Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LUCIO = MAESTRO
the negative reviews are missing the point as usual because this is one of Fulci's Golden Greats. of course there's some plot holes and cheesy moments but they are few and far between, and the majority of movie is all guts and gory. all good Fulci movies establish hellish creeping dread that is punctuated by beautiful women, a few laugh out loud moments (some intentional,...
Published on October 27, 2004 by Cap Poobins

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buckets of blood, heaps of guts, that crazy Lucio!
Fulci's follow-up to his enjoyable bloodbath Zombie(1979) is euro-trash sleaze on the outside but multiple viewings have revealed a surreal, scary horror film with a few good ideas, and dripping with gothic atmosphere. A priest hangs himself in Dunwitch, Mass and starts off a deadly chain of events leading up to the end of the world. Only gruff reporter Christopher...
Published on February 9, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LUCIO = MAESTRO, October 27, 2004
By 
This review is from: City of the Living Dead (DVD)
the negative reviews are missing the point as usual because this is one of Fulci's Golden Greats. of course there's some plot holes and cheesy moments but they are few and far between, and the majority of movie is all guts and gory. all good Fulci movies establish hellish creeping dread that is punctuated by beautiful women, a few laugh out loud moments (some intentional, some not) and many gorious glorious death setpieces natch

although it's not a patch on The Beyond, I love this movie from start to finish, conceding that yes the last 15 minutes of this film is somewhat sketchily presented. howver the end scenes are in keeping with the logic of the narrative to that point, and really, if you've paid attention to a relatively (for Fulci) unconvoluted plot then the last 15 seconds shouldn't leave you "scratching your head". City of the Living Dead is masterful with several classic scenes, and there's few horror directors that have such a deft and entertaining touch when it comes to conveying a sense of encroaching godless doom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buckets of blood, heaps of guts, that crazy Lucio!, February 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Gates of Hell [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Fulci's follow-up to his enjoyable bloodbath Zombie(1979) is euro-trash sleaze on the outside but multiple viewings have revealed a surreal, scary horror film with a few good ideas, and dripping with gothic atmosphere. A priest hangs himself in Dunwitch, Mass and starts off a deadly chain of events leading up to the end of the world. Only gruff reporter Christopher George, and Medium-returned-from-the-dead Catherine McColl can stop the carnage. Some generaly haunting scenes such as when the priest's ghost appears just before someone gets kacked, and a little boy pursued by the spirit of his dead sister through the deserted streets. Once again, if you can't handle the gore, better stay clear. This features brain squashing, eyeball popping, intestine-barfing, head drilling, and a giant crucifix thrust into a guy's knads. Ouch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fulci in HD, October 21, 2010
Firstly, this review is more for hardcore horror fans, and there are a few minor spoilers. Other more casual movie-goers trying to figure out if you would like this movie... you should rent some Fulci so you can have a better idea what you're getting into before buying this.

Wow. Just wow. This is a really (infamously) gory movie, one I really like, and I've had it on DVD for a while... But that didn't prepare me for the HD gore. I have never gotten sick from a horror movie, but the City of the Living Dead blu-ray had me nearly gagging. The HD reveals a lot compared to the DVD version.

The famous maggot scene has to be seen on blu-ray to be believed. Their sheer number is absolutely amazing, and on Blu-ray you can see that all of them everywhere, covering the floor, in the air, and on the actors are very real. Tens of thousands of them. Again, WOW. The intestine vomiting is probably the most disgusting thing I have ever seen in my life, and is SO much worse in HD. In the making of, it's revealed the actress was actually had a mouthful of freshly slaughtered lamb meat (so the innards wouldn't stink). Blech.

This is one of my favorite Fulci movies, and Hi-Def brings Lucio's solid direction to life. I was able to pick up on many details I had missed watching it on a smaller standard TV, and the plot was more involving.

Finally, the bad. There are a few times during the film (most notably in the earliest scenes) where the HD reveals flaws in the film. At moments it looks too light to me, a bit washed out and noisy. But for the most part the movie, and most importantly the effects, look incredibly shocking and great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made from a bad negative, December 13, 2001
This review is from: The Gates of Hell [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This version of Lucio Fulci's The Gates of Hell deserves better. The video itself is of high quality, but the copy is made from a very poor negative of the film. The film is scratchy and muddy making the film a chour to watch. Recently Anchor Bay has released a beautiful remastering of the film under it's alternate title City of the Living Dead. That version costs less and a MUCH better buy. Seek out that title before purchasing this version. Believe me, you will be much more pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORE GALORE!! FULCI HITS IT HARD!!, May 14, 2003
By 
Francis DeMarco (Worcester, Massachusetts United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gates of Hell [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Forget what a bunch of these other reviewers say when they are knocking this "classic" work by the late great director, Lucio Fulci. Maybe they aren't fans of the Maestro's work, or for Euro-Horror, or more specifically, Italian Horror, in general. Maybe it's just me, but I loved this film when I first saw it at the theatre with my father, back in the early 80's. Right to the beautiful, restored, uncut edition, released by Anchor Bay. True the vhs transfer is somewhat murky, but the AC dvd is the bomb.
I've been a horror film fanatic since I was 12, and have expanded my horizons into the Euro-Cult gen, now that I am 35.
One reviewer mentioned an Italian Superstar in this movie as Robert Kerman. This is not him, in this picture. It is none other than the great Giovanni Lombardo Radice, (AKA John Morghen) who gets a labotomy, courtesy of a nice machine drill.
The movie does not make much sense, then again, how may Italian, Euro-Cult movies do? But that's the fun of this whole movie.
The acting is lame, the dubbing is atrocious, even the late Christopher George's voice is dubbed, with his own voice, of course. But the movie is a non-stop blood bath, for the most part.
You've probably read the other reviews, how a priest hangs himself, and is witnessed, while in a seance, from a group of modern day witches. By doing this he opens up the "Gates of Hell", which must be closed by midnight on "All Hallows Eve", (aka Halloween), or the dead will walk the earth, and rule over the living.
Then in walks the journalist Christopher George, accompanied by the thought dead, beautiful Catriona Macoll, who had witness the hanging of the priest during the seance, and had a heart-failure of sorts, before being discovered alive by George.
Seeing this in her seance & knowing that she must get to this town of "Dunwich" before all hallows eve, to close the gates of hell, along go our 2 heros, off to stop the dead from ruling the Earth.
When they finally get to Dunwich, they meet up with another couple, who have noticed strange going ons in this small town. So, George and Miss Macoll explain to them what may be the root of the problem. Unbelievers, they tend to laugh it off, until they can't ignore what's happenng anymore.
Not all of these 4 heros make it out alive. In fact only 2 do. Which 2, you'd have to watch to find out. But it's not exactly the 2 you might think.
This movie is filled, to say the least, with blood, guts, intestines, and gobs-o-gore. One of my personal favorites of the Euro-cult gen, because this is the first movie, little did I know at the time, that would introduce me to the Euro-Cult gen. Not as plot-driven as Fulci's masterpiece, The Beyond", but still a worthy staple in the Euro-Horror gen.
Italian Cinema, in general, does not have the restrictions that the US has on movies that are distributed over here. So they can go "all out", when it comes to the blood-n-gore department. And all out Fulci goes.
I would, without a doubt, recommend this movie to "any" gorehound out there. I have seen it on the vhs and the Anchor Bay release, and love this movie, no matter how many times I've seen it. So don't listen to these people knocking this movie, they don't know what they're missing.
One of Lucio Fulci's Best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Creepy Italian Gore, April 17, 2009
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of the Living Dead (DVD)
Remember those Mom & Pop video stores which popped up in almost every shopping center in America during the 80's? The ones that always smelled of popcorn and plastic. I loved roaming the horror aisles of those small shops, you never knew what you would find. One of my discoveries was a flick called "The Gates of Hell". It was a great movie full of gore, and starring Christopher George as a cigar chomping newpaper reporter who races to the small town of Dunwich to try and close the gates of Hell. It seems that when a local priest committed suicide, he opened the portal to hell and if left open until All Saint's Day, it could spell the end of humanity.

Well, lo and behold decades later I pick up "City of the Living Dead" and it's "The Gates of Hell" under an alternative title. The film holds up pretty well. The acting is pretty decent for an Italian B-Movie, the haunting musical score still causes shivers, the film is shot beautifully, and the gore effects have stood the test of time. If you are fan of Italian 80's gore-horror, then you should be pretty pleased with this DVD.

The only thing I would throw out there, is that if you are looking for a "zombie" movie, keep looking. This isn't a zombie flick. Sure the living dead are in the film, but look more like ghosts covered in scabs. These aren't the slow moving undead found in a Romero flick, these entities can just sort of appear, grab a hunk of brain, squish it around a little and then disappear just as quickly. But only if you are looking for a straight-forward zombie flick will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gore Classic, September 13, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Gates of Hell [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Simply put, this has two must-see scenes. The first is when a couple are making out and the girl senses something wrong. They turn on the headlights and there's a zombie priest whose gaze causes the girl's eyes to bleen and then her intestines come out out from her mouth. The second, a guy who escapes previous carnage (a big Euro star, Robert Kerman from Make Them Die Slowly, Cannibal Holocaust, etc.) seeks refuge from a girl. They are about to smoke weed in the car in the garage and the girl's dad barges in. He then drills his head through, in one end out the other.
The plot centers around a priest's suicide opens the very gates of hell. This is witnessed in a seance by a group of mystics. This causes thinmgs to go awry in the city of Dunwich. A dead corpse comes back to life at the morgue, a woman gets buried alive, a zombie taunts a small boy, the dead priest arises and can make people's eyes bleed as he appatently leads the rest of the undead. The climax is dramatic, as the two protagonists showdowm with the priest and the undead underground. The ,music is incredible, atmospheric, ominous, and one part is actually lifted from Zombie, another Fulci classic. they must close the gates of hell before All Saints Day.
Lucio Fulci is a master. The picture is very grainy at, mostly at the beginning and end, and it's dark all the time because it takes place in the night. Not so much scary as ominous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get The Guys Together And Watch!, March 27, 2003
This review is from: City of the Living Dead (DVD)
How's this for a good time at the movies: A dead priest with yucky crud on his hands, a corny seance(ya gotta have a seance), bad dubbing, fire coming from the floor(but nobody lives downstairs), an alcoholic journalist, a maggot storm, Ja Rule, galloping cadavers, cars that suddenly won't start and doors that won't open, intestine vomiting, enough closeups of eyes for twenty Sergio Leone westerns, an inflatable doll, the town of Dunwich, zombies that appear and disappear into thin air, the town "weirdo" that everyone hates, a funky soundtrack, a lollypop in the glovebox, groovy sound fx, zombie Emily, a guy getting his head drilled, an alcoholic woman in therapy, attempted graverobbery, the book of Enoch, a subterranean netherworld, a bus that will explode if it goes below 50 mph, zombies bursting into flames, a couple of spooked alcoholics in the local tavern, bleeding eyes, zombies tearing open heads(only the back), your mom, premature burial, a psychiatrist contemplating alcoholism, and a "shock" ending that makes absolutely NO sense at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome Lucio Fulci flick!, July 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of the Living Dead (DVD)
This is my first flick to see by the master of gore and terror, Lucio Fulci, and I was not disappointed! I remember my mother telling me that my Aunt watched this and she had to go throw up on the porch outside because of the graphic visuals this movie throws at the viewer. It's sort of ironic, because in the film a girl vomits up her insides, and the movie itself causes someone to throw up for real...spooky! This movie has plenty of atmosphere and and a satisfying sense of dread, and the musical score is hypnotic and pleasing. I will definitely be checking out other Lucio terrors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dark mood of this film is unsurpassed, April 7, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of the Living Dead (DVD)
This film sets a creepy mood. The director, Lucio Fulci, also achieved this mood in "The Beyond". When I was a kid this film was forbidden to be seen. In America it was called "The Gates Of Hell". I was raised around hard core bible thumpers and they all declared this film to be banned. So ofcourse I had to get my hands on it. The film didn't need the gore. It could have been great on the mood alone. It stands as my fave zombie film. Some people just won't get it. P.S. I love the urban monkey screams in the film lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

City of the Living Dead (Special Edition)
City of the Living Dead (Special Edition) by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.