Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The shape of things to come for Entombed
Entombed's follow up to "Left Hand Path", Clandestine, is decidely less harsh but took strides in overall maturity and song structure.
A little clarification first: Nicke Andersson sang on all the songs. At this point in death metal not many bands had 'excelled' in the vocalist department anyhow. So his performance does nothing to hinder the quality of the...
Published on June 10, 2004 by JRM

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a small step down
mosh parts aside, clandestine rings with eerie ambience and a newfound slayer-esque dissonance that makes it much a more sinister and creepy album than the classic left hand path before it. the cavernous production, conservative horror movie sampling and typically abrasive chainsaw guitar tone only magnify the inexplicable malevolence of this simple material. the only...
Published on March 11, 2010 by broken shift key


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The shape of things to come for Entombed, June 10, 2004
By 
JRM "JRM" (Corvallis, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
Entombed's follow up to "Left Hand Path", Clandestine, is decidely less harsh but took strides in overall maturity and song structure.
A little clarification first: Nicke Andersson sang on all the songs. At this point in death metal not many bands had 'excelled' in the vocalist department anyhow. So his performance does nothing to hinder the quality of the music therein. But keep in mind there are no Morbid Angel-type guttural growls to be heard.
After a good 5-10 listens, I've found the overall pace gets monotonous here and there. The guitar work is classic Entombed, death n' roll. Upon listening to Morning Star and Inferno, even Uprising I can hear small tidbits of what made this album so great.
If you're an Entombed fan at all, you can't afford to be snob. Everything they put out is heavy and will stick your head comfortably.
Listen up and enjoy. Death metal history in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow grind... now thrash... now breakdown... EXCELLENT..., March 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
AT THE GATES? Never heard of 'em. Just kidding. But you should definitely be well acquainted with this album if you have any ATG. These guys made Sunlight Studios in Stockholm with thier trademark sound. Guitarists Cederlund and Helid have a knack of creating an eerie horror movie soundtrack with a bit of sinister beauty. This is what Scandinavian metal is known for today; elegance and brutality. Anyway, I own all of these guys' albums (except for INFERNO.) This is particularly excellent. LEFT HAND PATH thrashed all the way through and just kills with sheer speed. Here, drummer Nicke Anderson is a bit more involved with the songwriting (most of it) and I think that is why there are so many changes in timing and tempo. Sinners Bleed starts off a bit lazy but the guitar lead gets really frenetic toward the end. The mid-paced pummel of double bass on Crawl slowly flattens all in its path. And if you're lucky enough to buy the reissue with the two extra tracks you grind freaks will love Dusk (one of the best songs and faster than anything off LEFT HAND PATH!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, December 21, 2000
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
This album is one of my all-time favorites; it's super-heavy, rythmic, and uniformly brilliant from beginning to end. The guitar tone these guys achieve is unbelievable.
There are so many reasons to love this album: songs like Living Dead and Choas Breed are really heavy but have a major groove about them, as well. Evilyn, with it's downbeat time signature, is a major departure from the lack of variation that is so common in this genre. Through The Collonades and Stranger Aeons are just very well written; the composition is fantastic.
L. G. Petrov's vocals are the most massive in the genre, forceful, gutteral, and very agressive. He manages to stay ahead of the music, never falling behind or getting lost in the mix, a bit of a rarity in music this heavy. Add to the equation that the percussion hits hard, but is really tight, and you get one of the most devestating overall sounds out there. Many call it "The Swedish Sound" (these guys are from Sweden) or "death-and-roll" (because it's sort of a synthesis between death metal and more groove-based rock-and-roll), but no matter what you call it, no band has ever done it this well. Period.
There is some disagreement out there about Entombed's other efforts, but one thing is clear: Clandestine is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLICING THROATS AT AN INSANE RATE, April 17, 2006
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
I didnt like Clandestine as much as I did their masterpeice of a debut "Left Hand Path," but it's still a great album. The main thing for me is the vocals... It was actually Nicke Anderson, former drummer, that stepped up & did the vox on the album even though it doesn't say in the CD booklet because LG Petrov was temporarly kicked out of the band. He does have some great sounding vox here & there, but personally I think LG did a better job. That's why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Aside from the vox, the album itself is pretty good. Some songs are slower & chug along instead of total all-out thrash, such as "Evilyn," but that also makes it different & unique. All & all, its a good album well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time classic!, June 19, 2000
By 
James F. Colobus (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
I haven't listened to this CD in years yet I feel compelled to review it. I remember seeing a review of Clandestine in Metal Maniacs when the album first came out. I was in the midst of a few year period during which death metal was all important to me, and during that period, this album stood out above all others, save for possibly Sepultura's Arise. Clandestine is such an intense listening experience - the music is so heavy and the production so perfect - it's THE prime example of early 1990s Swedish death metal. There were other classics out there at the time - Sepultura's Arise and Beneath the Remains out of Brazil, Obituary's Cause of Death out of Florida - and yet, this may just have been the best! I've always thought it odd that Wolverine Blues was such an acclaimed follow-up to Clandestine - I believe to this day that WB marked the end of Entombed as an innovative and compelling band. An unfortunate loss for those of us who loved bands like Entombed, Unleashed, and Desultory back in the early 90s...Fortunately, At the Gates' Slaughter of the Soul would later appear on the scene to make this loss a bit less difficult to bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterful......, April 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
Sweden's leading purveyors of death, stood atop of the heep with this already classic release. Led by drummer extraordinaire, Nicke Anderson, this cd is a vicious, malevolent and apocalyptic cacaphony of death and torment. Unparalelled classics such as "Living Dead, and the head crushing "Chaos Breed", are well mixed with death defying doom-like tracks such as "Evilyn" and the truly MONSTROUS "Crawl", which is the best track on the disc. Coupled with a production that is so unbelievably good, this cd is hands down one of the best death metal discs ever to be released. While Entombed's style shifted (apparently they saw that death metal was already starting to wane)to a more basic, hardcore style, this incredible disc is one to own. Total devastation in the form of complex, diverse and innovative songs. A materpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An advance from Left Hand Path, December 10, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
Clandestine holds the same place in the Entombed catalogue as does Carcass' Necroticism. It's an advance from their debut, but they both would progress further.
One thing to point out, when this disc was released in 1991, there were many criticisms about the vocals. LG and Nicke had a falling out after Left Hand Path. Jonny Dordevic, the bass player from the classic band Carnage, was recruited to be the singer. However, he doesn't sing on Clandestine either. The vocals are none other than Nicke himself. They were guide vocals for Jonny to learn, but he never did. He lasted one tour with Entombed before Nicke asked LG to join Entombed again.
A curious piece of history told to me by Ross of Immolation many many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - an extreme classic!, June 24, 2002
By 
Chris 'raging bill' Burton (either Kent or Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
I got this about a year and a half ago. I don't know why I never got around to reviewing until now, I just never did. But if you're looking to get into death metal (on the assumption that if you're already a fan then you should have heard of Entombed along the way) then this is one of the best examples of the genre.
The greatest part is Nicke Andersson's drumming. He is far superior to many drummers I have heard. And Uffe Cederland and Alex Hellid put out some great riffs, again, superior to many bands who are content with relative simplicity. This is not as heavy as modern death metal. It was released back in 1991 so by its nature it will not be as heavy as Cryptopsy, Hate Eternal or recent Immolation. But it is certiainly some of the best I have heard.
One thing I liked about this that I found missing on a lot of other death metal albums is that the production gives you a deathly feeling - an evil sound that has a strange atmosphere to it (rather than the sensation of having your head kicked in).
All in all, this is great death metal. I've just listened to it for the first time in a while and I had forgotten how good it is. If you like extreme metal, then this is well worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of their career, June 12, 2001
By 
Patrick Stott (Rolleston, Canterbury, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
In their day, Entombed were untouchable. While many consider their debut "Left Hand Path" to be their best, I prefer "Clandestine" as it is heavier and more polished, while retaining the leaden heaviness and aggression of its predecessor. The track "Living Dead" has to be one of the most face ripping openings to an album of all time. No messing around, straight into it. Listening to this album is best done in one sitting, as an entirety, rather than dissected track by track. Even though vocalist LG Petrov was temporarily absent from the band during the recording, the vocals of Alex Hellid (not Johnny Dordevic, as the liner notes say) are the most brutal the band produced in their recording career.
After "Clandestine" Entombed's career took a downward slide into the murky world of "Death n' Roll", almost completely deserting their death metal roots. If only they had continued further down the Left Hand Path...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a small step down, March 11, 2010
This review is from: Clandestine (Audio CD)
mosh parts aside, clandestine rings with eerie ambience and a newfound slayer-esque dissonance that makes it much a more sinister and creepy album than the classic left hand path before it. the cavernous production, conservative horror movie sampling and typically abrasive chainsaw guitar tone only magnify the inexplicable malevolence of this simple material. the only thing that really sucks about it is that petrov was left out of the recording for unknown reasons, leaving nicke's bone-headed, over-the-top performance to fill his shoes. "mwah hah hah hah!"

clandestine wasn't the beginning of the end for this band (that's where wolverine blues comes in), but it sort of feels like an inessential slideshow of nice, crunchy riffage that might have been worked into better and more complete songs with more time/initiative and decent vocals. with some reservations, I call this the last good entombed album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clandestine
Clandestine by Entombed (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.