Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Likeable from start to finish!
Billy Crystal, Bruno Kirby, Daniel Stern, and Jack Palance shine in this very funny movie about 3 "City Slickers" who are disillusioned with their lives and decide to participate in a cattle drive from New Mexico to Colorado in order to "find themselves." There aren't many comedies which are relevant to real life, and "City Slickers" is...
Published on September 1, 2000 by Becky

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Slicker
I ordered this because it was supposed to be the Collector's Edition with Commentary, Featurettes & Deleted scenes. I received it and, while the cover states it is the Collector's Edition with the extras, it is not. So I returned it to Amazon, asking them to replace it, which they did remarkably quickly. Problem is, the replacement is exactly like the first one I...
Published on December 15, 2008 by GrannyBooks


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Likeable from start to finish!, September 1, 2000
This review is from: City Slickers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Billy Crystal, Bruno Kirby, Daniel Stern, and Jack Palance shine in this very funny movie about 3 "City Slickers" who are disillusioned with their lives and decide to participate in a cattle drive from New Mexico to Colorado in order to "find themselves." There aren't many comedies which are relevant to real life, and "City Slickers" is one of them. There aren't many comedies which emphasise the importance of life, love, friendship, humour, and acceptance but again, "City Slickers" is one of them. This is one of those rare diamonds of a film which will make us laugh, make us think, and make us take stock of our own lives. You would be extraordinarily hard to please if you didn't find this movie enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Details of new Collector's Edition due out on June 3rd, 2008, May 6, 2008
By 
This new release of City Slickers will have a bunch of new special features:

-- audio commentary from director Ron Underwood and stars Billy Crystal and Daniel Stern (Bruno Kirby and Jack Palance are no longer living)

-- 4 featurettes
. . . "Back in the Saddle: City Slickers Revisited"
. . . "Bringing in the Script: Writing City Slickers"
. . . "A Star is Born: An Ode to Norman" (Norman being the calf Mitch adopts)
. . . "The Real City Slickers"

-- 2 deleted scenes: "Releasing the Herd" and "A New Job"

City Slickers, like most of the comedies I like best, works both as a vehicle for some pretty good humor and as a drama with heart, with something real at stake. Mitch (Billy Crystal) and his two best friends (Daniel Stern and Bruno Kirby) are each having midlife crises in their own ways. In an effort to find themselves they join a two-week dude cattle drive adventure where they do indeed surpass their former boundaries and find more about who they really are. Jack Palance plays Curly, the imposing, tough-as-cowhide, scene-stealing trail boss. The setting allows for endless jokes about cowboys and related matters, as well as some wry comments on human nature. All the principle actors are in top form.

I've always enjoyed this movie and look forward to the new features, especially the commentary. Looks like it will be a worthy special edition. I'd give the movie four or maybe four-and-a-half stars, but I'll round up for the special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop dead funny, August 3, 2003
This review is from: City Slickers (DVD)
These three guys - well, these three city slickers - decide that a 2-week cattle drive is just what each needs to come to terms with their own individual crises - and they get the boss-man from hell, Jack Palance (who won an Oscar for this role). Slapstick in the beginning, it becomes more serious in the middle, then a sentimental wind-down toward a bittersweet ending.
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Comedy, October 29, 2003
This review is from: City Slickers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of those great comedies that also speaks to the great truths of life. I have watched this film over and over again and am always left with a wonderful feeling after having watched it. It lifts my spirits when I am low and helps to remind me what is truly important in life.
Mitch Robbins (Billy Crystal), Phil Berquist (Daniel Stern) and Ed Furillo (Bruno Kirby) are three friends approaching mid-life at break neck speed. Each year they go on increasingly more dangerous adventures which Mitch's wife (Patricia Wettig) describes as desperate and juvenile attempts to hold on to their youth. When Ed suggests mushing along the trail of Admiral Byrd as a way to top running from bulls in Spain, Mitch is ready to quit the adventure trips and settle into senior life at the ripe old age of 39. After a demotion at his job and a surprise at his birthday party where Phil and his icy wife Arlene (Karla Tamburelli) have a blow out after she learns of his infidelities, Mitch's depression gets the better of his wife who sends him on one more adventure - to find his smile.
And so it is that the trio finds themselves on a cattle drive in the American west with five other lost souls and Curly (Jack Palance) as the cattle boss. Palance is wonderful as the gruff old cowboy who intimidates everyone around him (Mitch:"Kill anyone today, Curly?" Curly: "Day ain't over yet."). Yet he knows the secret to life and relates the cryptic answer to Mitch during the ride. As they drive the cattle and overcome obstacles like stampedes, drunken escapades by the trail hands and their own personal struggles, Mitch comes to realize what Curly's answer means and that it is the only answer he needs to bring the pieces of his life back together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than it tried to be, June 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Many movies end up being less than they try to be - this one ended up being more. It's described as "the rowdiest western jokefest since Blazing Saddles" which is a terrible injustice. "Saddles" is maybe pretty funny but ultimately it is a meaningless simple comedy. "City Slickers" starts out pretending to be a mindless comedy (the opening credits are played in cartoon format) but ends up being surprisingly serious and even moving in parts. Billy Crystal plays a man experiencing your standard midlife crisis - losing faith in his job, his future, and ultimately in himself. When a vacation at a "Dude Ranch" goes wrong, it causes him to re-think the priorities in his life. This is also the rare movie that explores male friendship realistically in the relationship between the characters played by Crystal, Bruno Kirby, and Daniel Stern. No sloppy "tearful-hugging" crap - just three guys who've been buddies since childhood. Plus the added bonus is, this really is one funny movie - the birthday party, the incident with the coffee bean grinder, the time Crystal's character tries to help Stern's character with his "inadequacy" (although now rather dated), etc, etc. This movie was seriously underrated probably because of the way it was marketed (Blazing Saddles? This is NOT a Blazing Saddles- style movie). Overall a very fine movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great "Guys" Flick!, August 8, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: City Slickers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This a a terrific "feel-good" movie. What I really like about the film is that it is a "guys" movie without violence - tough to find these days. I've heard a lot of people state that Jack Palance didn't deserve his Oscar for his role as Curly, but I believe that he is extremely convincing playing a cowboy among a group of city-slickers. It must have been tough to remain serious in the presence of Billy Crystal. This is one of Billy Crystal's better films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Slicker, December 15, 2008
By 
GrannyBooks (Frankfort, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this because it was supposed to be the Collector's Edition with Commentary, Featurettes & Deleted scenes. I received it and, while the cover states it is the Collector's Edition with the extras, it is not. So I returned it to Amazon, asking them to replace it, which they did remarkably quickly. Problem is, the replacement is exactly like the first one I received -- no commentary, no featurettes, no deleted scenes although the cover says they are there. So now I am trying to contact someone at MGM or Fox to sort this out. (Having no luck at that but I will continue to try.) I can't blame Amazon for having received mismarked packaging. I love the movie but I bought this as a replacement so I would have the extras and, alas, the extras are not there, so the rating is two stars because the product is not as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T MISS A CHANCE TO SEE THIS DELIGHTFUL FILM, January 1, 2003
By 
Gwen Neville (Palm Springs, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City Slickers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Another one of those infectious movies that you can view 100 times and never tire of! Bet you can't watch it...once! You'll come away with at least 5 "Crystalisms"...Hellooo...Fact is that there are profound messages that will stay with you wrapped up in all of this hilarity.
Curly's(Jack Palance)vivid picture of the sun shining through the dress of the woman he has loved all of his life, yet never approached...Bruno Kirby's "best day" and "worst day" monologue...and Billy Crystal's advice to a friend whose life has been recently shattered... "Your life is a do over..." referring to when they were kids and a ball would get hung up in a tree...go for it it's another chance...a do over.
That will be you plagiarizing the line..."Cow's today!" the next time your child crosses a social boundry! Stop me, somebody....stop me...I could go on and quote the entire script..."Woof...woof"!
A buddy film ...with a simple story line...dealing with midlife crisis and it's cure...that will put a smile on your face from the first frame to the last. Keep one on the shelf for emergency loss of joy therapy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing In Parts But Poor DVD Quality!, July 18, 2009
This review is from: City Slickers (DVD)
Very few comedies age well and this one isn't an exception; some of the jokes are still funny but many have aged poorly and have become lame as a result. The fortunate thing though is that this film is not just an outright comedy but it also has a timeless theme of dealing with mid-life crisis and understanding that "one thing" in life that matters.

For this reason, this film will still amuse and remain relevant for some years to come. Too bad this dvd version is so poor though as the picture quality was poor on too many frames and there was a glaringly large white spot on the frame where Daniel Stern's character gets discovered for his infidelity. The sound quality isn't the greatest either and so my suggestion is to wait for either a properly restored Blu-ray or standard version which addresses both these picture and sound quality deficiencies to be released and to give this particular dvd version a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember: just one thing, September 25, 2001
By 
David Bonesteel (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City Slickers (DVD)
Three friends (Billy Crystal, Bruno Kirby, Daniel Stern)attempt to ward off old age by participating in a cattle drive. The trail boss, wonderfully played by Jack Palance, dies of a heart attack and his assistants turn out to be a pair of drunken bullies who abandon the vacationers to their fates. Rather than leave the cattle to die in the desert, the trio decides to bring the them in, and their holiday turns in a genuine ordeal.
This movie is a lot of fun. The screenwriters (Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel) do a good job of setting up a situation in which each man has his sense of self-worth on the line. The characters are familiar types with recognizable mid-life problems, which makes them easy to identify with. The comedy is nicely interwoven with deft character touches. Palance's advice to Crystal is deceptively simple. Billy Crystal's second best performance (after "When Harry Met Sally").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

City Slickers, Collector's Edition [Blu-ray]
$14.99 $10.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.