Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic & Fascinating Homes
Simple picturesque bungalows, quaint thatched stone and stucco huts, or elaborate marble and plaster palaces - all types of homes have been called a cottage. ~pg. 8

Dreaming about a hideaway bungalow or Victorian mansion seems equally appealing. In "Classic Cottages" an entire world of intricately decorated homes await. The interiors are fascinating on their...
Published on January 16, 2005 by Rebecca of Amazon

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weak background
This book does not contain much cottage background material. I was expecting some photographic history from England...none to be found. Many pictures from subdivisions in the US. A cottage is not just what looks cute.
Published on February 18, 2007 by Bubba


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic & Fascinating Homes, January 16, 2005
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
Simple picturesque bungalows, quaint thatched stone and stucco huts, or elaborate marble and plaster palaces - all types of homes have been called a cottage. ~pg. 8

Dreaming about a hideaway bungalow or Victorian mansion seems equally appealing. In "Classic Cottages" an entire world of intricately decorated homes await. The interiors are fascinating on their own and could give you many ideas for decorating. The room from a Seattle, WA home is stunning and the remodeled Victorian home has creative gardening ideas.

The houses are divided into specific categories:

Gingerbread Gems
Bungalettes
Gnome Sweet Home
Rolling Bungalows
Enclaves
Contemporary Cottages

If you are dreaming of an escape to simpler times or have been dreaming of a rose-covered romantic bungalow, this might be the book for you. I loved the historical information and the following pictures:

Anne Hathaway's Cottage
Gothic Rose-covered cottage
1883 Cape May Homes from New Jersey
The Lyford House, Tiburon, CA
Queen Anne jewels with gingerbread ornamentation and stained glass
Mediterranean-style brick bungalows
Covered Wagons
Fairy Tale Cottages

While looking through this book my heart just felt like it was melting. These houses are adorable and it is like a fantasy book of dream houses for the true romantic. I want a castle, but maybe I'd settle for a cottage like the one in Spokane Washington with ivy growing all over the walls.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, May 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
My favorite part of the book were the pictures. Nice selection of both the interior and exterior elements of a wide range of cottages. Not an idea book, but an inspiring and relaxing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cottage Dreams, August 3, 2007
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book offering beautiful photographs of various types of cottages that can be found throughout the country. The author organizes the selections into several different types of cottages (see an earlier review for a great break down of the categories)and offers some history on each. Perfect for getting comfy in your favorite chair and passing a pleasant hour or two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book!, August 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
I love this book! Beautiful photos of entire rooms - just what I like. This is one of my favorite interior design books of all time, and I have hundreds! there is a book simply entitled "Cottages" by Coleman and Keister that is in the same class. these two are just about my favorite books of all time. if you are interested in classy cottage style and excellent photos of beautiful homes, these books are for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weak background, February 18, 2007
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
This book does not contain much cottage background material. I was expecting some photographic history from England...none to be found. Many pictures from subdivisions in the US. A cottage is not just what looks cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
very pretty photos and I can lose myself in these places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes (Hardcover)
Great book and very helpful. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes
Classic Cottages: Simple, Romantic Homes by Douglas Keister (Hardcover - April 8, 2004)
$39.95 $31.55
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.