Industrial Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoors Gift Guide on Tikes

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars52
Format: DVDChange
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 12, 2013
Wow! Patriot Games is one helluva an action movie! Harrison Ford burns with intensity playing Jack Ryan as an everyman with a deadly right hook and a staunch moral compass...that is *still* the best incarnation of Ryan onscreen. His bar threat to Richard Harris' snaky IRA representative shows an intensity and coldness that Ford rarely shows.

Sean Bean is fiery and unpredictable as vengeance-bent Sean Miller, out for revenge on Jack Ryan with a submachine gun, chiselled cheekbones, and an Ulster accent. Sean Bean is *this* close to being typecast as a villain, he manages to be sympathetic AND menacing - in one of his best roles.
Patrick Bergin is one icy cool customer as he steals the scenes as calculating, psychotic terrorist Kevin O'Donnell. Bergin gives an electrifying performance: violent, menacing, and played with a devilishly cold glint in the eyes.

I was almost ashamed to say that I was proud to be an Irishman as I watched this movie!

The rest of the cast, especially Samuel L. Jackson and Richard Harris, play their roles with aplomb. Technically, the film gets top marks. The score by James Horner is up to the maestro's usual top standards. The editing is excellent and the cinematography is quite often stunning.
Phillip Noyce directs with style and a relevancy that was ahead of it's time. Patriot Games is often surprisingly effective, even if some of the outdated tech is often painful to watch. The action scenes are excellent, riveting, and realistic, with the Irishmen stealing the scenes, or rather, shooting them full of holes with an M16.

Jack Ryan may not be as suave and impeccable chiselled as Bond; he may not know how to kill someone with a hand towel like Jason Bourne...but he has a moral compass, a strong jaw, a stronger right hook, and a sense of decency that, when it is frayed by evil men, can turn into fiery heat in a second. Combined with Tom Clancy's techno-centric, improbable but entertaining plots, Patriot Games is an above average spy thriller.

My rating? 4.5 stars out of 5.

P.S. Rest in peace, Tom Clancy. You wrote books so big they could be used as house bricks in an emergency. Your plots were so complex they needed alternate universes to make sense. Your Jack Ryan is one of America's favorite characters, because he represents the truth, justice, and American way that they strive for. You named one of your books "Red Rabbit", which was brave, to say the least...

You died too soon, so once again I say, rest in peace. I now turn to John le Carre to fill your empty hole, but I know the page count is too thick for it to be filled up...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 1, 2012
DVD's in good condition and glad to have in our collection. These movies can be watched over and over. Hope there will be more with Jack Jr.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 5, 2013
It is interesting how Harrison Ford replaced Alec Baldwin as Jack Ryan in PATRIOT GAMES and that made PATRIOT GAMES' focus around Jack Ryan as the main character much stronger. That transaction seemed flawless and a natural one. Ford's interpretation is that of a thinking man and a man of action and one of integrity in both PATRIOT GAMES and A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER. Anne Archer as Cathy Ryan in both films also strengthens the dynamics that she and her husband have a the screen. Harrison Ford's Jack Ryan is a family man and that strengthens his image of dedication to both family and country. I like both PATRIOT GAMES and A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER very much. There are very good scenes in both films. I always liked the scene in PATRIOT GAMES where Ryan stops the IRA assassination outside of Buckingham Palace. PATRIOT GAMES filmed in some really great locations. PATRIOT GAMES is one of Phillip Noyce's best directorial efforts. I thought Joaquim de Almeida as Colonel Felix Cortez in A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER almost stole the film with his performance, He has a very strong screen presence. There were also some very tense moments in A CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER. The one actor in all three films who always steels the scenes he is in was James Earl Jones as Admiral James Greer. It really is great have all three films in one. I also like James Horner,s score for both films. His scored is really tied to the human side of the narratives and not the action.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 13, 2014
This is a great way to pass the time. You can forget all your troubles, you will be glued to the television watching this movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 1, 2012
Its hard to believe that so much time has passed since these movies released. Tom Clancy was at his peak with these and Harrison Ford was the perfect Jack Ryan; he wasn't the suave James Bond but more of the everyman who did what had to be done. These movies, while dated, hold up pretty well in terms of plot. Sure, they aren't as crisp as the latest blu-rays nor are they as action packed as the Bourne trilogy but what they are is great looks into the kind of plausible conspiracies and plots that keep you entertained every moment. Great for a double feature.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2013
A great value here. Two Harrison Ford action movies in a combo-pack. Unlike others, each movie is on a separate disk and
both come in separate cases. Harrison Ford takes over the Alec Baldwin character from "The Hunt For Red October" in two
follow-up stories by Tom Clancy. Among the very talented cast are James Earl Jones, Willem Dafoe, Sean Bean, Anne Archer
and many other recognizable faces. Very Highly recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 22, 2013
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 20, 2014
I am a big fan of the author and I'm always interested to see how the vision of a director measures up against the author's intended story. These are both quite exciting and will keep the attention of the viewer from start to finish. Definitely worth having as part of any movie collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2015
I think both of these are excellent movies and Harrison Ford just really sells his character so perfectly. But no question, "Clear and Present Danger" is the superior film. It's a thrilling, twist-filled adventure that is among the best films of its genre. The scene of Ford facing off with the President of the United States is worth the price of the dvd. "Patriot Games" is also a good movie, interesting and fairly exciting, but it didn't have the impact on me that C&PD had. I bought this set because I wanted C&PD, but it was cheaper to get the set than to buy that film on its own. Go figure. Now I always look for multiple-movie sets if I'm buying a dvd.

And by the way, I belong to Prime, so I can get quite a few good movies for free and recently I've been buying more blu ray discs than dvds, but I think now is a good time to collect inexpensive dvds (eventually they're going to go the way of VHS tapes). While Prime does have a good selection of "free" movies, there are still huge gaps and lots of films you have to rent. If I'm going to pay to rent a movie, I'd rather just buy a used (or cheap new) dvd and have it on a shelf. Just a thought.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
I'm replacing some of my VHS movies (yes - I'm really that old) with DVDs. These movies are worth watching over again every so often. Even though you know how it will turn out the cinematography is great and holds your attention.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.