Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
I am really surprised that the reviews are so bad!! Okay, some of the conversations do not have much sense (like when talking about relationships between men and women) but the story is not about these relationships its about INTIMACY VS SEX. Its about how each person looks for intimacy in different ways..Its about discovering your sexual orientation...Its about...
Published on July 16, 2004 by nataliamcb

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best movie ever made, but the bonus disk is great
This movie has lots of flaws. I saw it years ago, and my memory of it was that it was horrible. I watched it again tonight, it wasn't horrible, just not very good. I seen worse from major studios. Next to Showgirls, this movie is Oscar material (yeah, that's a backhanded compliment). Really, there were times that the acting of the two main characters was so wooden,...
Published on January 28, 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best movie ever made, but the bonus disk is great, January 28, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "ADavis" (Cleveland, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This movie has lots of flaws. I saw it years ago, and my memory of it was that it was horrible. I watched it again tonight, it wasn't horrible, just not very good. I seen worse from major studios. Next to Showgirls, this movie is Oscar material (yeah, that's a backhanded compliment). Really, there were times that the acting of the two main characters was so wooden, you could carve a toy gun. They, would follow it up in the next scene, that made me scratch my head - the acting would be quite good. Go figure... I will say that some of the sex scenes were just dead on hot ... and the build-up of the tension, just dead bang on the mark.

Where it was the worse was those neverending shots of the characters doing the pensive stare out the window - way to long.

The bonus disk was great. I watched it first this time and that made me go back to watch the movie again. There was stuff in the bonus disk that didn't make it to the movie, too bad. Some of it was damn good. It also helped to explain the movie a little better, sudden cast changes explain that sometimes bad acting. All in all the bonus disk made it worth my while to buy the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars St. Lesbos Fire., August 16, 2005
By 
I gave this movie a 1, but it's a 5 on the unintentional comedy scale. There is enough stilted dialogue, cliches and bad acting in this movie to embarrass William Shatner.

There were some strange things going on in this movie:

-> Even though the women are at a casual writer's retreat out in the woods, they all dress up exactly like they would back home. Why? So you can decipher their personalities in a hurry, without a lot of messy character development. I especially like how the Doctor dresses up every morning to sit at her typewriter. Nice shoulder pads!

-> Clair doesn't write a word the entire movie. She drinks, smokes, stares out the window, smokes some more, drinks a lot more, takes some aspirin, makes coffee, and then stares out the window some more. To break up the monotony, she occasionally walks on the beach and smokes. And she goes into town to drink and smoke.

-> The two main characters almost have sex 26 times. By the time they finally do it, you don't care.

-> One character states "sex between two women is about as raw as it gets." Maybe, but then why does Clair still have her jeans on during most of the final scene?

Instead of returning this movie to the public library, I decided to be a humanitarian and I ran it over with my car. Pay it forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, July 16, 2004
By 
"nataliamcb" (Cologne, Germany) - See all my reviews
I am really surprised that the reviews are so bad!! Okay, some of the conversations do not have much sense (like when talking about relationships between men and women) but the story is not about these relationships its about INTIMACY VS SEX. Its about how each person looks for intimacy in different ways..Its about discovering your sexual orientation...Its about fear...Its about love...Its about music..
Its this kind of film that makes you think.
And I find it perfectly describes the way in which two women approach each other..Its so real, the way that they look at each other, the way they try to get near but are afraid to get hurt, the seduction...Its so good!
I just find its one of the best films ive ever seen! Low budget, great story, great acting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avid gay genre collector, April 13, 2005
Conn certainly amassed a number of stringent attacks on her efforts in this production. Sadly most have merit, the dialogue lacks cohesion, the characters are frustratingly under developed and the final love scene is reminiscent of low budget porn. But the curious thread, which most positive reviewers have in common, is that they can't pinpoint why this film, despite its obvious flaws, is so compelling. It most likely has to do with Todd and Trumbo, who rise above a lack-lustre script and some appalling supportive acting, to maintain the subtle line of sexual tension between the leading characters. This is achieved not by means of dialogue, but by way of telling glances and loaded eye contact. Claire of the Moon will disappoint those who expect cinema nouveau, but it's merit in exploring the myriad of potential interactions between women, be they gay or straight, can't be summarily dismissed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the Ride, May 18, 2003
By A Customer
I am astounded when I read negative reviews. The entertainment industry did not fund this film, and thus, the director, cast and crew made this film on a very limited budget. That, in and of itself, must have presented numerous challenges.
One film cannot be all things to all people. However, this film hit the nail on the head regarding the journey of Claire. It is true, that many people were presented in sterotypic fashion, successfully, to act as the "backdrop" for the real drama between Claire and Noel.
The message of the film was clear. Intimacy versus sex. Big difference. I got the message immediately! One mark of a good film is you keep thinking about the message. Each time I see the film and think about the message, I enjoy the ride. As more view this film, they will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS MOVIE, November 6, 2004
I'm beginning to think that I may need therapy to get a handle on this one. I pretty much watch this movie on a daily basis (twice sometimes). What is it about watching Claire and Noel interact and fall in love that intrigues me so much? Your guess is as good as mine. What I am clear on is that I love the actors, the acting, the dialog, and of course, the music, which is just awesome. "Cynara, Poetry in Motion" (on DVD) is on my wish list. Keep rolling them out Nicole Conn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd Go To The Moon For Claire, April 20, 2001
By 
Alright, first of all this movie WAS good. And being myself a lesbian, I did find it "titilating". The silent acting in this movie, acompanied by the the classical music set a mood to the story that really draws you in. The intensity of the situation kept me on edge, and I do believe this is one of the best lesbian movies out there. Unlike many other films, it portrayed that seductive allure of a love that could be right infront of you, but you're not sure if you should reach out and grab it. I'm adding Claire Of The Moon to my collection... right next to Bound and Relax It's Just Sex!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I had to watch this hellish movie 28 times, October 20, 2000
By 
S. Mineart (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Claire of the Moon (DVD)
The pretensiousness of the long smoldering glances, the endless staring out to sea, the inappropriate dramatic pauses in the middle of passionate speechs, the hokiness of the characters, the complete immorality of trying to seduce people who aren't into you; it's hard to say which aspect of this film is the worst, but altogether they make a true cesspit of a film.
We brought it to town for a fundraiser, and I had to act as an usher for each screening. The only reason I didn't go insane from watching this horrible, horrible movie so many times was because the audience, who hated it as much as I did, turned it into a lesbian Rocky Horror Picture Show. They added their own dialogue, mocked the characters and in general had so much fun they came back and brought their friends to make fun of it.
We made a lot of money, but I can't help but think I somehow scarred my brain for life. Please don't ever give this director any more money to make pieces of crap like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Romance!, February 21, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading some of the bad reviews on Claire of the Moon, I wanted to write a rave review. I got it! I loved the movie. It was "old school" cinema- romantic, panoramic. Nicole Conn did a fantastic directorial job. The chemistry between the two stars was breathtaking. Even after more than 10 years it did not seem too dated. It was a "feel good" movie experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, April 29, 2002
I have read many of the reviews of this movie and I am perplexed at the number of negative reviews. I was hooked after the first viewing. For a low budget film, the message is extraordinary. An uplifting story about two women who against all odds find love with each other. As someone who has been through a similar situation, I was truly touched. I watch it every chance I get. If you want a beautiful story of a growing relationship, then this is the film for you...but for those of you that just watch movies like this for the "porn value" then you are out of luck. (I think that was the problem with some of the other reviewers). Anyway, this continues to be one of my most favorite films ever. Kristen, Texas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Claire of the Moon
Claire of the Moon by Nicole Conn (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: $57.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.