Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Country Christmas
Here Willie sings the traditional Christmas songs , but his voice makes it feel like he is right there by the tree singing to you in person . Very relaxing . Hope to meet him in person some day , Any Willie fan will love this Cd .
Published 22 months ago by L. Mclott

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed.
I truly LOVE the sincerity and depth of emotion that Willie Nelson can deliver in so many of his ballads. My husband is a big fan, too. So I thought it would be wonderful to hear his interpretations of classic Christmas songs.

Wow, were we disappointed!

It sounds to us like Willie was just going through the motions on this CD. His great heart...
Published 20 months ago by Lisa Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Country Christmas, October 14, 2012
By 
L. Mclott (Milledgeville, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Here Willie sings the traditional Christmas songs , but his voice makes it feel like he is right there by the tree singing to you in person . Very relaxing . Hope to meet him in person some day , Any Willie fan will love this Cd .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas Album - if you don't already own "Pretty Paper", November 26, 2012
By 
Glenn Compton "grcompton" (Walnut Creek, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I've not yet listened to this, but don't need to to know this is a great album - I can tell because 12 of the 16 tracks are from the Willie Nelson Christmas Album I've owned for years, "Pretty Paper." When I saw the album listed, I did not think to check the tracks, I just knew it would be good; for those of you who also own "Pretty Paper" on CD, hopefully this saved you a few dollars for an alternate album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie Nelson's Classic Christmas Album ~~ I LOVE IT !!!, November 23, 2012
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Willie Nelson almost needs no introduction; he has been performing for decades and he has released yet another wonderful album! This CD has nothing but excellent holiday music and I couldn't agree more with the reviewer who writes that it feels as if he's singing every song special just for you. It's really a great CD; and the sound quality is excellent.

"A Dreamer's Holiday" has a charming melody and Willie sings this flawlessly. It's a great start to the album! The Irving Berlin standard "White Christmas" has Willie playing just a little bit with the tempo and keys to put his own stamp on it; and it all holds its own very well. "Here Comes Santa Claus" is a playful tune with a creative musical arrangement that fits in well with Willie Nelson's vocals and "Jingle Bells" gets a fine treatment from Willie! "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer" gets a fine treatment as again Willie plays a bit with tempo and keys to make it his own and "Winter Wonderland" is awesome.

The other great tracks include "Frosty the Snowman" which I could never tire of hearing when Willie does it; the beautiful "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town;" "Pretty Paper" with that country flavor to it; a fine rendition of "Blue Christmas" that would certainly make Elvis smile; "Christmas Blues" with yet another fantastic musical arrangement; the classic "O Little Town Of Bethlehem" that Willie delivers without letting go of a single superfluous note; a beautiful "Away in a Manger" and "Joy to the World" that have Bobbie Nelson performing along with Willie; the joyful "What a Wonderful World" that has always been one of my very favorite ballads and the CD ends with Willie Nelson performing "Silent Night, Holy Night." It leaves me wanting more!

Willie Nelson fans should consider this a must-have for their collections; and anyone who appreciates five star holiday Christmas music would do well to get this, too. The more casual fan can choose to download just the MP3 sound files that they want; but I still suggest they get the entire album on CD; this music is all THAT good. Thank you for yet another excellent album, Willie Nelson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded version of Willie's classic Pretty Paper album, December 13, 2012
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I owned Pretty Paper on vinyl. It was re-issued on CD with its original running order, but I didn't buy it, nor did I buy Willie's other Christmas album, Hill Country Christmas. I was therefore pleased to discover this compilation.

All the tracks from Pretty paper are here, but I don't think they are in the same running order and in any case, they are not all consecutive. Added to those tracks are one from Without A Song (A dreamer's holiday), two from Hill Country Christmas (Away in a manger, Joy to the world) and the title track from What a Wonderful World.

The original Pretty Paper album (tracks 2 to 12 and 16 here) was filled with mostly familiar songs, the main exception being Christmas blues, an instrumental that Willie and the album's producer Booker T Jones wrote together. Willie sings on all the other tracks. The original title track is a song that Willie wrote in the sixties that became a UK top ten pop hit for Roy Orbison. Even so, it has not been recorded by as many people as the other familiar songs featured on the album.

The other tracks are all good, although the style of A dreamer's holiday doesn't really fit with the other songs, but I'm happy to live with that. All in all, this is an excellent reissue of Pretty paper with extra tracks/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mellow, joyous celebration of Christmas classics!, December 1, 2012
By 
Denise R. (Pacific Northwest, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I received this CD as a gift, and having enjoyed Willie Nelson's music for a long time, was eager to give it a listen. I don't have his earlier Christmas album, so looked forward to hear his take on Christmas classics.

The album reflects Willie's usual laid-back style. There are no big surprises here, but that's OK. It's just what you would expect from a Willie Nelson Christmas album - no fireworks but just real solid, sincerely delivered Christmas classics - plus a couple you may not be as familiar with.

There's a varied line-up of songs, including the best-loved fun, sentimental and religious Christmas tunes.

First up is "A Dreamer's Holiday." Though lesser-known than many of the other songs here, it dates back to 1949 and has been recorded by many. "A Dreamer's Holiday" is a fanciful tune about the ideal world and holiday; Willie's version is wistful, and heartfully delivered.

Willie's also given us the fun Christmas songs we all remember from childhood: Here Comes Santa Claus, Jingle Bells, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Frosty the Snowman, and Santa Claus is Coming to Town. Willie stamps them with his own inimitable style,

There are the favorite wistful and sentimental songs for family and loved ones, too: Winter Wonderland, Blue Christmas, Christmas Blues, and Winter Wonderland. Sung by Willie, each seems deeply felt and directed just at you.

"Pretty Paper," the title track from Willie's earlier Christmas album, is also here. It was first a hit for Roy Orbison (who co-wrote it), and while superficially about Christmas shopping, a close listen to the lyrics reveals it's really a moving reflection on the homeless, who are lost and ignored amidst all the holiday hustle and bustle.

"What a Wonderful World" isn't strictly a holiday song, but its focus on appreciating life's blessings makes it a natural fit.

The last portion of the CD is mostly devoted to traditional religious songs: O Little Town of Bethlehem, Away in a Manger, Joy to the World, and the final track, Silent Night. These songs celebrate the true meaning of Christmas and the reverence and joy in Willie's voice drives their message home.

Willie's voice, like your favorite pair of old blue jeans, is comforting and warm. The way he sings on this album is mellow, personal and intimate - just the right fit for the traditional Christmas classics we all love. I enjoy Willie's voice, and this is an album I'll return to again and again - a new favorite in my Christmas CD collection.

Whether you're already a fan of Willie, or just want a good album of Christmas music, I think you'll like this. It would be a great album for cozy evenings - or anytime you'd like some warm, relaxing music to make you feel good and amp up your Christmas spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie Being Willie, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Gosh what a great selection of songs here and vocals show that Willie has good range and a style made for this kind of music. I was impressed and was amazed at such talent here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my favorite Christmas album. The songs are laid back and relaxing. My favorite is Dreamers Holiday, which I have on my playlist for year-round, not just Christmastime. Same goes for What a Wonderful World. Willie Nelson is comfort food for the soul, and I just love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calm and comforting, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Great warm sounds from Willie for the holiday season! Nice for sitting by the fire with a cup of warm cocoa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music!, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I gave this to my dad for Christmas and he loves it! Willie Nelson is his favorite and he has just about every album that Willie ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Carols and songs sung like you would not believe....true heart and true feelings...onya Willie, biggest heart ever...., December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This album is a Christmas album which can be heard any day of the year......sung with feelings from the biggest heart in the world.....everybody should hear Willie sing these songs at least once in their life....then they will be a better person.....an album full of songs from the heart and feelings to warm you all year round......I am so lucky to have this Album in my collection....it will be truely treasured...............xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Classic Christmas Album
The Classic Christmas Album by Willie Nelson (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.