Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I WOULD BUY ANY PHIL PERRY CD!! HE IS JUST AWESOMELY TALENTED!!
I HAVE LISTENED TO THE "CLASSIC LOVE SONGS" CD AND ALL I CAN SAY IS PHIL IS AWESOMELY TALENTED!! I WOULD BUY ANY PHIL PERRY CD CUZ THE BOY CAN SING HIS BUTT OFF. I CAN APPRECIATE A 'GOOD REMAKE' OF A SONG ....AND SO THIS CD IS VERY GOOD IN THAT RESPECT. MY FAV SONG HERE IS 'HELLO'

GOOD CD, PHIL! WELL DONE!!!!!

FROM A FAN-FOR-LIFE :)
Published on April 24, 2006 by USA

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but some originals please
I know the title is "The Classic Love Songs" but Perry's best work are his originals. He does outstanding covers having the best voice in the business since Luther's death. However, one feels a bit cheated with this CD. All covers and no new material does not a great CD make.
Published on August 15, 2006 by hbdawg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I WOULD BUY ANY PHIL PERRY CD!! HE IS JUST AWESOMELY TALENTED!!, April 24, 2006
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
I HAVE LISTENED TO THE "CLASSIC LOVE SONGS" CD AND ALL I CAN SAY IS PHIL IS AWESOMELY TALENTED!! I WOULD BUY ANY PHIL PERRY CD CUZ THE BOY CAN SING HIS BUTT OFF. I CAN APPRECIATE A 'GOOD REMAKE' OF A SONG ....AND SO THIS CD IS VERY GOOD IN THAT RESPECT. MY FAV SONG HERE IS 'HELLO'

GOOD CD, PHIL! WELL DONE!!!!!

FROM A FAN-FOR-LIFE :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice @}->---, April 17, 2006
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
This guy can sang!!!! I've heard one of his previous cds that a friend has, and now I own this one, and he's fast becoming a favourite of mine. He's turned some older songs into stunning and beautiful newer versions.

I Want You, Have You Seen Her and Hello are the standout songs on this disc. I really have a new found love for Phil and I plan on buying more of his work. Treat yourself to this stunning piece of work. You can relax and chill to it, or put it on in the bedroom. Any way you look at this, it's a winner and you must hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phil Perry is Awesome, April 7, 2006
By 
Lelo "juzbcus" (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
This CD is absolutely the BOMB! Phil Perry has selected songs that are so awesome. His take on ,"Hey there Lonely Girl" makes you want to play it over and over again. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this CD. Hopefully this will be the first of many. His voice is timeless. You just have to purchase this CD if you are a classic old schooler!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD is my all time favorite!, January 9, 2007
By 
NJR (Michigan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
This is the best CD that I have purchased in a while. I play it ALL the time and have told all of my friends about it too! Phil Perry is real SMOOTH and with these classics you can't go wrong. Great arrangements, great voice, nice groove..... I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars phil's fantasy, September 3, 2006
By 
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
i had had pleasure of hearing phil perry perform live in the early 90's,i have been mermerized every since. his higher octave voice have women glowing from head to toe and sittng on the edge of there seats not wanting to miss a note . phil was recently on the cd 101.9 boat cruise in nyc july 2006. he performed from the new cd the classic love songs. what a voice, the ability to go up and down the music scale is amazing. he is one of the most sought after back up vocalist in the music industry. phil has the ability to interpret classic love songs as well as his own songwriting skills. a seven minute cover of the Spinners' "Love Don't Love Nobody" is filled with pure high adultrated engery and purely a song that takes to heart the attention a man should give to a woman after the love has ended. the album My Book of Love, received less attention, but was a far stronger album. Book was also the album on which Perry began to take a more active role in songwriting and production, putting his personal signature beyond the vocal performance. This led to his lead songwriting role on 2001's Magic, an excellent album on Peak Records that showed Perry in complete control over his music. As you can image, Perry's voice is clear and pitch perfect as can be on the disc, as he covers well known hits by the Chi-Lites, the Stylistics, Marvin Gaye and others. Working with producer/multi-instrumentalist Chris "Big Dog" Davis, Perry has released an album of love renditions of these cuts that is clearly aimed at late night listeners. Davis's arrangements overall are rather soft and easy listening, leaving it to Perry to bring life through his higher octave voice, and he generally does, especially on Eddie Holman's "Hey There Lonely Girl" and the Tempts' "Just My Imagination." But the disc gets much better when it moves to jazzier arrangements, and the more creative surroundings make Perry's version of DeBarge's "All This Love" an absolute jewel - and a can't miss cut for comtemporary jazz radio. Even more is the flute and bass led jazz rendition of Lionel Richie's "Hello," which Perry takes in a direction completly different from the original and may be the album's finest moment.While the tone of the album is intentionally mellow, it would have been nice to hear Perry break out on a cut, as he did on prior cover such as Call Me. Five years between CDs is way too long for phil, i was happy to see that Phil has currently signed with Shanachie Records a label that is producing a lot of progressive artist. such as bobby lyle, pieces of a dream , doc powell and others. this album is dedicated to the late night listening in mind, Classic Love Songs is an return of a great vocalist releasing ballards of the 70s/80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST SINGER ON THE PLANET!!!, June 30, 2006
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
I don't understand why Phil Perry is not on the award shows. Why hasn't he been inducted into the R&B Hall of Fame? It just proves that there is no justice in the music industry. This album is exceptional!!! It's perfect. Phil takes the old songs recorded by some of the greatest falsettos, captures them, and makes them his own. Now when I hear the originals, I miss the things Phil Perry adds to the remakes. This album is somehwat different from Phil's previous five solo projects, in that it is noticeably missing his signature expletives and squals - the preacher sound that is so distinctive for a voice that can be so laid back and sweet. But Phil stays true to the CLASSIC style of these old school favorites, and he generously and sacrificially keeps the authenticity of the original recordings. It's old school emotion that he offers, and so its perfect for a Friday night chill session, or a Chicago Step party. And yet...the emotion is still there. What we have here is undeniable proof that Phil Perry is more than just a great singer. He's a great interpreter. He's CLASSIC and he's CONTEMPORARY. He proves he is whatever he wants to be, whenever he wants to be it. He proves that everytime he opens his mouth, he will command your attention and your emotional response. This album will never die...

Phil Perry will someday receive his props...long overdue...but in the meantime he will continue to prove that he's not singing for the props or the fame or the fortune...but it's always for the LOVE of LOVE.

This album is truly CLASSIC...and so is Mr. Perry!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Love Songs by Phil Perry, January 11, 2007
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
Phil Perry is one of the most outstanding singers of all times. I love his music. This particular CD shows me a different side of him. It shows me a soft, mellow side of him. Hopefully, more people will experience this beautiful, classic CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ohio, January 5, 2007
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
It is outstanding, anyone that is a Phil Perry fan will love this CD. There is no disappointment at all in this CD. If it is a first time for you picking this artist out, then the only thing I can say is that you pick a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the classic love songs phil perry, January 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
I love phil perry even more! everyone who has heard this cd has asked "who is that"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Montclairs ,The Group he started with., July 22, 2006
This review is from: Classic Love Songs (Audio CD)
This is a very nice CD, Even though My all time favorite is the PURE PLEASURE CD. Phil Perry in my opinion is very Underated as a Soulful Singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Classic Love Songs
Classic Love Songs by Phil Perry (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.