Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Watch: Looks, Craftsmanship, Materials, Technology
This is a great watch - technologically, materials, craftsmanship, and super looks - at a great price.

I actually purchased this model, the AT8010-58e, and the Victorinox Swiss Army Ceramic Bezel Classic watch for a week before making a final decision. I also looked at many other watches.

Why did I choose this AT8020-54L?

- EcoDrive...
Published 13 months ago by Cire Gastav

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid watch but heavy
I only have it for a couple of weeks. The watch and the stainless steel bracelet both are very heavy, yet feels solid. Difficult to set up - may take you a couple of hours to do so. Once you set it up the watch (day, date, time) not much you should do.

I does not look like you can adjust the bracelet by much.

It appears top be pretty accurate if you...
Published 13 months ago by Sergei


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Watch: Looks, Craftsmanship, Materials, Technology, September 23, 2013
By 
Cire Gastav (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
This is a great watch - technologically, materials, craftsmanship, and super looks - at a great price.

I actually purchased this model, the AT8010-58e, and the Victorinox Swiss Army Ceramic Bezel Classic watch for a week before making a final decision. I also looked at many other watches.

Why did I choose this AT8020-54L?

- EcoDrive. Never needs to be opened up or a battery.
- Sapphire Crystal. Keeps it looking new.
- Atomic Clock Radio controlled. The time and date are ALWAYS right. Always.
- Easy time change when I travel
- Looks expensive and classy

After having it for almost two months, here's my feedback.

- Atomic Radio updates. Works like a charm - and generally best late at night (automatically). This is due to the fact that the transmission signal transmits further at night. I live in Chicago and it updates nightly throughout most of my house. I've also been to Frankfurt Germany (updated no problem), Budapest Hungary (for a week, updated every night), and Wash DC (updated).

- Readability. This was one potential issue - and why I did not buy the AT8010. In certain lighting, I initially had to take a second to read the time. I have a military watch and this is never an issue. But what has happened within a month (which another reviewer noted) is that you "learn" the look of the hands. It's not that you couldn't see them, it's just they're the same color as the hour markers. Readability is not an issue.

- Weight. At 178 grams, the watch feels solid but not heavy. I have small hands and wrists.

- Adjusting Time. This is very easy. If you receive the atomic signal, all you have to do is pull out the center knob (crown) and turn it until the second hand is on your "City". Everything else will be set for you once it reads the signal. To manually receive the signal, push and hold the bottom right button until the small dial points to "RX" for "receive". Place the watch outside or next to a window to help ensure you get a reading. It can take up to 15 mins to set - but mine usually takes < 5 mins. It's easy.

-Adjusting Day Light Savings (DLS). The watch also handles DLS automatically for you. The DLS toggle is sent as part of the Atomic Transmission - no need to do anything. When DLS ends, the watch adjusts for you - very nice. Just make sure the feature is "on". The reason why there is an ON/OFF feature for DLS is that some states / countries don't follow DLS - so if you live in one of those places - leave it off. To turn it ON/OFF - Just pull out the center knob (one position), and press the top button to toggle the on/off for DLS. You'll see the indicator on the top small dial, labeled "Off" "SMT" "ON. Toggle to what you want (On or Off), then press the middle button (crown) back in. Done.

- Manually adjust. The reason you buy the watch is to not have to do this. But if you must then this is how you do it.
Pull out the crown one click (first position). Press and hold the top button for 2+ seconds. Pull crown out one more click (2nd position). You are now in manual mode.
Now each press of the top button will toggle you through "time", "date", "Day of week", "Year/month" and then back thru again. Stop on what item you want to change. Then turn the crown to adjust. Press top button to move on to next item. Once done, press crown back in.

You can also manually adjust other items like Daylight Savings and even the alignment of the hands - those are much less common. The instruction manual can be found here: [...]

- Turn OFF Automatic Updates. Some peopled dinged these Atomic Watches in reviews for not being able to disengage the automatic updates. To prevent updates, set the watch "city" to any any city that uses a different atomic signal than the one you're currently on. For example, if you live in the U.S or Europe, set the watch to "Tokyo" and then manually update the time and date. The watch will NOT update as long as you're not in range of the Japanese atomic signals. This workaround works because each atomic transmitter has a different signal profile (wavelength) and the watch only looks for the signal profile for the area that it's set to.

-Status Check. By briefly pressing the bottom button, the watch will give you the charge status, time zone being used, and whether the last Atomic Radio sync was successful (found the signal).

I've had this watch for a couple of months (bought it outside of Amazon on a super sale) and am very happy with it.

For what you get (technology, precision, 200m water resistant, sapphire, great looking, etc), the watch is a underpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING WATCH, October 8, 2012
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
This is as awesome as it sounds. Grant it, it's not the Skyhawk addition, but for affordability just under that high cut of 600 to 1,000 dollars this watch has all the features you could ever hope for. This watch automatically sets itself and if you choose you can even set it manually. It tells you day, date, time, and year. Indicates how much power you have and tells you if you have radio signal. It has a beautiful Blue Angels insignia on the back of the watch and keeps it's value. Unlike other similar watches of it's type that looses 75% of it's value once you buy it, this watch retains it's value. Not to mention it has the Eco Drive technology, so you'll never need a battery if properly maintained. Awesome Job Citizen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most accurate watch, January 24, 2013
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
I was comparing the other Blue Angel watch (older generation with digitals inserts) and found this one more appealing basically du to sapphire glass vs mineral. Also this watch once you master the instructions (30 min reading) is a very impressive watch, the accuracy of the watch is what make it special. With the daily update (I am located at the end of the range and still receive update without any problems) this watch is the most accurate that I have own. It will not require any battery because of the Eco drive mechanism. It is easy to charge and to operate, once the date is set it will keep running and keep the time and date (even leap year and change of summer time) so you have nothing to do. Best watch highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a great looking watch., March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
The automatic update of the time and ease of changing the cities you travel to is fantastic. I love the looks to. I have 4 other citizen A-T watches and I think this is my favorite. Citizen builds an excellent watch with all the new technology that you can wear anywhere including in the ocean. The price is reasonable and the quality and reliability exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good - a few minor quibbles, January 1, 2014
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
I received this watch as a Christmas gift from my wife. I had been looking at the older A-T blue angels watch (JR3060-51L), but after I got this one I felt that it better served my needs. My wife didn't get me what I had wanted, but she did get me something I think I like more than what I wanted.

The AT8020-54L is, IMHO, a very cool looking watch, and the "Atomic" feature (actually, radio link with the US atomic clock radio station) is very nice. Hint: make sure the antenna (the 9 o'clock position) is pointed at Ft. Collins, Co (West, in my case), and make sure you don't move the watch when it is synching. Synching occurs automaticially at 2am, or you can manually synch. But take the watch off, lay it down, and don't move it while it is communicating.

So it looks good, and keeps good time. The day/date feature is set up to get the days and dates right for much longer than I'll live. The Eco-drive means no batteries. So this is a very, very low maintenance watch, once it's set up. Setup is straightforward.

The dial is 43mm, which is a bit smaller than the older style, but I can read the time easily. Reading the chronograph minutes and tenths of seconds dial is harder. My fifty-something eyes would need bright light and a magnifying class if I was routinely measuring 3 to 60 minute durations. For measuing seconds and tenths, it's pretty easily read. Very easy to operate.

This crystal is sapphire, not mineral crystal as in previous BA watches. So the AT8020-54L is more scratch resistant than older models, and this is more in line with the price point of the watch.

The smaller dial allows the crystal to cover the circular slide rule functions around the outside. The slide rule ring is rotated by a knob (no, it's not a pushbutton) at the 8 oclock location. Even though the slide rule is pretty small and probably isn't practically useful (certainly not for a Blue Angels pilot with gloved hands!), it does bring up one quibble: the moving ring has poor (loose) tolerances. So I can line up one side of the stator and rotator parts (say at the 12 oclock posiition, with 60 aligned with 60), and the bottom of the dial shows an offset due to poor fit. So the bottom has 19 aligned with 19.1. Not a big functional deal, but if you're gonna put a slide rule on the thing, it should work better. The gradations on the slide rule dials being protect them from wear, but all for nought: the sloppy tolerances mean you won't be doing time-distance calcs with this thing.

This brings me to the other minor quibble. The second and the minute hands did not line up exactly with the minute witness marks. So the second hand would traverse "12", and the minute hand would click from 1/6 minute past the minute, to 2/6 (the hand advances in 1/6 minute increments). The minute had can be adjusted (see "reference position" in the manual) by -1/6 minute, and this worked and now gives perfect alignment. But the second hand is still a little bit off and the reference position is only adjustable in 1 second increments. Not a big problem.

Going from time zone to time zone is easy: Pull out the crown one click, turn the crown to point the second hand at the city representing your time zone (I live in Philly, my city was NYC), and push the crown in. The clock then magically advances or retreates to the correct time.

For its price point and feature set, I think this is a terrific watch. I'm extremely happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough, beautiful, accurate, July 19, 2013
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
My criteria were: tough, waterproof, automatic time and date, solar power, and pretty enough for a dress watch. there are a couple of Casios that meet the first 4 criteria at $80 or so, and I bought one. But for business or pleasure when I want a "nice" watch but don't want to worry about water or dirt being a problem (I live on a boat), this is the one. The Sapphire crystal is tough and unusual for this price point. The radio daily update works perfectly. The solar power has not failed or faltered, and the other features (pilot slide rule bezel, stopwatch) make this a gem. What could be better? More illumination on the hands (like the Luminox), and a stopwatch that goes beyond 1 hour. Still, it's a strong 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great and comfortable watch to wear everyday, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
This is a great and comfortable watch to wear everyday. The watch is very accurate as it receives the signal every night. Although this is not the skyhawk line watch, I love the the dial and bezel design. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tastefully designed and extremely fuctional!, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
Love this watch! Extremely well made and beautifully designed. Band was easily adjusted myself by removing a few links. Just be sure to look for the directional arrows on the inside of the band to remove the pins properly. The radio function (atomic clock) is superb. Just came off of daylight savings time here in the east and didn't have to do anything. It auto adjusted in the middle of the night. It's a fairly complex watch, but I found the step by step instructions will walk you through any adjustments pretty easily. All you really need to do at first purchase is set the time zone for your part of the world and force the radio feature to update. Within a few minutes it will set everything else all by itself. Just remember to keep it near a window when using the atomic clock (radio) function so it has an unobstructed signal path. You need to keep it in the same spot till it updates as well. Mine updated in just a few minutes, but the instructions say it could take up to 30 minutes. The Citizen website has everything you need, including how to videos for adjusting settings. I have a few other Citizen watches and this one's the best by far. My new favorite for sure. I find I actually like this better than some of the high end watches I have. It is a large watch, so if you have a small wrist this may not be the best choice. Can't go wrong with anything Citizen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing!!, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
The watch is a really awesome one with an amazing steel strap that looks really expensive..and the blue dial just makes it mindblowing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small band, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Citizen Men's AT8020-54L "Blue Angels" Stainless Steel Eco-Drive Dress Watch (Watch)
The other citizen watches I have bought have had bands where I had to have some removed. This watch's band is small. I've had to order extra links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.