Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For the Lady Reenactor, November 11, 2000
By 
Mary Z. Cox (Tallahassee, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
I want to meet Barbara Brackman, the author of this beautifully put together quilting/history volume. So many books for reenactors are one dimensional, but Civil War Women is multimedia like in its approach. Each chapter tells the story of a real Civil War era woman to give you a feel for historical setting. Then she presents a historically inspired quilt that she feels would be the type of quilt that woman could have quilted. There are directions for these quilts which are mostly appliqued. Then she offers a suggested activity for a lady reenactor. The color plates in this volume are clear and breathtaking and there are many black and white historical photos that I found instructional. I learned many new things, such as an explanation for the bloomer reform dress, that caused me to consider impersonations that I had not thought about before. I have heard some local ladies criticize the author's selection of quilts as being too Union--but I personally found their designs refreshing and a nice alternative to Baltimore album quilts. The quilts that are my favorites are: Tobacco Worm, Seven Sisters and Democrat Rose. I enjoyed reading about Lucy Stone and her "poodle" husband. I am currently musing over the reenactor activity suggestions. The womens' rights orator and the letter writer both seem creative and do-able impressions that could be accomplished by a single reenactor. I really believe that this volume would be a great candidate for a companion CD that could have some video how to's and print outs of quilt patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mini bios, lots of living history ideas, November 20, 2002
By 
K. Bourn "bohemiangirlpdx" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
For those interested in learning more about the various roles that women played in the Civil War, this book is a terrific starting point. For those interested in ideas of civilian living history activities, this book has some great ideas for women Civil War reenactors who want to do more than sit under the tent fly until their man returns from battle. For those interested in making a quilt inspired by old-fashioned patterns, this book contains some beautiful projects and good instructions. For those interested in faithfully recreating historically accurate quilts, this book is not for you.
After reading Barbara Brackman's wonderful "Quilts from the Civil War," I anxiously awaited "Civil War Women"--expecting another book on recreating historic quilts. Ultimately, I appreciated "Civil War Women" for what it was--a book containing interesting stories about the lives of women abolitionists, newspaper reporters, spies, plantation wives, nurses, government clerks, refugees and soldiers' wives. In the book's nine chapters, Brackman focuses on describing the life of one women from each group, and then discusses others in these roles. Numerous photographs and engravings help take the reader back to the 1860s.
I especially loved the suggested activities for reenactors: a quilting bee, giving a stump speech, collecting signatures for an album quilt, smuggling contraband, staging a bazaar, to name a few. Brackman reprints a speech given by Amelia Bloomer and excerpts diaries discussing quilting bees and fairs, which help to provide primary sources for these activities. Even those not involved in living history might be inspired to try some of these activities for a different old-fashioned party.
For a book with a quilt on its cover that primarily has been marketed in quilt shops, however, the paucity of original quilts was disappointing. Of the 30-some quilts depicted in "Civil War Women," only a quarter are originals. And although Brackman describes the project quilts as being inspired by originals, in many cases, she does not depict the originals so that the quilter interested in authenticity can determine where accuracy left off and inspiration took over. Unlike the reproduction quilts in "Quilts of the Civil War," which many times appeared very similar to the originals, these quilts just don't quite look like other historic quilts that I have seen from the period.
Had this book not clearly targeted reenactors, I would not complain about the quilts. But for those involved in living history for the sake of public education rather than because they like "theme camping," authenticity is important, and the suggestion that reenactors can create good reproduction quilts by relying merely on this book does a disservice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-enactor's delight, May 26, 2001
By 
Carol H. Miller (www.Quilt University.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
This book contains 9 projects adapted from period quilts. These are linked rather whimsically to 9 women of the period. There is no evidence that the women profiled actually made quilts like these or, in fact, ever made any quilts at all. Ms. Brackman has used a little creative journalism, what the TV people like to call the docu-drama approach, to connect nine women who represent particular types and quilts that women like them were making. If your love is for historical trivia, about women or the Civil War period, you will likely find this book fascinating. Each chapter ends with a series of activities which could be used by re-enactors or by history teachers. There are numerous etchings and photographs of the period.  
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be required HS history reading!, May 23, 2001
By 
Ten Quilts (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
Where was Barbara Brackman when I was studying history in school? She has brought real women of history into our living rooms, introducing us to the most intimate of their thoughts and actions during the Civil War, each unique in her own role. But she doesn't stop there. For Civil War reenactors, she goes on to build on the historical facts to suggest activities in order to walk in these women's footsteps. And for quilters, she provides patterns of quilts of the era. This book is a must for anyone learning about women's roles in the Civil War, for Civil War reenactors, for quilters fond of old patterns, and generally for almost any history buff. Brackman has successfully spanned the line between quilter and historian in a way that her peers and even Brackman herself have not done before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treat, May 26, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
For an excellent review of this book, please see that of seasidewanderer (below). I agree wholeheartedly with his/her comments. The suggested activities for civilian women at living history events are creative and refreshing. However, I was disappointed with the quilting projects. Most are "inspired" by quilts of the Civil War era, but the finished projects look nothing like the originals. Original quilts are so beautiful with handwork, but this is not reflected with the modern applique used on the book's projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book: not just for Civil War re-enactors or quilters!, April 21, 2011
By 
gilly8 "gilly8" (Mars, the hotspot of the U.S.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
I bought this book in '06 for a friend who was involved in Civil War re-enacting. I read it myself first :--) An excellent and interesting book that goes a long way past just the needs of the re-enactor or those of the quilter although I imagine it would be useful to them as well.
It is true that the quilts shown in the photos in the book are not the antique originals (a negative in my opinion) but are modern quilts based on those older designs, as far as I recall.
Lots of good photographs: not just of quilts, but also of the times being discussed, the Civil War, and particularly the role of women in it. The modern quilts are photographed in color; the older Civil War photographs are of course in black and white.
Barbara Brackman, whose first book was"Quilts from the Civil War: Nine Projects, Historic Notes, Diary Entries" and also"Facts and Fabrications: Unraveling the History of Quilts and Slavery: 8 Projects, 20 Blocks, First-Person Accounts", "Clues in the Calico: A Guide to Identifying and Dating Antique Quilts" and several others discusses the many roles of women of all classes in that war, for example, those involved in the Underground Railroad, the Nurses, the women who fought (disguised as men), those involved politically, and much more.
Brackman writes in a clear style, easily read but thoroughly in touch with her subject. It is not a dry, dull book by any means, I found it a fast, fascinating read.
I feel I know a lot about the Civil War from past reading, but this gave me a new perspective, especially on the often overlooked women.
I would not call this a feminist book if that means, to you, an anti-male book; rather it points out what women did, other than sit home and worry!
A very good book, one that, as another reviewer said, would also be excellent in the schools from junior high up. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars civil war women, March 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
Great book informing about the many duties that a civil war lady had to endure while her husband,loved one, son, brother or father went off to war in the 1860's time period. I love the civil war blocks and quilts that were enclosed and their stories. It gave a unique perspective of the time period. I received my book very quickly and it was priced well below the regular price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent historical prespective, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone who is interested in an accurate historical account of the women and what they did during the Civil War era. Quilters who want to use reproduction fabrics and patterns from this period will find this book a valuable tool for details of lives lived during this tragic period in the history of our country, and fascinating details of touching, human experiences that occurred during this time of war in our own land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civil War, May 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
The book contained the exact quilt imagine I was looking for, Jeff Davis' Daughter. I enjoyed reading all the information regarding women and their roles and life style during the mid-19th century. In addition to the quilt image I was looking for, I have selected other projects that interest and excite me. The narrative and other content of the book would be of interest to other quilter's and civil war enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book to Read...., May 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors (Paperback)
Barbara did it again. These stories are so interesting to read, the quilt photos (as well as other photos) are so beautiful. A great book for Civil War enthusiasts, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Civil War Women: Their Quilts, Their Roles, Activities for Re-Enactors
$29.95 $28.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.