Customer Reviews


334 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality Teasing!
A riveting quick read jam packed with suspense. A story so full of ancient lore, it will leave you thinking for days. Sergeant Jordan Stone, a team leader for JEFF (Joint Expedition Forensic Facility), a CSI type group of investigators in Afghanistan, receives audio of a perplexing crime committed against a group of archaeologist, he and his team move to investigate scene...
Published on October 30, 2012 by Sammy Sutton Author

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do not be fooled- this is not a book, just a short story.
This is well enough written, but it is so short, and clearly just a teaser for a real book, that it should be free.

I love Amazon, but they should make it clear that this is not a book.
Published 24 months ago by Barry Smith


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality Teasing!, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
A riveting quick read jam packed with suspense. A story so full of ancient lore, it will leave you thinking for days. Sergeant Jordan Stone, a team leader for JEFF (Joint Expedition Forensic Facility), a CSI type group of investigators in Afghanistan, receives audio of a perplexing crime committed against a group of archaeologist, he and his team move to investigate scene in the "Cursed City." Accompanied by a nervous archaeology professor, Thomas Atherton, Stone and his men find themselves in the ruins of an ancient city where Genghis Khan slaughtered more than a 100, 000 citizens. Later, Buddhist monks inhabited the area adorning and meditating in the nooks and crannies of rocky mountainous terrain, destroyed by the Taliban in 2001. The story is a fascinating tale full of reality teasing twists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, absolutely amazing!!!!, November 4, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
I've been a fan of Mr. Rollins for several years now and I must say I was a bit wary of the idea of collaboration. Trust me, there are no concerns now. I am so impressed with this story. Ms. Cantrell is next on my "to read" list. I love the e-book leading into the new novel. And I was so drawn into this story. I don't want to give any of the story away. It's a completely new take on ancient mysteries. Sergeant Jordan Stone is an impressive new leading character. The premise is fascinating, and I am hooked! This new series is going to be a huge hit, and I can't wait to read more. You can tell that Mr. Rollins and Ms. Cantrell have done their research,they have a genuine love of telling a story, and they are very good at it! It's going to be a LONG time until January 8,2013. Bravo Mr. Rollins and Ms. Cantrell! The City of Screams is a great introduction into The Order of the Sanguines Series and will certainly leave you wanting more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a start!, October 31, 2012
By 
Breezy (surrounded by books) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
I'ma diehard James Rollins fan and new to Rebecca Cantrell's work. Having said that, I'm a new fan!

This E-only novella introduces a military forensic team--think NCIS or CSI. It is led by farmboy turned solider Jordan Stone and his team. They're called upon to investigate a massacre of an archeology team. They find one survivor, a young traumatized girl, and a huge mystery. As Jordan and his team struggle to find answers, an ancient curse may doom them all.

This is clearly a teaser to introduce Jordan and whet the reader's appetite for the authors' full-length debut in January. I, for one, am hooked. The authors had me spellbound from the first few words--masterful opening hook! The idea of combining history, science and military forensic investigation hooked me from the first page and the multi-chapter teaser for the book already has me riveted.

The authors worked together seamlessly--I never felt as if there was anything awkward or choppy about the author voice.

Is it January yet? What about now? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelieveable Book!, December 28, 2012
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
The hero of this novel is Army Ranger Seargent Jeff Stone. He is on duty in Afghanistan with JEFF(Joint Expeditionary Forensic Facility).They are headquartered in Bamiyan Valley. The facility recieves a distress call from an archeological team that is doing exploratory work. The facility gets a distress call from the team. It is in a strange language that was spoken in ancient times. Stone is able to get the call interpreted by one of his group named Professor Thomas Thomas Atherton. Stone and a rescue team are dropped off at the camp location by a U.S. Army ranger helicopter. They discover to their horror that a massacare has taken place at the camp site. There is blood everywhere but no bodies. It is then that a fierec snowstorm blows in.While
riding out a snow storm they discover a 10 year old survivor of the massacare. The little girl isd traumitized and in a state of shock.She gives them an incoherent description of what took place. During the night they are attacked by beasts who are wanting to kill them. Sgt, Stone leads the beast to the site of the archeological dig in the Shar-e-Gholghol. He makes a stunning discovery . He is then forced to fight for his life. This is a very good short that you will find very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollins does it again!, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
City of Screams an introduction into James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell new series. It revolves around Sargeant Jordan Stone and his team of military forensic CSI's and a call for help from an archeological dig. Jordan and his team are dispatched to investigate. Once there things begin to become more and more strange. Rollins and Cantrell has created a story with the perfect blend of action, historical intrigue and the unknown. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Andy McDermott, Jeremy Robinson, or David Golemon. If you have never read one of James Rollins books, do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a new quilty pleasure. The only negative thing I can say about this book is that it ended to soon and that I have to wait until January to get my Sargeant Jordan fix in The Blood Gospel, the first book in the Order of the Sanguines series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to a new series, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
When I finished this story it made want to read the blood gospel even more. I am a big fan of James Rollins but have never read any of Rebecca Cantrells books but I may have to now. this book is just a taste of the new series and does a great job of keeping your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What?, July 5, 2013
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
Why don't I realize some of these things are short stories??? This was intense and interesting, but I read it in maybe an hour. Too short! I want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read in one setting, July 1, 2013
By 
Lucinda Huschke (FORT WORTH, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
Very good and I think its the lead in to the "Blood Gospel".
Easy reading and quick. Great story. Wished I'd read it
before the "Blood Gospel" to give me a little background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, Legend, and who dunnit?, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
This teaser of a short story caught my attention. I will read further, just to see how this imaginative tale unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: City of Screams: A Short Story Exclusive (Order of the Sanguines Series) (Kindle Edition)
I always make sure that when there is a James Rollins Book out I snag it. This one did not disappoint. He is a wonderful writer, but I am not too keen on the short stories, they end too soon. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.