Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Deal!
The Valley of the Dolls along with Beyond the Valley of the Dolls? And its historical bitchfest predecessor, All About Eve? I had to get this and boy am I glad I did. I hadn't seen either of those two films in decades and I laughed my ass off at both. Both are also visually fantastic- especially the Mod Fashion sequences of "The Valley of The Dolls". Perfect timepiece...
Published 22 months ago by Baranabus

versus
3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EXTREMELY Disappointed With 1 out of 4
The reason I purchased this DVD set was "Valley of the Dolls" which is an excellent movie. "All About Eve" turned out to be
a good movie. I have not watched "The Inn of the Sixth Happiness" but I attempted to watch "Beyond the Valley of the Dolls".
How bad could it be? It was written by a movie critic. "Beyond the Valley of the Dolls" is one of the worst movies...
Published on March 27, 2012 by camclm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Deal!, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
The Valley of the Dolls along with Beyond the Valley of the Dolls? And its historical bitchfest predecessor, All About Eve? I had to get this and boy am I glad I did. I hadn't seen either of those two films in decades and I laughed my ass off at both. Both are also visually fantastic- especially the Mod Fashion sequences of "The Valley of The Dolls". Perfect timepiece. And there are so many quotable lines in both -- "They say I'm self-destructive --- SO WHAT?" and the classic "It's my scene and it freaks me out!" (from "Beyond".)

Roger Ebert's commentary on "Beyond" explains a lot about this bizarre movie- hard to believe that he wrote such a weird film as he seems rather staid. He talks about how he and Russ Meyer wrote it on the fly, satirizing the first film's over-the-top melodrama. It makes sense too, since this non-sequel's twists and turns are almost random and pointless. It also explains the peculiar script style; how all the characters openly declare their motivations and act in a somewhat old-fashioned acting style for the 60s.

And the all-female band is actually, in its hokey Hollywood way, pretty great. There are a few really catchy songs and you can tell they had some kind of Grace Slick-type of vocalist as a model for their sound. And of course, the musical numbers are played against the most awesome montages ever. When Ebert explains Meyer's montage style, you really notice how perfect the overly-stylized tactic works. Probably not workable in any other kind of genre, also, so this film's a rare treat.

I have no idea what the Ingrid Bergman movie is doing in this set; other than maybe this was intended to be marketed as a collection of 'women's films' or proto-chick-flicks. Or perhaps they felt the need to balance out all the decadent bitchery with some wholesomeness.

And of course the original "Valley" is a top-notch Mod Showbiz Melodrama. Patty Duke really gets all the best lines in it and gets to really let it hit the fan. And the Rehab musical sequence is truly unbelievable. You will die laughing; they don't make movies like this anymore- in fact, this might be the only one of its kind they ever made! Ridiculous, yet so tightly directed and edited- the opening 'leaving home' sequence sets the tone for the stylized production of the rest of the film. You are watching True ShowBiz, honey. Now it's common for Hollywood to cover its own darkside, but this was supposedly ground-breaking and it really pulls out all the stops. Sure, stars go to rehab all the time now, but do they sing in their wheelchairs --waking from dementia? I think not.

Anyway, this set was a real find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars four classic Fox films at a bargain price, December 2, 2010
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
Fox Classics has released many titles from their back-catalogue in four-movie "quad" box collections. It's a cheaper option than buying each title individually, and does help save valuable shelf space as well.

ALL ABOUT EVE:
The bitchiest, back-bitingest backstage drama of them all! Bette Davis and Anne Baxter are in peak form in Joseph L. Mankiewicz's most delicious of movies. Stage legend Margo Channing (Davis) is the idol of Eve (Baxter), a devoted fan who soon worms her way into Margo's life - but aims to eclipse her as the greatest star on Broadway.

BEYOND THE VALLEY OF THE DOLLS:
Film critic Roger Ebert penned the script for this tawdry Russ Meyer sex romp, which pertains to be a sequel to the Jacqueline Susann story, but only really shares it's title. The movie "unzips" the crazed, debauched lifestyles of the California music set, with John La Zar in a fruity performance as 'Z-Man'.

THE INN OF THE SIXTH HAPPINESS:
Following up her acclaimed turn as "Anastasia", Ingrid Bergman again charms as real-life missionary Gladys Aylward ("The Little Woman"). The movie somewhat embellishes Aylward's own life story, creating a fictional romance with a Eurasian army captain (Curt Jurgens); but it's a fascinating story.

VALLEY OF THE DOLLS:
Jacqueline Susann's bestselling pulp fiction masterpiece lost a lot of it's bite in the eventual movie version, but the performances are super. Patty Duke is Neely O'Hara, the "born in a trunk" showbiz whiz who soon dissolves into pills and booze, Barbara Parkins plays Anne Welles, the good girl from Lawrenceville who gets mixed up with the wrong kind of guy; and Sharon Tate is "untalented" Jennifer North, in perhaps the most eerie performance of her short career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd mating of movies.., December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
Odd mating of movies, but worth the cost of admission for "Inn of the Sixth Happiness" alone. Then there's Bet Davis' line "Fasten your seat belts, it's going to be a bumpy evening." And The Dolls flicks ? Pure camp, starring Dolly Parton-like Barbie dolls. What's not to like ? But who ever thought of this combination of films ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
A sobering reminder of that time period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the Dolls! And the Price!, March 3, 2014
By 
DCC "DC-in-NVA" (Alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
I read with some bemusement the reviewer here who thought ONE of these 4 films was "one of the worst movies I ever saw" and was "EXTREMELY disappointed" and used all caps to prove it! Can you guess the one she was referring too? I can, because that's the ONLY reason I bought this collection! That, my friends, is what happens when the average white-bread stay-at-home viewer is confronted with Russ Meyer for the first time in the camouflage of a seemingly conventional 4 film collection! (Word to the wise, stay away from anything with the name Todd Solondz in the credits, he of fame also garnered through a film with Doll in the title as well)

All About Eve is an old-school classic, true. Inn of Sixth Happiness--well, never heard of that one. Valley of the Dolls is a true soap-operatic potboiler that was outdated when it came out! In its own unintentional campy way it IS a classic of its kind--it is after all based on a Jacqueline Susann novel--not exactly JD Salinger material here.

But Beyond The Valley of the Dolls was built from the ground up as a satire of the then-current hippie/hipster So. California lifestyle with the Valley of the Dolls-women seeking fame and fortune-formula as a foundation, and it accomplishes this brilliantly. Even today this movie is still relevant--as witnessed in the recent popular Austin Powers films, for which this provided much of the blueprint and is even quoted verbatim: "This is my happening and it freaks me out!". Usually there is a span of years before a satirical eye can be effectively turned on a specific era like this--i.e. Dazed and Confused was not made in 1976, but some 20 years later. But BVD was covering it as is was happening--a rarity to say the least.

Add to this, the fact that you have some pretty decent music on the soundtrack that could stand by itself, as well as other interesting themes for a film released in 1970, such as a Manson-like rampage, a porn actress, homosexuality, transgender issues, drug use, a Mohammed Ali type figure, a Phil Spector type character who spouts Shakespearean dialog, an actor who was Tim Curry before there was a Tim Curry etc., etc.. Here is one film that definitely bears repeated viewing. While its no masterpiece of the times ala Midnight Cowboy or Five Easy Pieces, it is nonetheless a standout cult film of the late 60s/early 70s. And it's damn entertaining as well.

BTW, the "official" solo release of this film is a whopping $50 here on Amazon. The version presented here is top quality visual-wise, and while it may not be loaded with extra goodies galore, you can't beat the $13 price tag. A definite best buy purchase for pervs on a budget!

Note: Meyer even manages to sneak in some of his long running stock characters into this mainstream release, i.e. Martin Borman, Erica Gavin and Charles Napier (the only RM company actor to have a "real" mainstream acting career post-Meyer).

Additional note and spoiler alert:
In this film, the Phil Spector character actually kills a girl by putting a gun into her mouth and firing it.
The real-life Phil Spector was accused of this exact same crime in 2003 in the shooting death of actress Lana Clarkson and was found guilty and sentenced to 19 to life in prison--some 13 years AFTER the events portrayed in this film! (There is an excellent HBO movie starring Al Pacino as Spector which covers this case that is definitely worth watching)
How's THAT for weird?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Oldies, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
Classics.... well worth having if you like old films, it is a very good collection! I would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
Loved all about Eve, Valley of the Dolls and The Inn of the 6th Happiness, still cant finish watching beyond the valley of the dolls. But 3 out of 4 movies is pretty good when buying a boxed set such as this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT COLLECTION, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
FOUR WONDERFUL MOVIES WITH GREAT STORIES/EITHER IRONIC OR SOMETIMES COMEDIC, THESE CLASSIC MOVIES ARE IN A CLASS BY THEMSELVES. I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some films endure, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
Four filmes are included in this set. I watched Valley of the Dolls after rereding the book. It was then that I remembered that I didn't like the film when it came out, and it still is not better with time. However, All about Eve is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All About Women, June 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Quad Set 9 (All About Eve / Beyond the Valley of the Dolls / The Inn of the Sixth Happiness / Valley of the Dolls) (DVD)
Only possible common theme is these are dramas about women.
Be warned that the two movies with Doll in the title are
about substance abuse, nudity and sexual content, language, etc.
The Doll movies and All About Eve have to do with entertainment business.
While The Inn of the Sixth Happiness is an inspirational story
about a missionary type lady who has such love for the Chinese.

All About Eve is about an aspiring actress who buddies
up with an aging actress and her group of friends.
This 1950 movie stars Bette Davis and Anne Baxter.
It also has Marilyn Monroe in one of her first roles.
This is B&W, 138 minutes and in full screen.

Beyond the Valley of the Dolls is about three girls who come to
Hollywood to make it big, but find only sex, drugs and sleaze.
This 1970 movie was written by film critic Roger Ebert as a quasi-sequel.
This is color, 109 minutes and in letterbox.

The Inn of the Sixth Happiness is the true story of an Englishwoman
who was told she was not qualified to be a missionary to China.
She uses her own money and resources to get there and stay there.
During wartime when the Japanese invade she travels through the
mountains with one hundred children to save them from death.
This 1958 movie stars Ingrid Bergman.
This is color, 158 minutes and in letterbox.

Valley of the Dolls is film version of Jacqueline Susann's best-selling
novel chronicling the rise and fall of three young ladies in show business.
This 1967 movie stars Barbara Parkens and Patty Duke
as well as Susan Hayward and Sharon Tate.
This is color, 123 minutes and in letterbox.
Includes Gotta Get Off This Merry-Go-Round: Sex, Dolls and Showtunes documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.