Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$9.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

CLASSIC CHRISTMAS FROM THE ED SULLIVAN SHOW is a tightly edited program of well-preserved color and b&w film clips of some of the biggest showbiz names of the 1950s-70s. This delighfully nostalgic blend of music, comedy and other Sullivan memories is sure to put you in the holiday spirit!

CONTENTS:
[2:30] JOHNNY MATHIS - "Sleigh Bells"
[2:17] THE MUPPETS as reindeer, do a "snow dance"
[2:14] THE SUPREMES - "My Favorite Things"
[2:00] RICH LITTLE - "A Christmas Carol" (impressions of George Burns, Jack Benny and Ed Sullivan)
[3:00] JINGLE BELLS (pastiche): Bill Dana leads audience as Jose Jimenez (b&w), Paul Anka, Shari Lewis (b&w), Count Basie, Ames Brothers (b&w)
[2:28] BING CROSBY discusses Irving Berlin and sings "White Christmas"
[1:08] ROSS BAGDASARIAN as "David Seville" lip syncs "The Christmas Song" with Chipmunk puppets (edited-b&w)
[2:00] ALAN KING - his wife's Christmas list
[2:17] OBERNKIRCHEN CHILDREN'S CHOIR - "Kleine Glöcken," "O Come All Ye Faithful"
[2:20] SENOR WENCAS - ventriloquist and hand puppets
[_:39] CHRISTMAS NYC 1960 (song: "Jingle Bell Rock," Bobby Helms)
[2:34] ED SULLIVAN SHOW AT GUANTANAMO BAY, CUBA (Connie Francis sings "I'll Be Home For Christmas") (b&w)
[2:18] DAVID FRYE - "The Night Before Christmas" (impressions of LBJ, Kirk Douglas, Richard Nixon and RFK)
[1:50] MAHALIA JACKSON - "Sweet Little Jesus Boy" (b&w)
[2:30] THE COWSILLS - "The Little Drummer Boy," "The Christmas Song" (edited)
[1:56] BROOK BENTON - "This Time of Year" (b&w)
[2:40] ARTHUR GODFREY & THE MUPPETS - "It's Christmas Tomorrow"
[2:26] GEORGE CARLIN - Christmas '67 weather forecast, with Al Sleet, the Hippie-Dippy weatherman
[2:25] ROGER WILLIAMS - "Santa Claus is Coming to Town" (b&w)
[1:16] JOAN RIVERS does a song that names all the holidays
[1:51] TOPO GIGIO wishes all "Peace on Earth" (with Ed Sullivan)
55 comments| 174 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2005
Clip shows tend to bore me, but this one is creatively edited from years of Christmas Specials. These mostly color vignettes are a delight for those who remember the performers as well as younger folks who may not have been around.

True variety abounds with song, including a German children's choir that sings in English more perfect than one hears from many American choirs, and delightful comedy bits. This collection is a charmer.

The brief 47 minutes flys along with not a dull moment. Included is a clip from Bing Crosby's original movie rendition of "White Christmas" disolved into a live performance. Rich Little gives a classic remembrance of George Burns, Jack Benny and Ed Sullivan himself. (Sullivan, who visually projected as very tall, was in fact not tall and we briefly see that as he stands alongside Little.)

Connie Frances, who knew how to take the time to "sell" a song, is featured in a show Sullivan took to Cuba to entertain our troops. Ventriloquists, Sheri Lews and Senor Wences are there as well as a couple of classic Muppet performances and Alvin and the Chipmonks. Lots of notstalgia and chock full of legends: Count Basie, Mahalia Jackson, Johnny Mathis, The Supremes. Each vignette is brief but satisfying with a perfect flow from one piece to another.

A genuine time capsule, delighful and uplifting. Nicely done. I'm so impressed, I'm ordering multiple copies to give as stocking stuffers next year.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 18, 2007
This DVD packs a lot of holiday cheer into just 46 minutes; although some of the segments are edited, it flows nicely, and is mellow and entertaining, especially for Baby Boomers who remember growing up with Ed's show on Sunday nights. Lots of music and comedy bits, though nothing really rock & roll. Best of all I got this sealed, new DVD from an Amazon vendor for just over $2! This DVD is enjoyable to watch, but would be a perfect background for a Christmas Eve or party- definitely better than those Yule Log videos!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
I am a huge fan of Christmas shows, new and old. I bought this expecting some great "vintage" performances. There were a few good ones, but many were actually cut off. A few were also just shown in a quick snippet. I was seriously shocked when the end came. I felt a bit cheated. There had to have been tons of performances that could've been included. Just disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
The unfortunate thing here is that the sorry excuse for a distributor called "SOFA Entertainment" has the rights to anything related to Ed Sullivan. The show itself has such great history and a magnitude of major talent appearances that unfortunately will never been seen by younger eyes. The fact that SOFA has "control" over everything is just a sin. Everything they manage to release is careless and clearly pieced together by special monkeys.

I took a chance on this release, and bought it used for under three bucks, with free shipping, so SOFA didn't get my dime. The DVD and content sounds great, however, it's a hack job of poorly edited pieces and nothing remotely flowing in continuity. Incomplete performances, unnecessary patter, and what seems like a plethora of promising entertainment for the holidays, you get about 30 minutes of sitcom flashback style nothingness. No clip is more than 3 minutes. Many are just over a minute. Thanks?

The list price is a joke, but if you can get it for what I did, it's not much of a loss. But it's more of a let-down as it just teases you with what it should have been. I question the positive reviews, as seriously, how could they be real? We can only hope that SOFA goes bankrupted soon and gets taken over by a real distributor.

As a little bonus tidbit of info on SOFA entertainment. They are responsible for getting hundreds of YouTube accounts terminated, and still go strong making false claims. One in particular is the viral video that inspired Beyonce's "Put A Ring On It" music video. The original dance routine was by Gwen Verdon, and the footage was from the Ed Sullivan Show. The only difference was that people replaced the audio from the show, and added their own music. So, this pathetic company terminated accounts on footage (not audio) of three women dancing, ending the massive "Rick-Rolled" type viral video trend in it's tracks. Of course, they never uploaded their footage or offered it, so, what is part of history, they keep taking away. Just one example and warning to steer clear of anything released by these dolts.

Yes, verified purchase. But not without regret.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
Just like I remember. I bought this for my 80+ year old mother so we could enjoy Christmas the way we used to. My father passed many years ago and it is still difficult around holiday time. Mom doesn't remember a lot and is not interested in much, except music. This was a wonderful gift, and really lifted her spirits. She even sang along.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2011
Polished acts, sets that showcase the stars and the great Ed Sullivan anchoring it all. A truly enjoyable 45 minutes (approx)Velvetty voices, energetic acts-love the interaction between Roger Williams, Ed and an ensemble cast. Topo, Shari Lewis, the Muppets- they entertained me just as much watching this now as they did over 40 years ago. Can't wait to share with the grandkids. Happy American Christmas Circa 1960s.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2011
I loved watching this dvd, Ed Sullivan was definitely a different individual and I never knew growing up how demanding (from what I have read over the years)he could be, but I could see it re-watching this show. He was really great at hosting a variety show. This dvd is a warm holiday show to watch during Christmas Season, I loved watching this dvd and enjoyed seeing some comedians that I haven't seen in such a long time. If you where born in the 50's and grew up watching Ed Sullivan, this dvd is worth your money just to have and watch during Christmas season.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
The Ed Sullivan Show is a classic program from TV's past. While this isn't an actual single program, but bits and pieces from the 23 year run from TOAST OF THE TOWN to when it became THE ED SULLIVAN SHOW. Back when people wished each other Merry Christmas instead of the whimpy and gutless Happy Holidays, there were entertainers the likes of Bing Crosby, Rich Little, David Frye. Below is the list of acts.
[2:30] JOHNNY MATHIS - "Sleigh Bells"
[2:17] THE MUPPETS as reindeer, do a "snow dance"
[2:14] THE SUPREMES - "My Favorite Things"
[2:00] RICH LITTLE - "A Christmas Carol" (impressions of George Burns, Jack Benny and Ed Sullivan)
[3:00] JINGLE BELLS (pastiche): Bill Dana leads audience as Jose Jimenez (b&w), Paul Anka, Shari Lewis (b&w), Count Basie, Ames Brothers (b&w)
[2:28] BING CROSBY discusses Irving Berlin and sings "White Christmas"
[1:08] ROSS BAGDASARIAN as "David Seville" lip syncs "The Christmas Song" with Chipmunk puppets (edited-b&w)
[2:00] ALAN KING - his wife's Christmas list
[2:17] OBERNKIRCHEN CHILDREN'S CHOIR - "Kleine Glöcken," "O Come All Ye Faithful"
[2:20] SENOR WENCAS - ventriloquist and hand puppets
[_:39] CHRISTMAS NYC 1960 (song: "Jingle Bell Rock," Bobby Helms)
[2:34] ED SULLIVAN SHOW AT GUANTANAMO BAY, CUBA (Connie Francis sings "I'll Be Home For Christmas") (b&w)
[2:18] DAVID FRYE - "The Night Before Christmas" (impressions of LBJ, Kirk Douglas, Richard Nixon and RFK)
[1:50] MAHALIA JACKSON - "Sweet Little Jesus Boy" (b&w)
[2:30] THE COWSILLS - "The Little Drummer Boy," "The Christmas Song" (edited)
[1:56] BROOK BENTON - "This Time of Year" (b&w)
[2:40] ARTHUR GODFREY & THE MUPPETS - "It's Christmas Tomorrow"
[2:26] GEORGE CARLIN - Christmas '67 weather forecast, with Al Sleet, the Hippie-Dippy weatherman
[2:25] ROGER WILLIAMS - "Santa Claus is Coming to Town" (b&w)
[1:16] JOAN RIVERS does a song that names all the holidays
[1:51] TOPO GIGIO wishes all "Peace on Earth" (with Ed Sullivan)

There is no way a person can watch this show and not smile, and sigh over what Christmas used to mean. This DVD, an Ed Sullivan Christmas is worth every penny, and if you're my age, the memories will be bittersweet. My wife, kids, and I totally enjoyed this little gem. Get it, share it with your family, and enjoy the memories.

I would like to thank the review written by Annie Van Auken from which I lifted the contents of the DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2014
The dvd would not play on my regular dvd player, a 1 year old Pioneer. It did play on my 10 year old dvd/vhs Magnavox. Content- nearly all were short clips of the singing artists with a BIG part going to bad comedy about Christmas. Good to show to little kids who are ignorant but terrible to those who had good memories of the original shows.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.