Start reading City of Ruin on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

City of Ruin [Kindle Edition]

Steve Wands
3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $0.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

In a not-too-distant future, the earth is decimated by war with an extra-terrestrial enemy and mankind is left on the verge of extinction. What little of society is still standing is virtually enslaved toward a rebuilding effort while a smaller portion of the population roams the wastelands as little more than savages. A loving couple with a baby on the way must decide whether to stay in the city (where a frightening threat against the unborn is revealed), or venture into the wasteland on their own. City of Ruin is a bleak, dystopian view of the world left behind, where the hope for a better tomorrow can be the only thing needed to survive.

For fans of The Hunger Games and Children of Men.

About the author:

STEVE WANDS is the author of the STAY DEAD series of short stories, collections, and novels (STAY DEAD, GRAVEYARD, KINGS OF THE CASTLE, THE STRANGER, etc.). Many of his titles have hit Amazon’s 100 best selling lists for their respective categories.

He is currently hard at work on the second novel in the STAY DEAD series, a new collection and a promising collaboration with an indie publishing heavyweight. For 2012 he plans to release a new short story every month, CITY OF RUIN being the first.

Steve lives in New Jersey with his wife and son. When he’s not writing he’s lettering Comic Books and Graphic Novels for DC Comics, BOOM! Studios, and Random House on titles like Batman, Green Lantern, Scalped, American Vampire, The Rinse, Malignant Man, Ice Age, WordGirl, Mardock Scramble and—coming soon—Jeff Lemire’s The Underwater Welder.


Product Details

  • File Size: 102 KB
  • Print Length: 21 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Apparatus Revolution, LLC (January 7, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006UW9COM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #987,405 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
(7)
3.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Beginning for a Novel February 22, 2012
By WD
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was as much drawn to this story by the reviews that I read as I was by the subject matter. What a great springboard for a full-length novel.

To the story itself I give 5 stars. The fact that of the 166 kb content only about 41 kb are devoted to its telling drops it to 1 star. I think that an author has the right to "push" other stories within a book; however, I also think that it is a bit misleading to include the advertising when stating the length of the story. I'd be really torqued if I purchased a paper book, expecting x-number of story pages - only to receive it and find that it contained 25% story and 75% author promotions.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck Like Glue January 10, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
There are very few authors that I make sure to leave reviews for once I've read their newest material. Steve Wands is one author of who'll I grab every new release. He's an indie author and while that may not mean anything to many people, it does to me. First, it means the books are most often lower-priced--meaning I can buy, therefore read more--and they are stories that may be a bit more niche. With saying that, really outstanding indie books and stories are so times hard to find, though, it seems, no harder than traditionally published fiction. Mr. Wands other works, not all, of course, but a large majority, concern themselves with post-apocalyptic zombie yarns (in my opinion very good ones) but with City of Ruin the author has stepped a bit out of his safety zone...to tremendous effect.

City of Ruin is a remarkable tale of a future time when all we know has crumbled and society has reverted back to barbarism. I will try to not give away key plot points, for the short story is a pleasure when discovering the plot. Suffice it to say, in this dystopian world, living is hard and living for a cause is even harder. Among the strong points of this Wands' story is it is written in first person and you see through the eyes of an impoverished man that can't help but worry about the future he can't control. Wands' world-building, a definite strength, is also apparent here and succeeds to implant a disturbing mood into your psyche. This is one of those rare stories that will linger long after the pages are closed. It will haunt you and make you look around appreciate all that is good, is easy, and is fair in your life.

As the title suggests, yes, this story stuck like glue to me and I give it the highest recommendation.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Ruin. November 8, 2013
By Lisa
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Dang. This was a good story. I hope it's going to be continued. I've read quite a few of Mr. Wands stories lately, and they've all been good. I know I've found a new go to author. Yep, I'd recommend this story and author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This story was captivating, giving me a first glimpse of a post apocalyptic world. It introduced the two main characters, the harsh life of the future where working long hours was the way of life. When I downloaded it though I didn't realise that what I was essentially getting was an unfinished sampler chapter, and heaps of advertising for other books. It is being touted as a short story, but it reads like the first chapter of a novel. As a short story it was captivating, but the ending was..... not an ending.

The scene set reminds me a lot of `The Road' by Cormac McCarthy. Very bleak. But still with remains of humanity left behind. I think this could be developed into a novel, and won't be surprised if the author does this at some later stage.

As others have pointed out, the majority of the `book' is adds most of which I didn't bother to read. I'm not going to PAY someone to deliver adds to me. I can understand something free being add supported, but really, paying for adds is just offensive. I have rated this on the short story content. To be fair, if I had rated it on the entire' book' content including the adds, I would have given it a zero out of 5 stars because I hate adds. I would encourage the author to GET RID OF THE ADDS and be more honest in promotion of the book.

Also, in other reviews I noticed the author seemed to be arguing with people who brought up the adds issue. That's just poor form.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

STEVE WANDS is the author of the STAY DEAD series of novels, short stories, and collections as well as many other short stories.

He is currently hard at work on the third and fourth novels in the STAY DEAD series, as well as new collaboration with a fellow indie author.

Steve lives in New Jersey with his wife and sons. When he's not writing he's lettering Comic Books and Graphic Novels for DC Comics, BOOM! Studios, and Random House on titles like Attack on Titan, FBP, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, Adventure Time, Regular Show, Next Testament, Six-Gun Gorilla, and a slew of others.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category