Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very wise about what it really means to be disatissfied and why we secretly need to be, March 4, 2012
I found this really interesting, Freud takes his theories about the psyche and stretches them as far as they can go, asking what, if anything is the mental state of civilization. What its components are, how they interact with each other and what happens when they clash with one another. A lot of these observations seem really obvious, but he approaches them in a way which shows how so much of how we live our day to day lives is based on this weird sense of dissatisfaction with the world that we might ultimately need in order to really function as people. And, as with Moses and Monotheism, he's got enough humility and appreciation for how huge his tasks here are to admit that he might not have it all figured out. It's a really great sociological book to read if you don't care for sociology per se
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read in your lifetime, December 4, 2011
This review is from: Civilization and Its Discontents (Paperback)
Excellent thought provoking book that casts a new light on your perception of civilization and the individual's love/hate relationship with it. Not to nit pick, but the death instinct and the libido are not in "constant" opposition, but a bit of both can always be found in each one's expression. For example, the cold pleasure of self destruction and the aggressiveness of the sexual act. This is not my "take" on it so to speak, but discussed extensively by Freud himself in his other works, where he even gives eating as an example. (The destruction of outside organic matter to sustain life.) Regarding libido and death instincts as polar opposites is a simplification that, oddly enough, makes things more confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much insight, plus wry humour -- and a few mistakes, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Civilization and Its Discontents (Paperback)
Length:: 7:06 Mins

I happen to have read Nietzsche's work extremely closely, so in the video I draw parallels about Freud's later pronouncements with those of Genealogy of Morals -- plus, a few points relating to Freud's psychological accuracy in historical hindsight, and his humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dangerous and Subversive Eye-Opener / CIVILIZATION AND ITS DISCONTENTS -- by Dr. Sigmund Freud (1930/2010), August 13, 2012
By 
T. Prentice (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization and Its Discontents (Paperback)
CIVILIZATION AND ITS DISCONTENTS -- by Dr. Sigmund Freud (1930)

[Why wasn't THIS on anyone's high school, college or graduate school reading list?]

I thought Freud only wrote about sex and psyche. Here he takes on the "discontents" of civilization which has always been praised and beatified to us as the highest embodiment of Homo sapiens sapiens accomplishment. Freud does buy into that, but he is also pretty clear-eyed about the 'discontents' that befall human civilization.

And, yes, there is also sex and psyche within.

It is a very readable and accessible book. 144 pages. (I wonder why "THEY" didn't want us to read this?)]

EXCERPTS:

"The bit of truth behind all this - one so eagerly denied - is that men are not gentle, friendly creatures wishing for love, who simply defend themselves if attacked, but that a powerful measure of desire for aggression has to be reckoned as part of their instinctual endowment. The result is that their neighbor is to them not only a possible helper or sexual object, but also a temptation to them to gratify their aggressiveness on him, to exploit his capacity for work without recompense, to use him sexually without his consent, to seize his possessions, to humiliate him, to cause him pain, to torture and kill him. Homo hominine lupus; who has the courage to dispute it in the face of all the evidence in his own life and in history?

"This aggressive cruelty usually lies in wait for some provocation, or else it steps into the service of some other purpose, the aim of which might as well have been achieved by milder measures...man as savage beast to whom the thought of spring THEIR OWN KIND is alien. Anyone who calls to mind the atrocities of early migrations, of the invasion by the Huns, or by the so-called Mongols under Genghis Khan and Tamerlane, of the sack of Jerusalem by the pious crusaders, even indeed the horrors of the last world war, will have to bow his head humbly before the truth of this view of man". (pp. 85-86)

[Mini-Deconstruction: Written in 1930, one wonders at the absence of mention of the specific cruelties of the White, Christian, Capitalist European Empires invading and occupying the Western Hemisphere and committing genocide on the AmerIndians - from Cristobal Colon and the Spanish to the Portuguese, English, Dutch, French, German, Belgian; as well as noting the absence by Freud of the mention of slavery. But he covers it elsewhere.]

"...we cannot see why the systems we have ourselves created should not rather ensure protection and well-being for us all...(however sometimes) we come across a point of view which is so amazing that we will pause over it...our so-called civilization itself is to blame for a great part of our misery and we should be much happier if we were to give it up and go back to primitive conditions." (p. 44)

"As a result of voyages...men came into contact with primitive peoples and races. To the Europeans, who failed to observe them carefully and misunderstood what they saw, these people seemed to lead simple, happy lives - wanting for nothing ----such as the travelers who visited them, with all their superior culture, were unable to achieve." (p. 45)

"...one can hardly go wrong in concluding that the idea of a purpose in life stands and falls with the religious system" (p. 26)

[I much prefer living life and The Pursuit of Happiness (that doesn't hurt any others, including animals.]

(1930/2010). CIVLIZATION AND ITS DISCONTENTS by Dr. Sigmund Freud; (Joan Riviere, tr); c 2010; Mansfield Center, CT: Martino Publishing. 144 pp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complex but thought-provoking, November 23, 2013
A bit complex as an introduction to Freud but a great look into his ideas. Civilization and its Discontents covers what Freud believes to be the psychological origins of civilization as well as its costs and benefits.

Full review linked here: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concepts., December 20, 2013
By 
Jjoek1 (Glendale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this in my youth at which time it seemed to have a great impression on me. Re-reading it now 60 yrs later, it is still of interest, but not so impressive, since many of Freud's concepts are now commonplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freud - civilization and its discontents, July 6, 2013
Despite the many years past its publishing. Very much relatable to many current cultural changes occurring in our modern day society. A must read for anyone interested in culture and Freudian thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life changing book, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book offers the the truth about the nature of civilization and why we all experience some level of neuroses. Be prepared to see everything in society more clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like Freud, and so should you!, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization and Its Discontents (Paperback)
Freud is a household name for a reason. Right or wrong, he had an amazing ability for analysis and theory of the human mind. This is a "must read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorable, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is insightful. I read it for a graduate school class. We could see how freud's ideas continue to pervade, invisibly, modern psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Civilization and Its Discontents
Civilization and Its Discontents by Sigmund Freud (Paperback - September 15, 2010)
$6.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.