the original, 3-panel Cinerama travelogues. Released in 1955, the motion picture crisscrosses two hybridized travelogues of the "Cinerama camera accompanied" vacations of two adventurous, real-life, married couples. The couple from America go to Europe and the couple from Switzerland tour the USA. My granddaughters love the rollercoaster in "This is Cinerama" and set their chairs side-by-side close to the big screen TV to watch it. But for them the bobsled ride is the best. They "rode" the bobsled segment 14 times in a row. They would have gone more but the needed to go to dance lessons. Result: two more kids who are hooked on Cinerama and travelogues in general. Dave Strohmaier (who has re-mastered these films)has done a fabulous job in keeping Cinerama alive and well. Thanks Dave for a job well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flicker Alley Got It Right ! Thank you, November 7, 2013
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great picture quality. Last year my son gave me "This Is Cinerama" and this year, again for my birthday, he gave me another Cinerama restoration, " Cinerama Holiday".
What a fantastic improvement in picture quality. It gets even better about 1 hour into the film too. I did not get to see Cinerama Holiday at the Tennessee Theater in downtown Nashville back in the 50s, so this was a treat. Also, I enjoyed this film a bit more than than the first. It was much more interesting to me. So my hat is off to everyone at Flicker Alley for the fantastic restoration. I love Smilebox too. Just like when I sat 5th row center in the theater, I can see a bit of the stage just below the curved screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinerama Holiday, October 31, 2013
By 
GREGORY G. STANGAL (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was to young to see CINERAMA HOLIDAY on its original release and wished one day I could. My wish was granted with this fantastic release from Flicker Alley. The transfer is incredible! It is wonderful to see the world as it was back in 1955. This is a great piece of history and should be in everyone's collection.
'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Capsule, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this for my dad as a Christmas present and we all watched as this wonderful time capsule of travel, both domestic and foreign, unfolded. While it is somewhat uneven with too much time devoted to some subjects and not enough for others (NY especially!) it was a fascinating look at the world as it existed then. The conceit of the two traveling couples is ridiculous and they add nothing to what is essentially a medley of travelogue footage. But it survives on the merit of the travel footage alone. The extras are interesting in a "watch it once" kind of way...fun to see the two women as they are now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a second look, July 28, 2014
By 
Joseph P. Durham, Jr. (West Monroe, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Never say never would be the accurate way to describe this release. Cinerama Holiday was the second Cinerama production, and the first I ever saw in a theater, so it is fitting that it be released to DVD. The ads for Cinerama in the 1950's, when both Cinerama and the teevee were in their infancies, said Cinerama could never be shown on the teevee. Now it is presented in full stereophonic sound and very painstakingly restored as well. We see it on the DVD almost as it was presented back in the 1950's. Of course, it is awfully hard to present a curved screen onto a flat one, so they have done the next best thing, they have put the camera in the back of the theater auditorium and projected it that way. It almost works. I should think it would truly work on the new curved screen teevees which are coming out now. It will be awhile before I will be able to see it that way, though. I don't have $3,000 to shell out for one just now. There are segments in this movie which are better than others. I enjoyed the trip across America and the Swiss Alps, but I believe the Paris segment was just a tad long. I especailly enjoyed the New Orleans segment, but it didn't show Mardi Gras, which would have been tremendous in Cinerama. I also especially enjoyed the New England fair. Still, Cinerama Holiday is a good history lesson showing the United States as it once was, and Paris, too. In fact, its fun to see all the old films again, even though the projection is not quite there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and beautiful., December 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very beautiful and flawless Blu-Ray print in the amazing SmileBox format. Some very exciting scenes and magnificent scenery. An absolute must for anyone with a large flat screen TV. This is the original roadshow uncut print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinerama Holiday, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the second of the Cinerama travelogues. As with Windjammer, which was also done by Louis DeRochement, there was a more coherent plot, than in the other films.
photography was good and the supplements were actually interesting. This is the one film I never got to see during roadshow so it was a treat to finally it. Goood musical score. I enjoyed this and Windjammer more than any of the other presentations.
one caution however, it needs to be projected on a BIG screen to get the effect. Even a 100" diagonal may be too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING! SPECTACULAR! Flicker Alley blu-ray is amazing!, January 8, 2014
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Flicker Alley did a fantastic job with Cinarama Holiday. We watched this blu-ray during the Christmas Season with a room full of guests through an HD protector on a 110" screen. Everybody sat real close. Next best thing to reliving the Cinarama experience at home. Guests raved about the experience, and the quality of the intensive restoration of this magnificent travelogue. It's like you're really there....but, there back in 1955! A highlight to the season and an experience my guests will remember forever. What an amazing flashback experience through the advancement of technology.

Excellent addition and a "MUST HAVE" for any blu-ray aficionado's collection.

BEWARE: Make sure you get the FLICKER ALLEY blu-ray release, and not the hack job atrocity distributed by Alpha Video. Flicker Alley spend years and years, and big bucks (with loving care) to restore this historical gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge achievement, December 30, 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray release is a huge achievement. It has been restored to an unbelievably good state. Both sound and picture are top notch, much better than the first two Cinerama reissues from Flicker Alley. Although not as historically significant as "This is Cinerama" due to its being the second travelog Cinerama movie produced, the segments in Holiday are for me not as trying and much more interesting. The supplemental features are outstanding as well especially for the kind participation of the four main stars. This is an absolute must purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
enjoyed it very much very historical will show it to all my friends very realistic in smilevision would like to get the DVD when it becomes available of The making of Cinerama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray]
Cinerama Holiday [Blu-ray] by Robert L. Bendick and Philippe de Lacy (Blu-ray - 2013)
$39.95 $32.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.