Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works nicely for me.
The review that gave this phone 1 star because of the PoE issue wasn't reasonable. To be clear - the phone does not come with a power adapter. You will need to buy one separately or use a PoE (Power over Ethernet) injector or switch to power the phone. I don't mind this at all - in some locations, it's easier to power it with PoE, and I appreciate not having to pay for an...
Published on May 22, 2012 by Greg Broiles

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
The manufacturer commented on the review below
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but....
I have been testing different models of thenCisco and Polycom IP phones. This Cisco is good butmimhave to say, dollar for dollar I believe the Polycom has richer sound.

The Cisco is IMHO easier to deploy and manage and that is important. But if audio quality is most important, go Polycom
Published on June 4, 2012 by DRinNYC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works nicely for me., May 22, 2012
By 
Greg Broiles (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
The review that gave this phone 1 star because of the PoE issue wasn't reasonable. To be clear - the phone does not come with a power adapter. You will need to buy one separately or use a PoE (Power over Ethernet) injector or switch to power the phone. I don't mind this at all - in some locations, it's easier to power it with PoE, and I appreciate not having to pay for an extra adapter I won't use.

This is not a consumer phone. Don't buy it expecting to plug it in and start making/receiving calls without some work to configure it to talk to a service provider.

I bought several to use with an Asterisk system and I've been very happy with them. They're easy to configure via the web interface (which takes a long time and has a lot of options) or they can be made to download a (lightly) XML-structured configuration file, which is very helpful if you've got more than one to configure/manage.

They support the G.722 codec for "high def" voice, if the entire call path + other endpoint support it too.

If you've played with the Sipura phones/ATA's, this will feel familiar, though the build quality of the hardware is much nicer than the Sipura 841's.

I bought two as evaluation units and have ended up buying several more, and I expect there's another batch order coming in the future since the last ones have worked nicely.

The only downside - and it's not a big deal, because I don't use the "switch port" - is that the downstream network jack loses connectivity if the phone reboots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but...., June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
I have been testing different models of thenCisco and Polycom IP phones. This Cisco is good butmimhave to say, dollar for dollar I believe the Polycom has richer sound.

The Cisco is IMHO easier to deploy and manage and that is important. But if audio quality is most important, go Polycom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Nov 7, 2012 4:34:07 PM PST
Dear DRinNYC,

Thank you for your feedback. We've been working on our designs and feedback like yours helps us to improve our products. If you ever have any question or need any support on Cisco small business device in the future, do not hesitate to contact us at Cisco Small Business Support Community (www.cisco.com/go/smallbizsupport). We will be glad to help you with this or any issue.

Thank you,
Cisco Small Business Team
 
 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent SIP phone, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
Tried other models like CISCO 7940, they usually don't work on SIP requiring tech's reprogramming, which does not always work. With 508G, fantastic - plug and play. This is third order, multiple units, in under a year. Will keep buying 508's as old 7940's and 7960's burn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Phone, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
Excellent option for receptionist set.
Extra buttons can be used for line appearances / busy lamp field / speed dial, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ordered 3 phones, 2 have non-working handsets, January 21, 2014
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
Quality control on these is apparently abysmal. I ordered 3 phones, and 2 have been found to have defective handsets (only speakerphone works, so not configuration). I know there's a warranty, but what good is that while I have to wait in a three-man office with one working phone.

Horrible. Especially for Cisco. Don't take the risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great phone, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
I love this model of Cisco phone. We use the 8 lines to monitor other users to see if they are on the phone and to quick dial them. Well made and it just works. It also has a ton of options that you can edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent phone, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
this is a excelent voip phone, the magerial plastis brand its excelent quality, the sound and mic its excelent , clear voice, and sound throught voip, its easy to install and setup, please buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent phone for small businesses, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
Easy to set up - to push settings on, crystal clear sound
work with SIP Asterisk, no problem so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WE HAVE USED THESE BEFORE, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
WE LOVED THE ITEMS BEFORE AND PURCHASED MORE WHEN WE MOVED TO A LARGER LOCATION. HAVE HAD NOT PROBLEMS WITH THEM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice ip network phone, October 9, 2012
By 
P. Haines (Western NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone (Personal Computers)
has nice screen, easy to use ui, simple to install. no problems i have ran into so far and this is my 17th phone i put into this system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cisco SPA 508G 8-Line IP Phone
$164.99 $114.89
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.