Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2000
Billy Crystal, Bruno Kirby, Daniel Stern, and Jack Palance shine in this very funny movie about 3 "City Slickers" who are disillusioned with their lives and decide to participate in a cattle drive from New Mexico to Colorado in order to "find themselves." There aren't many comedies which are relevant to real life, and "City Slickers" is one of them. There aren't many comedies which emphasise the importance of life, love, friendship, humour, and acceptance but again, "City Slickers" is one of them. This is one of those rare diamonds of a film which will make us laugh, make us think, and make us take stock of our own lives. You would be extraordinarily hard to please if you didn't find this movie enjoyable.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2008
This new release of City Slickers will have a bunch of new special features:

-- audio commentary from director Ron Underwood and stars Billy Crystal and Daniel Stern (Bruno Kirby and Jack Palance are no longer living)

-- 4 featurettes
. . . "Back in the Saddle: City Slickers Revisited"
. . . "Bringing in the Script: Writing City Slickers"
. . . "A Star is Born: An Ode to Norman" (Norman being the calf Mitch adopts)
. . . "The Real City Slickers"

-- 2 deleted scenes: "Releasing the Herd" and "A New Job"

City Slickers, like most of the comedies I like best, works both as a vehicle for some pretty good humor and as a drama with heart, with something real at stake. Mitch (Billy Crystal) and his two best friends (Daniel Stern and Bruno Kirby) are each having midlife crises in their own ways. In an effort to find themselves they join a two-week dude cattle drive adventure where they do indeed surpass their former boundaries and find more about who they really are. Jack Palance plays Curly, the imposing, tough-as-cowhide, scene-stealing trail boss. The setting allows for endless jokes about cowboys and related matters, as well as some wry comments on human nature. All the principle actors are in top form.

I've always enjoyed this movie and look forward to the new features, especially the commentary. Looks like it will be a worthy special edition. I'd give the movie four or maybe four-and-a-half stars, but I'll round up for the special features.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2003
These three guys - well, these three city slickers - decide that a 2-week cattle drive is just what each needs to come to terms with their own individual crises - and they get the boss-man from hell, Jack Palance (who won an Oscar for this role). Slapstick in the beginning, it becomes more serious in the middle, then a sentimental wind-down toward a bittersweet ending.
Excellent!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2003
This is one of those great comedies that also speaks to the great truths of life. I have watched this film over and over again and am always left with a wonderful feeling after having watched it. It lifts my spirits when I am low and helps to remind me what is truly important in life.
Mitch Robbins (Billy Crystal), Phil Berquist (Daniel Stern) and Ed Furillo (Bruno Kirby) are three friends approaching mid-life at break neck speed. Each year they go on increasingly more dangerous adventures which Mitch's wife (Patricia Wettig) describes as desperate and juvenile attempts to hold on to their youth. When Ed suggests mushing along the trail of Admiral Byrd as a way to top running from bulls in Spain, Mitch is ready to quit the adventure trips and settle into senior life at the ripe old age of 39. After a demotion at his job and a surprise at his birthday party where Phil and his icy wife Arlene (Karla Tamburelli) have a blow out after she learns of his infidelities, Mitch's depression gets the better of his wife who sends him on one more adventure - to find his smile.
And so it is that the trio finds themselves on a cattle drive in the American west with five other lost souls and Curly (Jack Palance) as the cattle boss. Palance is wonderful as the gruff old cowboy who intimidates everyone around him (Mitch:"Kill anyone today, Curly?" Curly: "Day ain't over yet."). Yet he knows the secret to life and relates the cryptic answer to Mitch during the ride. As they drive the cattle and overcome obstacles like stampedes, drunken escapades by the trail hands and their own personal struggles, Mitch comes to realize what Curly's answer means and that it is the only answer he needs to bring the pieces of his life back together.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2008
Many movies end up being less than they try to be - this one ended up being more. It's described as "the rowdiest western jokefest since Blazing Saddles" which is a terrible injustice. "Saddles" is maybe pretty funny but ultimately it is a meaningless simple comedy. "City Slickers" starts out pretending to be a mindless comedy (the opening credits are played in cartoon format) but ends up being surprisingly serious and even moving in parts. Billy Crystal plays a man experiencing your standard midlife crisis - losing faith in his job, his future, and ultimately in himself. When a vacation at a "Dude Ranch" goes wrong, it causes him to re-think the priorities in his life. This is also the rare movie that explores male friendship realistically in the relationship between the characters played by Crystal, Bruno Kirby, and Daniel Stern. No sloppy "tearful-hugging" crap - just three guys who've been buddies since childhood. Plus the added bonus is, this really is one funny movie - the birthday party, the incident with the coffee bean grinder, the time Crystal's character tries to help Stern's character with his "inadequacy" (although now rather dated), etc, etc. This movie was seriously underrated probably because of the way it was marketed (Blazing Saddles? This is NOT a Blazing Saddles- style movie). Overall a very fine movie.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
One of Billy crystal's best comedies for sure
along with Daniel stern & Bruno kirby and Jack palance is fantastic as the ruthless Cowboy Curly
Billy crystal was the executive producer for City slickers so no wonder it's one of the best comedies ever

this new new High Definition transfer looks fantastic in 1:85:1 widescreen
Mgm/20th century fox made the effort for sure
very nice clear & sharp picture quality for sure not much Grain or Dirt, much better quality than the old dvd release
plus a new 5.1 Master audio mix has been added to which does sound excellent on my surround sound system

Guess what all the special features from the old dvd release have been carried over aswell
BACK IN THE SADDLE-CITY SLICKERS REVISITED a new 35mins retrospect featurette
interviews with Billy Crystal, writers Lowell Ganz & Babaloo mandel, Director Ron underwood
plus actors Daniel stern, Patricia wettig, Helen slater and others have been interviewed aswell
WRITING CITY SLICKERS featurette
is more in depth interview with writers Lowell Ganz & Babaloo mandel
A STAR IS BORN which is about Norman the Calf (small cow)
THE REAL CITY SLICKERS featurette which is about Tourist attraction ranchers across America
that do similar events for city tourists like in the film
plus there's Deleted scenes aswell, Theatrical trailer
and movie length Audio commentary from Ron underwood, Billy crystal, Daniel stern

if your big fan of City slickers, buy the blu-ray version. much much better picture quality & incredible 5.1 master audio sound
5 stars for the film, 5 stars for this blu-ray collector's edition version
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2009
As old as the "Men are from Mars, Women are from Jupiter" ponderings is the difference between "guy" films and "chick flicks". Though not trying to stereotype the genders too much here, the camp of movie-goers that will watch "The Notebook" or "A Walk To Remember" have different hormones flowing through them as those that go to "Terminator Salvation" or "Rambo IV". There's just a fundamental difference that often cannot be overcome by either gender.

"City Slickers", however, is the rare film that, while being a complete "guy" film, also proves to be as introspective as any emotional drama. Basically, "Slickers" tells the story of a middle-aged man named Mitch (played superbly by Billy Crystal) who undergoes a mid-life crisis. He works a dead-end job, has kids that think he is an "old fart", can't keep up on his best friend's big adventures (the film opens with the trio of buds running from the bulls in Spain), and is on the verge of complete depression. However, an opportunity (two weeks herding cattle at a Dude Ranch) presents itself for Mitch to be able to re-capture his youth, and he reluctantly takes it. Over the course of the trip, Mitch (and his pals, by extension) slowly but surely (and with often hilarious results!) begins to recapture the excitement that seemed to have been missing from his life.

Besides the inspiring storyline that rivals any feel-good film, "Slickers" vaults itself into the stratosphere with the quality of both its humor and acting. The jokes in this film, while not the physical comedy of, say, Jim Carrey, are still hilarious, and mirror the changes that each friend is going through. Speaking of those friends, Phil and Ed (played by Daniel Stern and Bruno Kirby, respectively), they each in turn provide the perfect compliment to Mitch's old-age crisis...Ed is the go-getter who never seems to slow down, while Phil is stuck in a heartless marriage and wishes he could just start over. The camraderie, struggles, and real-life discussions between those three guys provides the emotional backbone of the film. Plus, the auxiliary characters (including Jack Palance as the trail-hardened cowherd Curly) each add their own take on life into the picture.

Towards the end of the film, Mitch proclaims that he has finally found his "one thing" in life. Though that "one thing" is never revealed, that is actually the point...everyone must go out and find it for him/her self (much like the viewer may begin to contemplate while watching). So guys, the next time your significant other wants to watch another two Kleenex-box romance, suggest this film as a change of pace (but make sure she watches the whole thing...as the meat of the message is saved for the finale). She may not laugh at all the same things you do (which will be pretty much everything!), but she may also come away with a bit better of a perspective on what it's like to be a guy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 1999
This a a terrific "feel-good" movie. What I really like about the film is that it is a "guys" movie without violence - tough to find these days. I've heard a lot of people state that Jack Palance didn't deserve his Oscar for his role as Curly, but I believe that he is extremely convincing playing a cowboy among a group of city-slickers. It must have been tough to remain serious in the presence of Billy Crystal. This is one of Billy Crystal's better films.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2008
I ordered this because it was supposed to be the Collector's Edition with Commentary, Featurettes & Deleted scenes. I received it and, while the cover states it is the Collector's Edition with the extras, it is not. So I returned it to Amazon, asking them to replace it, which they did remarkably quickly. Problem is, the replacement is exactly like the first one I received -- no commentary, no featurettes, no deleted scenes although the cover says they are there. So now I am trying to contact someone at MGM or Fox to sort this out. (Having no luck at that but I will continue to try.) I can't blame Amazon for having received mismarked packaging. I love the movie but I bought this as a replacement so I would have the extras and, alas, the extras are not there, so the rating is two stars because the product is not as advertised.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
This a real treat. I would never have chosen it on my own. I was reading a growth track book that recommended this movie. I am so glad that I took the time to look. The movie gives great perspective on the real meaning of what is important in life and the valuable blessings of having good friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.