Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE HALL, TWO TRIOS & TWO QUARTETS, August 5, 2011
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
This reissue includes the first two albums on which Jim Hall was the leader, namely "Jazz Guitar" recorded in January 1957, on which he was joined by Carl Perkins on piano and Red Mitchell on bass; and "Good Friday Blues" by the Modest Jazz Trio from April 1960, on which Red Mitchell switched to piano and Red Kelly took his place on bass. That is supplemented by seven of the eleven tracks from the album "Folk Jazz" recorded in February & November 1959 by the Bill Smith Quartet, in which the clarinetist leader was joined by Hall, Monty Budwig on bass, and Shelly Manne on drums, and all seven tracks from the Paul Desmond album "First Place Again" from September 1959, with support from Hall, Percy Heath on bass, and Connie Kay on drums.

My preference is for the two Hall-led trio albums, where the guitarist is primus inter pares, and where his cool but lyrical style is well-matched by the piano and bass accompaniment. The result is often low-key but always swinging, and highly satisfying. On the quartet albums the piano has been replaced by drums, and the balance has shifted with the introduction of new leaders, both on reeds. The "Folk Jazz" album is something of a curio, since Bill Smith is not a familiar name, and the tunes are not natural jazz vehicles. In the original sleeve note, which is reproduced here, Nat Hentoff writes "...he is not afraid of a good, devastating consonance..." and that's amply borne out here. Paul Desmond needs no introduction, and devotees of his singular style of playing will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pleasant music for a nice price, guitar-dominant but with variety too, April 21, 2012
By 
William E. Adams (Midland, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
Jim Hall was one of the five or six top jazz guitarists of the '50's and 60's, keeping company with Tal Farlow, Barney Kessel, Wes Montgomery, Johnny Smith and several others. This package gives you very good Hall-led tracks, some standards, some originals. There is an interesting clarinet-led LP included which covers traditional folk songs, and quite nice sessions led by Brubeck sax master Paul Desmond. So the guitar is prominent, but the set offers nice alternatives as well. If you like the jazz of this era, and guitar in particular, you'll love the music here, and you just can't beat the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Classic Albums Plus-Jazz Guitar/Good Friday, April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
I purchase this for the Paul Desmond portion. Fantastic improvement over other reissues of the Desmond.
This may be best CD pressing of 1960 Desmond I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOWN THE HALL WITH JIM & PAUL, December 17, 2012
By 
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
I don't know why they call this three Classic Albums +....It's digitally remastered (great sound BTW) & actually from 4 of Jim's vinyls.But I don't want to be too picky.
This has to be one of my top 10 CD sets (2) where the great Jim Hall is either feaured as a sideman or leader. As a former jazz musician (guitar) I have about 100 jazz guitar albums *(I have about 1000 jazz CDs). There's no point in talking about the tunes on these CDs. Jim ranks right up there with Kenny Burrel, Ed Bickert, Joe Pass, Tal Farlow; the list goes on & on.
Of all of the guitarists in the world, I would never say who I think is the best.
However, I will say that Jim is the most creative. He has done much experimentation, & I didn't like that too much. The first album I got by Jim Hall was called "Two Jims & Zoot." Still one of my favs today. You should get it as well.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master at work, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
How can you go wrong on three Jim Hall albums for the price? I'm trying to learn guitar and I wanted to pick up a sampling of great jazz guitar music from the postwar period. Jim Hall is near the top of my list, which includes Wes Montgomery, Joe Pass, Barney Kessel, Tal Farlow, Kenny Burrell, Grant Green, Johnny Smith, Herb Ellis, George Benson, and the two older giants Charlie Christian and Django Reinhardt (I'm sure I'm omitting people). Anyway, anything with Jim Hall is going to be pretty good. I don't claim these are the best Jim Hall albums - I couldn't tell you which ones are best - but with Jim Hall it's all good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tunes by a Master, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
This collection contains a diverse selction of great tunes performed by one of the greatest jazz guitarists. He doesn't go for speed and flash but delivers great arrangements and an impeccably clean sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Hall, October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
Good early cuts by Jim Hall , but only about half really show his best guitar work. Good side men on most albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worthwhiile collection, September 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
I love Jim Hall, but had only been familiar with his work in the 70s and 80s. This set of albums gave me a great overview of his earlier work. I especially like that Jimm Hall is not the leader on all of these records, because it also allowed me to hear him as a sideman; and he rocks at this role! I especially love the way he comps with a very scratchy-acoustic sound. Finally, I would say that the Bill Smith album 'Folk Jazz' is the unexpected highlight of this set of records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Smith's playing fills a nice niche in the history of jazz clarinet and where ..., July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 3 Classic Albums Plus - Jim Hall Jazz Guitar / Good Friday (Audio CD)
Jim Hall is always interesting no matter who he plays with. Bill Smith's playing fills a nice niche in the history of jazz clarinet and where jazz was going at the time.
The revelation is Paul Desmond who plays with great fire and imagination.This is not the mellow, "dry verrmouth" Desmond of the 60's and 70's. It makes you wonder what kind of music he would have produced had he stuck to this earlier path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.