Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, February 1, 2011
This review is from: Circuit Analysis of a Legendary Tube Amplifier: The Fender Bassman 5F6-A, Third Edition (Paperback)
I ordered this book based on the short info available on Amazon. I was surprised and at times shocked by the content. I didnt expect this level of depth and quality. The engineering, the math, with clear explanations of the circuits and design. I started reading this and wondered... was this a guitar player that's an electrical engineer that decided to do a thesis on the bassman amp? Excellent book but not for the novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, November 27, 2006
By 
Jojobone (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This is a book for anyone serious about circuit analysis.

Why is this book important? The 5F6-A circuit is important pedigree of most great tube amps. The techniques (if not the direct analytic results and conclusions) can be applied to almost any guitar tube amp design. If you are serious about designing or building guitar amps then you need to get this book, you won't be disappointed.

Important in Kuehnel's approach "understanding" not just cold analytic analysis (although that is there as well, and it is superb). In most cases he presents and analyzes a simplified equivalent circuits to provide insight and intuitive understanding, then he follows with a complete soup-to-nuts analysis.

Each stage of the 5F6-A circuit is rigorously considered as a separate subsystem and the results are eventually integrated and summarized. This allows one to skip around and explore the book in the order of topics that interest them.

As engineering books go this one is very readable, but it might be difficult for anyone that does not have formal training in electrical engineering (or the like) or is not otherwise a serious student of analytic techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about covers it....., October 15, 2008
The Bassman amplifier produces one of the most revered and sought-after guitar sounds in modern musical history. This book delves into good detail explaining many of the subleties of the operation of this circuit. For small-signal analysis, you will not find much missing here. My only gripe is that it's a bit vague on non-linear operation, allowing that there is some good detail on power supply sag effects and power-amp non-linearity. I'd like to see more on distortion in all stages under overdrive conditions (e.g., positive grid bias), specifics on output transformer effects at various drive levels, and analysis of speaker breakup. After all, much of the Bassman's magic occurs when it's pushed, and there is only an appetizer's worth of detail addressing that. Otherwise, a must-own book for anyone interested in the clever design decisions - and happy design accidents - that make this amplifier the launching pad for zillions of "classic amps" to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of hard math gotta use your head, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circuit Analysis of a Legendary Tube Amplifier: The Fender Bassman 5F6-A, Third Edition (Paperback)
I liked this book but it was so hard for me I had too buy other books too figure this one out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, October 22, 2009
By 
Tone techy (Council Bluffs,Ia USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book deals in facts, just the facts,ma'am. That said, the book gives a very insightful circuit analysis of this legendary amplifier from Leo's venerable stable of amplifiers. It also has a section of the book devoted to the most famous Bassman clone from across the Pond and illustrates similarities and differences.All in all a great starting point for anyone interested in designing an amplifier or someone who wants to get a better understanding of how circuit analysis can be applied to any vacuum tube amplifier. Very good book, many useful formulas, but if math frightened you as a child this may cause nightmares! Definitely aimed at technical people, engineers primarily and not the average weekend warrior guitarslinger who is not up on electronics.Definitely not beyond the average person's comprehension by any means, but probably a little better understanding of electronics would make it a more valuable resource as well as easier to read. All in all a very good book to read and study-highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, October 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book gives enough background that if you are a little bit rusty on your circuit analysis (as I was), you can still get the maximum value from the book. I have only completed the 1st chapter, but if the rest of the book is as good as the 1st chapter, then this book will prove to be the most valuable of the numerous books I have on tube amps. Duplicating the techniques outlined in this book I will be able perform a similar circuit analysis of my Marshall 50w Plexi and Cornford Hellcat, and then hopefully, fully understand why each sounds the way it does. I just wish it was available in hard copy because I think it will become a reference book for me moving forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great analysis of THE classic guitar amp circuit, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circuit Analysis of a Legendary Tube Amplifier: The Fender Bassman 5F6-A, Third Edition (Paperback)
As you can tell by the cover this book is very much an engineering style circuit analysis. If you are unfamiliar with equivalent circuits, voltage and current sources, and circuits 101/102 type analysis, this book may be a bit much. If you are familiar with circuit analysis this book is excellent, it breaks down the stages into equivalent circuits at different frequency ranges and shows the effect of various parts of the circuit on the sound and feel. It really takes the things you can hear and observe about the circuit and explains the way the circuit is interacting to produce those sounds. I highly recommend this and all Kuehnel's books. Also if you like this, or any of Kuehnel's books, I recommend checking out Merlin Blencowe's books as well. These are on another level from the non-technical fairy tale books that seem to fill the tube guitar amplifier world with garbage information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circuit Analysis of a Legendary Tube Amplifier: The Fender Bassman 5F6-A, Third Edition (Paperback)
I'm finding this to be a great in depth analysis and very well written. This is a book for engineers or engineering students that have had circuit analysis courses dealing with dependent sources (etc). I've not seen another book on the topic like this one. An absolute must have if your really interested in understanding tube guitar amplifier design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you deeply understand the choices made by Fender and Marshall, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Circuit Analysis of a Legendary Tube Amplifier: The Fender Bassman 5F6-A, Third Edition (Paperback)
I'm an electronic engineer, deeply interested in vacuum tubes guitar amplifiers. This very theoretical book meets my expectations, driving me to the appliance of well known electronics laws, analysis and modelling, but applied to vacuum tubes (no more teached in universities) in particular guitar amplifiers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for people who build/repair tube amps, February 23, 2007
The 5F6-A is considered the mother of all guitar/bass amps from past till present. It took me to read this book before I understood why.

This book reveils the genius/craftmanship of Leo Fender and doesn't stop there. As most tube amps are altered copies of this particular one, the information is usefull for everybody who wants to keep their amps in good shape with respect to great tone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Circuit Analysis of a Legendary Tube Amplifier: The Fender Bassman 5F6-A, Third Edition
$49.95 $33.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.