Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good choice
Although it didn't have as much about growing citrus in containers as I would have liked, it is still a very informative and well-illustrated book, especially for the price. I also have the one by Sunset Gardening and this one is much better and has more information.
Published on March 10, 2010 by D. Mckinzie

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Book
I got this book looking for information to answer the life long question "Why are my citrus trees not happy?". It wasn't that type of book. Instead it gives a quick review of how to keep them happy and what could be wrong, however, this book is mostly fluf in that area. This book does have lots of pictures of citrus trees/plants. About a third of the book is just pictures...
Published on July 13, 2009 by M.F.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Book, July 13, 2009
By 
M.F. "Reader" (Burlington, VT USA) - See all my reviews
I got this book looking for information to answer the life long question "Why are my citrus trees not happy?". It wasn't that type of book. Instead it gives a quick review of how to keep them happy and what could be wrong, however, this book is mostly fluf in that area. This book does have lots of pictures of citrus trees/plants. About a third of the book is just pictures of the different citrus plants, varients and native locations. Its a great place to start and a good one for the collection. It is just not what I wanted. - Plus the used prices were cheep enough that buying one didn't set set me back much more than shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good choice, March 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although it didn't have as much about growing citrus in containers as I would have liked, it is still a very informative and well-illustrated book, especially for the price. I also have the one by Sunset Gardening and this one is much better and has more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Overview, September 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good as an overview only. No in-depth material on citrus. Nice descriptions of the more and more popular tropical fruits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare cultivation Information, June 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening) (Paperback)
While the book is mainly titled, Citrus, I bought it for information on some of the more rare subtropical fruits detailed and I was not disappointed! There is a wealth of info on all sorts of plants you can grow in some of the more limited areas of Florida and California. If you, like me, are lucky enough to live here, you know you can grow all kinds of things beyond apples and peaches (and indeed, guavas and Surinam cherries grow better here anyways). Very excited to have this volume in my library. Gives info on how to propagate, care for, and eat the plants detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, June 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening) (Paperback)
A really good book for those of you that live in California, and Florida, Hawaii because we can grow 90% fruits in this book. For those in the other 47 states, its just a good information book, in which you might be able to grow 20% fruits listed in this book. Nevertheless it is a good information book with lots of tips, ideas, options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great handy introduction and more to growing citrus and tropical plants, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
got my first lemons this year on a dwarf meyer lemon but had one of my dwarf key limes just die. Bought this as a handy reference and wasn't displeased covers the basics of citrus cultivation with some depth as well. Like the listing by plant type. Definitely recommend as a first reference for growing citrus and to keep on hand when you need some advice. Great photos and illustrations. Fun to read as well as practical and informative.Tips on micro-nutrients and chelated minerals to avoid chlorsis was what I needed for a few plants. Good advice on root trimming and transplanting. Grow my citrus in containers and was worried the book would either gloss over patio/container cultivation or be too specific. Nice balance. More than just an introduction and as I say having at hand as a first reference.Nice source information for acidic fertilizers and pesticides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All about series is generally good., February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had selected an earlier edition for my library and was glad to see an update. The great, wonderful thing about this book is the excellent photographs of many varieties. The subtropical is just a nice bonus. As a Master Gardener, I get many questions from people who have lived in south Florida and other countries more tropical . They usually say "In wherever they had a tree that had....fruit, or leaves or flowers. This book is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictorial book, August 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening) (Paperback)
Nice book full of beautifully pictures. But unfortunately this book did not have much in the how to cure problems. It does not have much information on caring for your tree either. But if you find it for a deal then it is good addition to your fruit book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview!, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening) (Paperback)
Great overview of the different subtropicals! Tells you different varieties, where they will grow, and special care tips. I learned a bunch about my existing 20+ plants, and what new varieties will grow here on the gulf coast. Nice pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful guide to citrus, April 27, 2013
By 
Frogers (Bedford, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening) (Paperback)
So glad I ordered this; it is well-written, informative, just what I wanted and what one would expect from an Ortho publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening)
All About Citrus and Subtropical Fruits (Ortho's All About Gardening) by Paul Moore (Paperback - February 19, 2008)
Used & New from: $2.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.