Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Civ strategy guide that got it right.
I have played all five plus versions of Civilization (including Alpha Centauri, Alien Crossfire, Colonization, several different versions of Civilization II, including one involving dinosaurs, Civ III Play the World & Conquests, Civ IV Warlords & Beyond the Sword and the disaster known as Civilization: Call to Power). I have read the strategy guides for all five versions...
Published on November 5, 2010 by Cruizer

versus
126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basically a printed civilopedia, not worth $1.
This book is basically a rewrite of the included (free) civilopedia which comes with the game. It describes all the items and empires in the game, along with basic game strategy-- all of which is included with the game already. Maybe you might want a printed civilopedia, rather than viewing in-game, and then, maybe you could find a use for this. If you're looking for a...
Published on October 1, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basically a printed civilopedia, not worth $1., October 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
This book is basically a rewrite of the included (free) civilopedia which comes with the game. It describes all the items and empires in the game, along with basic game strategy-- all of which is included with the game already. Maybe you might want a printed civilopedia, rather than viewing in-game, and then, maybe you could find a use for this. If you're looking for a guide on how to actually play better, or you know, STRATEGY, look elsewhere, like on forums or whatever, because this won't tell you anything, in a game that is RIPE for help-- with lots of obvious questions that remained unanswered after reading this book.

It's like they didn't even play the game, just looked at the civilopedia and a thesaurus, and wrote this book.

Boo. Save your $.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Really a "Guide...", October 10, 2010
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
Reviewer Cory pretty much summed up everything I would have pointed out: It's like having a colorful, printed version of everything already mentioned in-game. Would have been nice to see some actual strategy included in this book, e.g. what Civs/buildings that will yield your desired victory, strategies for certain maps-types, how to fix your tactical blunders without having to start a new game, etc.

I know the only way to be good at a game like this is to become a better tactician through extended thought/practice--something just reading a guide can't give you--but this book is still a big disappointment. :\
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Civ strategy guide that got it right., November 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
I have played all five plus versions of Civilization (including Alpha Centauri, Alien Crossfire, Colonization, several different versions of Civilization II, including one involving dinosaurs, Civ III Play the World & Conquests, Civ IV Warlords & Beyond the Sword and the disaster known as Civilization: Call to Power). I have read the strategy guides for all five versions of Civilization (Civilization, Civ II, Civ III, Civ IV and Civ V). This one is the first one that really analyzes the different civilizations and provides real insight into how to play, or defend against each. The other four only provided basic strategy and no real insight on how to improve from being good to being great.

The book starts out by explaining most of the options one has to choose before starting the game. Then it explains the basic mechanics of how to play the game. The book also explains the differences between Civ IV and Civ V. Next it give a very good description of the strengths and weaknesses of each of the basic Civilizations (the book does not mention the Mongolians or the Babylonians). Next comes the strengths and weaknesses of each military unit. Then it does the same for the buildings, Wonders of the World, National Wonders, projects, science (tech tree), and the land (tiles, resources and improvements). It then goes into the more advanced concepts, such as how and when to expand, maintaining happiness, specialists, great people, economics, culture, policies, golden ages, diplomacy, the art of war ...

I have enjoyed reading the book and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, November 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
Product is completely useless. It is basically the manual that should have been included in the game and contains information that you can figure out on your own playing the game in the first 4 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had a lot of basics, but didn't expand on things as much as it should have, October 17, 2011
By 
MoonX (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
Well I bought this for my husband so I'm just passing on what he's telling me. This guide is probably good for a new player who has never played the game before. It has a lot of very basic information but doesn't expand much further than the basics which is unfortunate because the guide is presented as containing this expansive information. i mean after all, the reason you're buying a strategy guide is to learn things, say 'strategies", outside of the basics that you can figure out with a couple hours of game play. Would only recommend this for brand new players. Players who are more experienced with the basics of this game will not find this guide useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Printed civilipedia, January 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this guide because I wanted a printed copy of the civilipedia that I could read at any time. I find it easier to go to the guide instead of the civilipedia. Also, the new version of civilization requires some of us to rethink our strategies and the guide points out these changes. Before I got the guide, I was playing the same old way and now I am playing with a different strategy. That is when the game does not crash. of course. I did find it hard to read at times because they must have used spell check and rushed through the editing. The grammar was horrible at times and words were inserted out of text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Nothing, October 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
This is an OK reference, especially since this is the first Civ game NOT to contain a printed manual. But it is only that: a reference. My biggest grip is the author spend way to much time on features from Civ 4 that were left out of 5, and trying to justify why that's a good thing. Don't wait space apologizing for what the game is missing. Talking about the stuff it does have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid refresher, November 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
If you've played any previous Civ extensively, you won't need this. Grasping the "new" concepts is more trial and error than reading paragraphs describing how best to work in the sim. But isn't that how <every> Civ has been? Skip the guides and try? Get conquered enough and figure out what tech is needed when?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpfull but lacking., August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
The Civilization 5 official strategy guide is a great reference tool (far superior to the PDF guide included on the game disc) and offers reliable game tactics for beginners. However, the guide only offers the most basic of strategies which will, at best, turn novice players into competent ones. Anyone looking for help taking on intermediate to advanced competition would be better served elsewhere. It should also be noted that this guide has an almost unbelievable amount of grammatical errors. Obviously this isn't supposed to be Shakespeare, but the number of mistakes made is so jarring that it saps most of the enjoyment out of the reading experience. To be honest, 3 stars is generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not necessary to spend over $20 for this guide., January 20, 2013
This review is from: Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
The sellers listing this for $100 or more are fools. Not necessary. Simply buy the Gods & Kings version for $19.99. It covers everything from the game of the year edition, all of the Civ V DLC and the Gods and Kings expansion. I played Civilization way back in 1991, but didn't get very far before I gave up on it. Recently picked up Civ 5, and bought the Gods & Kings strat guide and I've since played 3 games and won 2 of them. Brady Games' motto is "Take your games further." I can say, this strategy guide helped me with the two victories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides)
Civilization V Official Strategy Guide (Bradygames Official Strategy Guides) by Michael Lummis (Paperback - September 10, 2010)
Used & New from: $22.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.