Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating !!!
Yes , there are a lot of funny things from previous decades in these educational films . I would think this would be an excellent disc to play at a large gathering or party . It's a very stimulating conversation prompter . As a huge fan of fiction films from previous decades i feel this is an absolutely fascinating glimpse at clothing , hairstyles , posture , conduct ,...
Published on May 2, 2010 by Hammer + Jazz

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some funny shorts, some are just strange
When I first saw this collection, I thought the shorts were all from 1948, and was surprised when they started discussing waiting for sex, and more adult themes from the 60s-80s.

"Wonders of Reproduction" is basically a guy talking about how his fish reproduce (which has nothing to do with humans, and is kind of a let-down from the title). "Why Study...
Published on October 14, 2009 by K. Heerschap


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating !!!, May 2, 2010
This review is from: How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982) (DVD)
Yes , there are a lot of funny things from previous decades in these educational films . I would think this would be an excellent disc to play at a large gathering or party . It's a very stimulating conversation prompter . As a huge fan of fiction films from previous decades i feel this is an absolutely fascinating glimpse at clothing , hairstyles , posture , conduct , screen writing and so on from these times past . I don't know if it'll be you're thing but you certainly owe yourself at least a rental if curious . Strongly recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting films, March 19, 2010
This review is from: How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982) (DVD)
This collection of old educational films can be funny and bothersome at the same time. In some cases I found I was learning WAY more than I really needed to. Still, a good product and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982) (DVD)
These "health" films from my childhood were a blast from the past, to say the least. It is amazing how much women have progressed in their lifestyles and roll in the family. This was totally enjoyed as well by my daughter, who is 28. It was a real cultural eyeopener for her. I recommend the companion films on "How to be a Man", especially to compare the differences between how boys and girls were raised. Good for a laugh and a peek at how things were. I highly recommend these to anyone with a penchant for nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some funny shorts, some are just strange, October 14, 2009
This review is from: How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982) (DVD)
When I first saw this collection, I thought the shorts were all from 1948, and was surprised when they started discussing waiting for sex, and more adult themes from the 60s-80s.

"Wonders of Reproduction" is basically a guy talking about how his fish reproduce (which has nothing to do with humans, and is kind of a let-down from the title). "Why Study Economics?" "Lets Make a Sandwich" "Growing Girls" (which actually does get into human reproduction, and the way women in the 40s/50s dealt with menstruation is pretty interesting)and "Pattern for Smartness" are probably the best on the disc. Notice how the Home Economics Teacher keeps showing up with her wise and womanly advice (an old maid at 26!).

The more contemporary ones are just flashy and weird. "Redbook 18-34" gave me a headache, and "Girls are Better Than Ever" was just stupid. "Attack" is worth a watch, just to see the Brown Belt 5'5" 100lb instructor with her heels and cat-eye glasses pummel the attacking man. It's especially satisfying when she finally gives him a kick to the groin.

Overall, I'd say it's worth watching, but not owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 50's, September 22, 2010
By 
Ferret Fan (Cambridge, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982) (DVD)
This is just too funny to watch. I forgot how repressed we all were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, February 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982) (DVD)
I have not heard it but I gave it to friends for Christmas and they think it is very very funny. I first saw it recommended on a TV morning show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How To Be A Woman (Classic Educational Shorts Volume 2) (1948-1982)
$19.95 $13.96
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.