Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean Dr. VHS Video Head Cleaner
I have several VCR's and they all are very old never cleaned them, but started to see not so clear pictures when I would play back recorded programs so did some research on line and found that the problem could be that the heads needed cleaning so I figured that what do I have to loose cause I was just going to disgard of the units beings I also have the new CD recorders...
Published on March 8, 2011 by Wilbur G. Whetzel

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good quality
The product received was not the same as pictured. The liquid was not contained in the cartridge. The tape would not run at normal (play) speed. I had to fast forward in order to get the tape to move.Don't feel the heads were cleaned properly in this manner. I ran it 5 or 6 times.
Published on October 5, 2012 by rmaes


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean Dr. VHS Video Head Cleaner, March 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have several VCR's and they all are very old never cleaned them, but started to see not so clear pictures when I would play back recorded programs so did some research on line and found that the problem could be that the heads needed cleaning so I figured that what do I have to loose cause I was just going to disgard of the units beings I also have the new CD recorders and players. I ordered this Clean Dr. and cleaned all three of my VCR's and now they work like new I am getting alot better play back pictures. Yes I would recommend this product and also Amazon for having for the best price. :>)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good quality, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
The product received was not the same as pictured. The liquid was not contained in the cartridge. The tape would not run at normal (play) speed. I had to fast forward in order to get the tape to move.Don't feel the heads were cleaned properly in this manner. I ran it 5 or 6 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed to clean my VHS system!, July 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
We have a TV with a VHS and a DVD system. The VHS is for our library of old videos. This product was just what was needed to clean the heads on the VHS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless, dangerous, February 6, 2011
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I followed the intrsuctions of the manufacturer. After pushing START there was a short noise and then my VCR shut itself off. Now I can't get the cassete out of the VCR, it is just stuck there. Don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as pictured! I received a dry only head cleaner, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
The description and picture of the product on Amazon clearly showed a wet/dry head cleaner (solution vial stored in a compartment in the cassette; a small port where you add drops of the solution). I received a dry-only head cleaner: no solution/compartment; no place to add solution. (I know how these work...I've had several in the past...yeah, I'm old...:-)

Searching for the manufacturer's product number (6012800) and the UPC code on the box I received, it appears the manufacturer produces both wet/dry and dry-only head cleaners USING THE SAME PART NUMBER. (!?) With a manufacturer like that, I suspect nobody knows what you are likely to get.

As a dry head cleaner,it worked as expected.

Disappointed with my purchase as it isn't what I wanted, and I could have saved some money if I wanted a dry-only head cleaner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hard to use, September 18, 2013
By 
maplelef (San Angelo, TExas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
The directions are unclear as to WHERE you are to put three or four drops of the cleaning solution, there is not a clear access point, I used it twice each time after use the next tape in brought up the message "HEADS NEED CLEANING", buy the $5.00 dry head cleaner it worked perfectly this one is a dud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This worked Great!, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
My VCR was playing but every movie we tried, the picture was terrible. All I needed was the Head Cleaner and now every movie is crystal clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, so far!, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I'm completely satisfied with this liquid and cassette VCR head cleaning product. It has removed all the snow from the pictures when I play my video cassettes. It has also cleaned up the 'tracking' problems that I was having before. RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DESCRIPTION INCORRECT, NOT WET BUT DRY, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is a misrepresentation if you want a WET head cleaning system. The picture still shows (as of the date this review is written) a tape cleaner with a bottle of fluid and in the description it states "Easy cleaning process - just add drops of fluid where indicated, insert into VHS device..." I needed a wet cleaning tape to gently clean the heads on my two VCRs that are over ten years old. So I ordered two based on the picture and the description. I was shipped two DRY tapes which I received yesterday. I cannot use them and did the procedure to return to Amazon. Turns out this product is not eligible for free return. I had to pay for the return postage myself today. I am hoping Amazon gives me a credit for my postage since I did not receive the items I thought I was ordering. Do not trust that you will be one of the lucky ones to get a wet tape cleaner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap product, February 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CleanDr 60128 00 VHS Video Head Cleaning Kit (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
As soon as I received it, I immediately packaged it to return it back. The tape was not the same as pictured and seemed as a cheap product (made in China). Waited so long for nothing. Will not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.