Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Small-Mid Size Offices & Home!
Easy set-up. Business class Performance for a consumer home price. Has complete management software(firmware) and allows for 4 separate wireless SSID's so you can have 4 different logins (wireless security passkeys) and split up your office departments or let your kids have their own separate wireless password key (with restricted access or separate time limits!) and it...
Published 13 months ago by Ara Manukian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice WiFi Router, Lousy Branch Office VPN Support
This router seems to be OK when it comes to the firewall and wireless access stuff.
But that is not what I got it for. I needed a Branch Office VPN site-to-site solution.
The specifications claim it can do this. However, it only has partial support for this. For some strange reason, the developers decided that users don't need to be able to configure the IKE...
Published 11 days ago by Joshua Inglima


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Small-Mid Size Offices & Home!, September 6, 2013
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
Easy set-up. Business class Performance for a consumer home price. Has complete management software(firmware) and allows for 4 separate wireless SSID's so you can have 4 different logins (wireless security passkeys) and split up your office departments or let your kids have their own separate wireless password key (with restricted access or separate time limits!) and it has a guest mode SSID login for visitors (perfect for an office lobby or visitors so you can separate network access). Allows you to control timing of each SSID individually.

Firmware is something you would expect out of a $2K router 10 years ago for under $100. You won't find this "Cisco" brand model at the local Big Box Stores but it is available on-line from many companies. It is an entry-level business class device but is feature loaded.

Full VPN / Firewall Firmware allows you to set-up every aspect of the router to work in any environment. For the money you can't beat it. Only negatives are that the antennas are not removable but coverage seems good and built-in 4-port LAN switch is only 100Mb, but most MODEMS aren't giving you more bandwidth out through the WAN anyway. Full B/G/N compatible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best router for home or business very affordable, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
This router makes a huge difference especially when using VOIP phones. A no brainer. Allows for two separate IP addresses to use the Internet. Perfect for a dental or medical office where internal Internet and waiting room Internet must remain separate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this router, this is not for the average user, May 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
Pro's
Advance setup features
Firewall
VPN
Omni Directional
Excellent Speeds
VLAN's (limited to four, which is perfect)
Excellent backup and restore for config's AND IOS
3g Support for a redundant link

Con's
Would like Traditional CLI option (I've never been fond of Cisco GUI's)
Cannot "hide" ssid broadcast, only options are on or off
Initial setup was a bit of a pain. Cannot import from previous Cisco-Linksys router models.

If your a Networking pro or a small business owner needing advance features for your business, then this is your wireless router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential product for creating a secure network extension, April 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
I needed a way to remotely access data from a monitoring system via the 3/4G wireless network and this product fit the bill. It has a USB port for connecting wireless modems (check the compatibility list to verify that your device is supported). Setting up a VPN connection, using PPTP or QuickVPN protocols, was straightforward and relatively painless, allowing access to this remote network enclave from inside another enclave's firewall. Make sure to deconflict the address range of the private network with the network from which you want to connect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad router for small businesses, August 27, 2014
By 
J. Romero (Elizabeth, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
Not a bad router for small businesses. It works pretty much as advertised and simple enough to manage (as others have mentioned). The only two things I would like to add are:

1. If you are looking to set up a VPN, make sure you get a static IP address. I spent countless hours trying to get it work only to eventually find out (from Cisco) that it HAS to have a static IP address or the VPN will not work.

2. The firewall access rules are a bit awkward to configure. Once you get the hang of it though, you will be OK.

I am a computer consultant and found this router while doing research for a client. When it comes to small businesses, this is definitely a good choice if you are looking for a budget router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still has some VPN issues to contend with, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
I like these small business routers and I still recommend them for my small business clients, but I do end up having to restart them every month or so for VPN connectivity to continue working. Also the Cisco Quick VPN is finicky, and the ability to set these up with macs is less than ideal. I prefer Sonicwall but these are certainly more affordable and still have great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gets the job done for a small price, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
I am a semi tech guy that can get by with handling IT problems. So when I asked two of my high tech IT guys which vpn router was best they reccomended this for my small business. No problems thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Using for VoIP for small office!, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
Using for QoS for small office with 12 IP phones and 12 smartphones, great range smooth operation. Recommended good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for our small office, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
This is a great little router and it handles our small office perfect. So far, it's worked like a champ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Router, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cisco Systems 802.11N Wireless Security Router (RV215WAK9NA) (Personal Computers)
This one really does cover about 2500 sq. feet of our home, not the advertised 5,000 sq. feet....not bad, yet there are areas in our 2600 sq. ft. House not coverd by this router. It's good when you're close enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.