Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply phenomenal
Zedd has outdone himself with this album.
Unlike a lot of EDM coming out these days, "Clarity" is rarely formulaic, often emotional, and always catchy. It's by far the most sophisticated electronic music record of the year and heralds a bright future for the artist; it's no wonder he's rising fast in the EDM scene as Zedd clearly knows what's up when it comes to...
Published 21 months ago by Oren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'm asking for too much...
Song transitions are a little iffy at times. Unfortunately, this record sounds like it was mastered from the CD. Obviously Zedd only works with digital files, but I was hoping for something with a little more fidelity than an MP3 or CD. Oh well, still hits hard and sounds at least as good as the CD itself.
Published 3 months ago by D. Park


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply phenomenal, October 9, 2012
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
Zedd has outdone himself with this album.
Unlike a lot of EDM coming out these days, "Clarity" is rarely formulaic, often emotional, and always catchy. It's by far the most sophisticated electronic music record of the year and heralds a bright future for the artist; it's no wonder he's rising fast in the EDM scene as Zedd clearly knows what's up when it comes to producing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great CD!, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clarity (MP3 Music)
As a huge fan of dubstep and electronic music (among many), I tend to think that I know good music when I hear it. This is the perfect blend between the two genres and mixes melodic vocals with good hard house/dubstep moments. Absolutely worth the purchase, it's one of my favorite albums now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fastest Run Time Ever. Thanks, Zedd, July 4, 2013
By 
Michael Szalapski (Near Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clarity (MP3 Music)
A guy ran a red light and hit me over a month ago and I've been unable to run. I finally went for my first post-incident run the other day and I ran nearly three miles at a pace of 5 minutes per mile. Even before the accident, I was never that fast. I think a large part of it was due to the amazing music of this album.

The mix of tasty electronic beats with catchy melodies and beautiful voices just grabbed me and lifted me up. It's like all the best elements of pop, edm, and sunshine all mixed together. It's a positive sound that energizes me to my depths. There are some turns in the music where I just smiled at how amazing it sounded and how perfectly the music did its thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album I've Heard This Year, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
This album is the best album I've heard all year. Every song fantastic, listen to it every day, it's marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a Moment of Clarity, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Top Three Songs:
- Clarity (feat. Foxes)
- Lost at Sea (feat. Ryan Tedder)
- Push Play (feat. Miriam Bryant)
To say the least Anton (a.k.a. Zedd) has been very busy lately; with his recent success with his Clarity (2012) album, the song, "Clarity," is huge with the public, working with Lady Gaga on her Artpop (2013) album, and now going on his "Moment of Clarity" world tour. He has come a long way from entering remix contests on Beatport (and wining them) and just releasing singles on minor labels. It is now near the one year anniversary of Clarity and it looks like Zedd is celebrating with the "Moment of Clarity" tour and releasing a deluxe version of Clarity. I think we already know that Clarity is a huge success, but is releasing just two new songs with two old remixes really worth re-releasing Clarity a year later?
We start out this timeless album with the song "Hourglass" which starts out with the sounds of the ticking clock being accompanied with a toy keyboard, is followed by marching band snare with Liz's vocals, goes into a progressive house style of song during the end and fades into the next song. "Shave It Up" is a remake of Zedd's single "Shave It" from the OWSLA label back in 2011. It follows the same basic melody, beat and synths, but it goes from being an electro house track to a classical/orchestral track in the end with a verity of horns and string instruments. The next song is the first confirmed single of Clarity and one of the most popular songs from the album aside from "Clarity, "Spectrum". It has amazing vocals and lyrics from Matthew Koma, plus the unique bass and synths that Zedd is so famous for and adding some stand out melodies that make this song magical. "Lost at Sea" is progressive house track with vocals from Ryan Tedder, basically making it a calmer song compared to "Spectrum" with still out of this world vocals and lyrics, and keeping it very simple with, again, child-like keys and pads that just make you want to let go of your worries and get lost at sea. The flagship song "Clarity" is nothing short of amazing. With Foxes relaxing, but powerful vocals with lyrics you will find yourself repeating because they hold so much meaning, a male choir adding more presence to it and Zedd's own unique style of synths, again, making this song something we don't hear often. "Codec" and "Stache" are both instrumental songs that probably best describe Zedd's electro house style before Clarity. "Codec" is a very jumpy, electro house type song that you can't help yourself to move your head to its drumbeat, electro bass, string plucks come out from now where, and vocal glitches; it is classic Zedd style song. "Stache" really focus on the talking like bass and lead synth that sounds amazing and with a classic electro house drop. Zedd teams up with another amazing female vocalist, Ellie Goulding, and electro house artist, Lucky Date, to make "Falling into the Sky." The song starts out with an amazing grand piano and pads that make you feel like you are in the sky, then you fall with the drop that both Lucky Date and Zedd both put in their own unique style into. We start to calm down with "Follow You Down" with vocals from Bright Lights and progressive house synths that just keep the song upbeat, but at the same time still relaxing to listen to. And we end this album with "Epos" is a great ending track combining all Zedd's styles that you have been hearing on the album, with relaxing synths, out of this world pads, electro bass, the marching band snare and the clock from the beginning to wrap it all up.
But we are also including the two new tracks that Zedd has made and quickly becoming popular; "Stay the Night" with Hayley Williams of Paramore and "Push Play" with vocalist Miriam Bryan, plus the two remixes from Empire of the Sun, "Alive" and Skrillex & The Doors "Breakn' a Sweat". "Stay the Night" follows the same formula from "Clarity," an amazing vocalist, lyrics that are catchy, a piano you can get lost in, and synths that just make you want to dance. "Push Play" is an electro house song that almost breaks the "Clarity" formula that everyone has loved, which I love that Zedd is doing, still having vocals that stand out, an Zedd electro bass which I have been waiting to hear again, but still adding key plucks to keep the song relaxing and pads to keep that "Clarity" feel. The remix of "Alive" from Empire of the Sun fits in with the album and feels very Zedd-like making it more electro house instead of progressive/mainstream house that everyone has been hearing from him lately, glad to hear it again. I haven't been the hugest fan of the "Breakn' a Sweat" remix that Zedd has made, I just personally prefer the original, it shows off that electro house sound that Zedd fans love, but still keeping some of the elements that I like from the original song.
Yeah this is one of my top ten favorite albums of all time. It has enough of Zedd's old and new sound that makes it unique, but at the same time a totally different experience that I have never really hear in an album, more so that this is Zedd's first album and he has done it so well. From "Hourglass" capturing your attention with the soundscape of the clock and the marching band snares to going the traditional house formula that makes you want to dance, to the very end to "Epos" with it going back to the same formula of "Hourglass" making a full circle. The remake of "Shave It" is really great also, showing that even though this is an EDM album it still has classical/orchestral parts. Zedd also does a great job producing tracks that are very festival and mainstream house ("Clarity," "Stay the Night," and "Lost at Sea"), making tracks that has his own electro DNA too it ("Codec," "Stache," and "Fall into the Sky"), and mixing the two together ("Push Play," and "Spectrum"). I do not feel like Zedd didn't need to release "Push Play" and "Stay the Night" on a re-release of Clarity at all, I think they would have done well with just being standalone singles or an EP with remixes. The remixes are good, but again just don't see any reason for being on the deluxe edition. A song that I think really should have been put on this re-release was Zedd's Union Mix of "Clarity" which shows a softer and again classical/orchestral side of the song that we could sorta hear from the song already, but really bring it out and just transforming it all together. Clarity is defiantly one of the most unique albums out there, bridging sides of the popular sides of the EDM genre and the parts that are not shown as often. Zedd is one of those few producers that can do that and so can't wait to see what he does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best EDM CD ever made! Period, January 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clarity (MP3 Music)
Best EDM CD ever made! Period. Zedd's composition through each song is epic. Each song blends into the next and the Album is simply beautiful to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recreation of Zelda, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clarity (MP3 Music)
Zedd is a classically trained musician and you can tell! From "Hourglass" to "Epos", every track matches the thematic chords and rifts, but is unique on its own. Truly amazing for any new electro artist to have this much energy yet consistency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice album, October 11, 2012
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
Refreshing sounds and vocals - Fun album to listen to, def would be a great album to dance to. Clarity and spectrum are my favorite so far in the first listen through of the lp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'M HOUSING, October 10, 2012
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
This is definitely one of the better EDM records I've heard in a while. In this genre you typically find club singles, remix albums, or EPs with 5 or 6 tracks tops. Zedd has put together an excellent feel good house / electro album that is very well produced and includes some quality vocals (the transition from Hourglass to Shave It Up at the start of the album is great). The record is easy to listen to from start to finish and that's a quality that really solidifies an ALBUM for me. If you're not familiar with Zedd, or weren't too fond of his previous work, give this one a spin and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised......kid definitely knows what he's doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPECTACULAR!!!!, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
This album is amazing!!!!! has great vocals and good transition into the rest of the songs. This is one of the best albums that I've bought in weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clarity
Clarity by Zedd (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.