Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: City of God
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on February 4, 2016
Very sad that those kids did not have a chance to be normal human beings. If that is how to survive in that kind of environment it's a sad situation. Greed plays a big part in it too. Power and corruption, and most of all, the disregard of human life.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
Stopped watching at the point we realized the movie was not going to be much more than one very long depressing shoot-fest. Artistic cinematography and editing alone do not make a movie worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
Movie was confusing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
The product does not has spanish subtittles like seller says....please be aware if you want to buy this product with spanish subttiltes.
This is very bad for me because I don't speak english very well....and the reason why I bought this product was the spanish subtitle. The seller is offering a product with wrong information.....I want my money back or replace it with the correct version.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
Didn't finish it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
I couldn't get into it, and didn't finish watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2016
Worst movie I have ever tried to watch, and there have been some real losers. All in sub titles. About drugs, slums, more drugs, and more slums. Broke the DVD and trashed canned it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
I watched this movie after reading some of the glowing reviews on this site and being told this was "the best photography movie ever". I feel compelled to offer a different opinion to balance the incredibly inflated review scores this movie has received.

"City of God" is a story about what happens when really, really stupid people are allowed to do whatever they want. Think "Lord of the Flies" meets "Menace 2 Society". There are absolutely no sympathetic characters in the story, even the main character, who the filmmakers appear to think is a good person, is really just a failed thug whose drug habit happens to put him in the right place at the right time to get some pictures of a notorious gang leader that get run in the local newspaper because any legitimate reporter would be killed for just being in that neighborhood.

Why anyone would enjoy watching this is beyond me, the story is brutally violent, featuring countless murders, most of them completely pointless, including murder of children and by children, plus rape, betrayal, torture, you name it. It's impossible to care about anyone in the story, these people made their world, so it's hard to empathize with them when they get what they deserve. If that was the point of the story, then it's a story I don't want any part of.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
Just too violent with no redeeming value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
Terrible. Like all Brazilian movies
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.