Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have book for any secondary teacher.
I use this book as the text for one of my classes at Vanderbilt University. The students always love it. It is one of the most practical textbooks that I have seen. This book contains everything beginning teachers need to make a smooth and effective start on their journey as a teacher.
Published on September 6, 1998 by laura.j.roberson@vanderbilt.edu

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
this is 1 of 2 books that was actually semi-useful and decent throughout my teacher licensure program. while a chunk of it was purely common sense, it did provide some useful and insightful information and tactics on classroom management
Published 21 months ago by jaimie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have book for any secondary teacher., September 6, 1998
I use this book as the text for one of my classes at Vanderbilt University. The students always love it. It is one of the most practical textbooks that I have seen. This book contains everything beginning teachers need to make a smooth and effective start on their journey as a teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry K. Wong Implements Research of Evertson, October 5, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In his video series "The Effective Teacher" Part II: The First Days of School, Harry Wong cites the work of Carolyn Evertson and how he implements her research in the classroom: Wong says "Now, why do I assign seats? Now, you may know the name Carolyn Evertson. She is arguably the leading authority on classroom management. She did her work at the Univ. of Texas, Austin campus, many years ago. They wrote a book called Classroom Management for Elementary Teachers and a book called Classroom Management for High School and Junior High School Teachers. They went out and they looked at thousands and thousands of very effective teachers, and they went out and they looked at thousands and thousands of very ineffective teachers, and this is what they discovered. They discovered that effective teachers assign seats on the first day of school..." He shows a graphic of the covers of the two books. This is one of the books he refers to. Harry Wong is the author of the book The First Days of School. Anyone who liked The First Days of School, therefore, might be interested to read this resource that Harry Wong found to be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice tool for new teachers., March 28, 2006
By 
College Student (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a practical resource for new secondary teachers. The authors discuss classroom set-up, student resources, and behavior problems. There are many ideas ready for application in your own classroom and no boring or unnecessary narratives that most classroom management books have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classroom Management for Middle and High School Teachers (7th Edition), June 10, 2007
By 
J. Hill "digitaleonardo" (Atlanta, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book to help a lot in preparing a behavior management plan. This was an area I felt school was weak in my studies at Georgia State. State has a great program, but this was an area I needed more help at. This book is filled with great examples of how other teachers have handled problem situations. Was worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Secondary Teachers, August 5, 2008
By 
I found this book to be an excellent reference for newer secondary teachers. The book covered not only policies, procedures, rules, etc. that are found in most classroom management books, they also covered important issues such as: constructive communication with students and parents, how-to make cooperative learning a reality in the classroom, and planning and conducting of instruction. I would recommend this book highly. Another book that I bought for secondary level was just a rehash of elementary level classroom management and most of it was fluff - this book is substantive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all entry level teachers, January 3, 2007
This book is written in a common sense manner. The authors take the reader from the planning stage to implementing then they show you how to maintain management in the classroom so that the teacher will have a successful year. The authors also included nice case studies and checklists to better prepare you for the upcoming school year. I definitely recommend this book to all teachers or education majors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, January 9, 2007
This book contains a lot of information that is particularly useful for new teachers. It also provides useful examples of how to best set up and maintain your classroom and students. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars student, July 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a good introduction to the complex task of classroom management for middle and high school teachers and new teachers. My online education class used it as the course textbook. It addresses many of the situations teachers are expected to deal with today with research and practical examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful teaching tool, August 13, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book to implement my studies to pass a teacher certification test (ABCTE) and although I haven't taken the test yet, I believe it has helped. Along with Fred Jones's Tools for Teaching, the flash cards with the certification, and another book I'm currently reading now, I know I'll be ready for the test.

review:
The book does start out slow for a few chapters and some of the writing is monotonous but overall I learned some things that were not in FJ's book. It took my learning to the basics and then hit on the technical with specifics but didn't seem to be too time consuming. If you give this book a chance I'm sure you will find extremely useful knowledge in order to pass any teacher certification test and also some tips for the classroom for when you do teach. I will definitely give the book another read before I start teaching again (moved out of state- hence had to get another certification) to brush up on my teaching abilities for the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has some really good advice, but it is jam packed and hard to follow at parts. Is a good book for teachers that want to improve their classroom management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Classroom Management for Middle and High School Teachers (8th Edition)
Classroom Management for Middle and High School Teachers (8th Edition) by Jana Echevarria (Paperback - February 29, 2008)
Used & New from: $33.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.