Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect bundle to get right now
At the moment of this writing this is the best PlayStation 3 bundle available, you not only get a limited edition Crystal White Ps3 Super Slim complete with its own Classic White controller, but you also get 500GB for storage and a full 1-year subscription to PlayStation Plus... now that's awesome!, if you still don't know why, keep reading.

--- The system...
Published 22 months ago by Gregory

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not include stated games anymore
I purchased one of these locally. You can no longer get the games on the box that it says it includes. They have been changed out as of June 11th.
Published 17 months ago by Roy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect bundle to get right now, January 29, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
At the moment of this writing this is the best PlayStation 3 bundle available, you not only get a limited edition Crystal White Ps3 Super Slim complete with its own Classic White controller, but you also get 500GB for storage and a full 1-year subscription to PlayStation Plus... now that's awesome!, if you still don't know why, keep reading.

--- The system ---
The PS3 Super Slim is the latest model of the PS3. It is just like any other PS3 (the same specs, hardware processing, Bluray playback, etc.) but this model is much smaller and lighter, even smaller than the previous Slim model. It is also a top-loading system meaning you put your game disc and movies in a slider at the top of the unit. Those are the only changes on the Super Slim model, everything else is just the same as past models of the PlayStation 3 console, including compatibility with DualShock controllers, PlayStation Move, Bluray movies, etc.

This bundle includes a gorgeous and unique limited edition Crystal White PS3 Super Slim, it is the first time in America that this color is offered in any of the models of PS3 (Phat, Slim and Super Slim), and you also get a Classic White DualShock 3 controller. If you happen to have a white limited edition PlayStation Vita and you want a PS3, this is the bundle to get right now, don't even think about it.

--- Storage ---
This bundle comes with a HUGE 500GB hard drive, that's more than enough for all the games you will be downloading with your PlayStation Plus subscription.

--- PlayStation Plus ---
PlayStation Plus is a paid subscription by Sony and a full 1-year subscription is included with this bundle. Subscribers get all these awesome benefits:

- Instant Game Collection (IGC): a collection of 18 FULL games (at this moment) for subscribers to download for BOTH PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita, this means you can download games for both systems with just one subscription. Some of the games included in the Instant Game Collection (at the moment of this writing) are: Infamous 2 (PS3), Little Big Planet 2 (PS3), Darksiders (PS3), Ratchet and Clank All 4 One (PS3), Uncharted Golden Abyss (PSV), Gravity Rush (PSV), Wipeout 2048 (PSV) and many more. The games are COMPLETE meaning you can enjoy the whole games as if you bought them in the PlayStation Store. Huge savings here! Just add up the cost of each of these games for comparison and the savings can go in the hundredth!
- The IGC keeps a rotating scheme: every month Sony replaces a couple of games from the collection with new full games; subscribers always have something new to download. All the games you download are yours as long as you keep your PS+ subscription active, so you can delete them and re-download them again later even if the games were already pulled out from the IGC. On time you can have a HUGE collection of games all for free.
- Discount for selected games purchased at the PlayStation Store, according to the Sony website discounts can range from 10% up to 75%.
- Automatic update: your PS3 and PSV will automatically update when new system and game updates are available.
- Free 1GB online storage for game save data.
- Full game trial: yes, for selected games you can download the FULL game and enjoy it for a limited time so you can test it.
- Access to early demos and betas for selected games and upcoming titles.
- Exclusive promotions an contents, like FREE avatars and themes.

After your 1-year PlayStation Plus subscription expires you can renew it for only $49.99 a year (or $17.99 for 3 months) and keep enjoying all those benefits! You can even stack your subscription if you decide to buy for example two years at once.

You can read my review of PS+ here: http://www.amazon.com/review/RGQ7PZD2P944B/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm

--- Conclusion ---
This is the perfect bundle to get right now if you don't have a PlayStation 3 and want one, and also if you want to save money on games. You get a unique limited edition system with a huge storage and a full 1-year subscription to PlayStation Plus, meaning you can download lots of games for both your PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita plus some other awesome benefits.

--- In the package ---
- Limited Edition Crystal White Super Slim PlayStation 3 console with pre-installed 500GB hard drive.
- Classic White DualShock 3 controller.
- Power Cable
- USB Cable for charging the controller.
- A/V cable (not component, not HDMI)
- Instruction manuals
- PlayStation Plus 1-year subscription code.

--- NOT included (but sold separately) ---
- HDMI or Component cables, just a A/V cable.
- The stand shown in the bundle box for putting the system vertically (although it is not needed: the PS3 Super Slim can be put vertically alone without that stand).
- Any physical game or disc, all games must be downloaded using the PlayStation Plus subscription included, so you need internet connection. The games are heavy (+1 GB for PSV, +4GB for PS3), this may not be a problem for the 500GB of the PS3 but if you are downloading games for PlayStation Vita keep in mind the size of the Memory Card, although that should not be a problem, you can download the PSV games to your PS3 and only transfer to your PSV the games you'll be playing, keeping the others on your PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you need a newer model, this is your best chance!, February 2, 2013
By 
KBJ "Jon" (Warren, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
Just received this White PS3.The color is awesome! I have absolutely no complaints about it. Bigger hard drive, smaller model and much more quieter than my fat model. Used the data transfer very easily to basically mirror my fat model but make sure you do some research before trying this because there are several steps Sony does not explain. So if your in the market for a new PS3, this is your chance and I am sure the black model is just as good!

UPDATE!!

I HAVE ADDED THE STEPS I TOOK TO DO THE DATA TRANSFER. READ BELOW!

PlayStationŽ3 System Software Version 3.15

Settings

Data transfer utility

Preparing the systems to transfer data

Before starting the data transfer operation, you must perform the following steps.

1. Update the system software of both PS3(tm) systems to version 3.15.

2. Prepare the PS3(tm) system that will send the data (the "source system").
If multiple users exist on the source PS3(tm) system, you must perform the following operations for all of the users before starting the data transfer operation.

Create a PlayStationŽNetwork account if a user does not have an account.
Select (PlayStationŽNetwork) > (Sign Up for PlayStationŽNetwork), and then follow the on-screen instructions to create an account.
Deactivate the PS3(tm) system if the data to be transferred contains content that was purchased from PlayStationŽStore.
Select (PlayStationŽNetwork) > (Account Management) > (System Activation).
Activate the PS3(tm) destination system

Select (PlayStationŽNetwork) > (Account Management) > (System Activation).

Back up, or "sync", trophy information on the PS3(tm) system with the PlayStationŽNetwork server if you want to transfer trophy information.
Sign in to PlayStationŽNetwork, and then select (Game) > (Trophy Collection).
Sign in to (PlayStationŽHome) before transferring the data if you have obtained reward items for use in (PlayStationŽHome) on the source system.
Disable the Internet Connection on both systems.

Select (Settings) > (Network Settings) > (Internet Connection)

Disable the Media Server Connection on both systems.

Select (Settings) > (Network Settings) > (Media Server Connection)

Go ahead and run the Data Transfer Utility once the steps above have been completed.

This worked for me and hopefully it will for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 years later and they've almost got it right., April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
This is the first PS3 system that I've ever owned. I've been a long-time Sony fan, but my console of choice this generation was the Xbox 360. So this review is being written from the perspective of someone who enjoys the Xbox but wanted to see what Sony could do with their most recent technology.

First of all the console looks fantastic. The white is unique (for Sony) and looks very sleek in person. I'm very pleased with the size as well. It's not as small as the PS2 slim was but it's the smallest console this generation other than the Wii. Although many critics have complained about the disc drive I actually think it's perfect. It's not "cheap" as many people have been saying. It's a sliding door. If you step on it it's obviously going to break (duhh), but as long as you treat your console like a human being it should last a lifetime. It's certainly a LOT more sturdy than the door on the PS2 slim.

Furthermore, the console performs very well. It powers up faster than my first generation Xbox 360 and runs SO MUCH quieter. When accessing the disc the system does make noise, but it's not very often and not any louder than previous Playstation 3 models. When simply watching Netflix or playing a game on the hard drive, the system is dead quiet. Another thing I like is that the power cord (though it's a bit short) isn't attached to a brick or wall wart. It's a very slim, normal sized power cord, unlike the Xbox 360's large brick. Also, the controllers are rechargeable out of the box. The power cord is too short to game with, but at least you don't have to buy a battery pack and charging cable for each controller. Also, the charge last FOREVER. One charge lasted me two weeks, compared to the 3 or 4 days I get the the Xbox controllers.

The thing I love most about the PS3 in comparison to the Xbox is free PSN. You can play online games for free and stream video from Netflix or Hulu for free (granted you already pay for the service). Microsoft makes you pay to access ANYTHING. The home menu (XMB) is a lot easier to navigate than Microsoft's too. Sony doesn't plague you with endless advertisements, and while the interface is somewhat bleak, it's not a puzzle to navigate.

Another great thing is how easily the system synced up with my Media Server. It connected right out of the box, whereas my Xbox is still having trouble streaming videos from Windows Media Server. I downloaded PS3 Media Server and this only made things easier. Unfortunately it takes a good connection to stream video without dropouts, but music should play flawlessly for anybody. And if you don't want to stream, the 500GB hard drive makes it easy to store all of your music and videos.

The second part of the bundle is the PS Plus 1 year Subscription. This is the BEST. You get access to multiple games every month for free download and plenty of discounts on everything else. After 1 year the subscription must be renewed ($50) to keep playing your downloaded games. This may sound terrible, but you're really not losing much after the subscription ends: You're getting the chance to try out plenty of games for a whole year, and if you really like a game you should be able to find it for $15-$20 by the time the year's through. The value of the bundle is found entirely in the PS Plus subscription.

Now for the things I wasn't so happy about:
#1) Poor wireless capabilities. The PS3 has built in wireless but it is rarely strong enough to play multiplayer games. At first I could barely download an update. Slowly the wireless strength increased to a good level. Still, a hard connection is preferred for any kind of online gaming.

#2) CONSTANT updates. The system updates almost every time I turn it on, and because of the finicky wireless adapter, these updates can take so long that I won't even get to play my game.

#3) 500gb hard drive my ass! I turned on the system, downloaded Netflix, and my system only had 411gb left! I've had an Xbox for almost 7 years and I haven't even used 30 gigs yet. That includes Netflx, music, and game saves. I think you see the problem here.

#4) Overscan. I just found out that many if not all PS3s have inherent overscan, or cropping/zooming of the picture. On an HDTV it's not so bad and if can easily be remedied by changing the display mode to "Just Scan", "Full Pixel", or something similar. But on a normal CRT TV the overscan is bad enough that it cuts off necessary information such as HUD's, health bars, radars, etc. and there is no fix. My girlfriend has an old PS3 slim and experiences this problem as well, so it's not just tied to this model.

All in all this is a great system and a great bundle. At the time of purchase this cost $300 and was money well spent. While there are several little problems, most of them can be remedied and are negligible at best. Compared to the latest Xbox 360 the new PS3 Super Slim is neither better nor worse. It all comes down to personal preference on this one, but the PS3 is definitely a capable system for any type of gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not include stated games anymore, June 17, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
I purchased one of these locally. You can no longer get the games on the box that it says it includes. They have been changed out as of June 11th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Includes Playstation Plus, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
The "Free Playstation Plus Membership" no longer exists, it expired in 2013. Maybe this is still a decent deal but the description misrepresents what you actually get. "Free game collection"...? Not so much. You get no free games at all. Amazon really needs to change this description.

UPDATE: I called Sony customer suppport and a very helpful young woman helped me get my year of PS+ ... It took a little time but I got what I paid for so I'm basically satisfied now. Just be aware you may have to go to a little extra effort to actually get your year of PS+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SCAMMM!!! THEY DONT HONOR THE CODE!!! no point in buying new, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
System is amazing and cheap. decent deal, but frustrating to get left on hold an hour to be told we sold you a valid product... Its not our fault your code is expired. THIS IS A LIE AND I WILL NOT STAND FOR IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS3 Evolution, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
Length:: 0:51 Mins

Thinner, lighter and now in elegant classic white. For those of you wondering, yes it's a bit more noisy than the previous model, it's not noticeable when watching movies or playing games. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so............enjoy the pics and video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love The PS3, Grumpy They Did Not Send Me The Playstation network code, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
love the ps3, everything works great. Love that there is plenty of storage. I was promised 1 year of the PS3 network, but never received it. I talked to Amazon and they failed me. They told me it was not their fault and I would have to personally get in touch with the company. I believe if you spend a good amount with a company like Amazon, they should have your back. The PS3 is great, Amazon failed me this time. More failures like this will make me go elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great machine, highly recommend... Just make sure code is still good for the Playstation Store..., March 29, 2014
By 
The Hansen's (Two Harbors, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
AWESOME, that is all.... LOL. No it is a great machine. We got the year subscription to Playstaion Plus Store which was awesome cause we get to download free playable games, avatars, etc. I got Uncharted 2, Metro: Last Light (which I highly recommend), PayDay2, Jetpack Joyride for the kids, Bioshock Infinite, and Binary Domain which is pretty cool all for free. They switch up free games now there is a Tomb Raider and others you can download. My code for the store was up this month so I would make sure you do get a code you can use still. 500GB HD well you can't go wrong there, I have dl'd games on there, music and photos and I haven't used up much space yet. The white color sticks out, we love that. It has to USB ports in the front we use to watch movies off a USB drive. Has the HDMI port in back plus a Optical Cable port also to hook up for audio. Also has a RCA cord port in the back and a LAN cord port but we use the WiFi on it which works great. The place to put Cd's slide open with a push of a button but you have to slide it back manually to shut it which is fine. We ordered off brand controllers for the kids that work great with it. It doesn't seem to get to hot but I would recommend putting it in a place where it can have air flow to it so it doesn't get hot. Overall its a great machine. I highly recommend it, just make sure if there is a code included that it will still work and is valid or you miss out on the whole great deal there. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle (Video Game)
This bundle is a great deal. I bought this as a replacement for a PS3 that did the red/yellow light of death thing. This PS3 has way more storage capacity than ever before, 500G. You also get the added bonus of Playstation plus free for a year. The other bundles being offered right now have only a 30-day PS+. With the PS+ you can download 12 free games. There are many to choose from, the only down fall to it is the games that are older or nobody wants them, but hey they are free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Classic White PS3 Instant Game Collection Bundle
$335.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.