Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Present Entertainment! Review of Patriot Games.
Wow! Patriot Games is one helluva an action movie! Harrison Ford burns with intensity playing Jack Ryan as an everyman with a deadly right hook and a staunch moral compass...that is *still* the best incarnation of Ryan onscreen. His bar threat to Richard Harris' snaky IRA representative shows an intensity and coldness that Ford rarely shows.

Sean Bean is fiery...
Published 15 months ago by Anthony L.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie
I am a Harrison Ford fan and enjoy his movies. This is not his greatest movie, but it is a good one.
Published on December 19, 2012 by Jefty K. Prather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Present Entertainment! Review of Patriot Games., October 12, 2013
By 
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
Wow! Patriot Games is one helluva an action movie! Harrison Ford burns with intensity playing Jack Ryan as an everyman with a deadly right hook and a staunch moral compass...that is *still* the best incarnation of Ryan onscreen. His bar threat to Richard Harris' snaky IRA representative shows an intensity and coldness that Ford rarely shows.

Sean Bean is fiery and unpredictable as vengeance-bent Sean Miller, out for revenge on Jack Ryan with a submachine gun, chiselled cheekbones, and an Ulster accent. Sean Bean is *this* close to being typecast as a villain, he manages to be sympathetic AND menacing - in one of his best roles.
Patrick Bergin is one icy cool customer as he steals the scenes as calculating, psychotic terrorist Kevin O'Donnell. Bergin gives an electrifying performance: violent, menacing, and played with a devilishly cold glint in the eyes.

I was almost ashamed to say that I was proud to be an Irishman as I watched this movie!

The rest of the cast, especially Samuel L. Jackson and Richard Harris, play their roles with aplomb. Technically, the film gets top marks. The score by James Horner is up to the maestro's usual top standards. The editing is excellent and the cinematography is quite often stunning.
Phillip Noyce directs with style and a relevancy that was ahead of it's time. Patriot Games is often surprisingly effective, even if some of the outdated tech is often painful to watch. The action scenes are excellent, riveting, and realistic, with the Irishmen stealing the scenes, or rather, shooting them full of holes with an M16.

Jack Ryan may not be as suave and impeccable chiselled as Bond; he may not know how to kill someone with a hand towel like Jason Bourne...but he has a moral compass, a strong jaw, a stronger right hook, and a sense of decency that, when it is frayed by evil men, can turn into fiery heat in a second. Combined with Tom Clancy's techno-centric, improbable but entertaining plots, Patriot Games is an above average spy thriller.

My rating? 4.5 stars out of 5.

P.S. Rest in peace, Tom Clancy. You wrote books so big they could be used as house bricks in an emergency. Your plots were so complex they needed alternate universes to make sense. Your Jack Ryan is one of America's favorite characters, because he represents the truth, justice, and American way that they strive for. You named one of your books "Red Rabbit", which was brave, to say the least...

You died too soon, so once again I say, rest in peace. I now turn to John le Carre to fill your empty hole, but I know the page count is too thick for it to be filled up...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like Harrison Ford, June 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
DVD's in good condition and glad to have in our collection. These movies can be watched over and over. Hope there will be more with Jack Jr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
I love this whole series and own them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No worries here, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
This is a great way to pass the time. You can forget all your troubles, you will be glued to the television watching this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
There are some movies I just love to watch over and over! Harrison Ford, as always, is such a tremendous actor! It's exciting from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JACK RYAN FOREVER, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
It's Jack Ryan and Harrison Ford, how can you go wrong? I must admit though that I enjoy Patriot Games better than Clear and Present Danger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movies., March 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
I am a big fan of the author and I'm always interested to see how the vision of a director measures up against the author's intended story. These are both quite exciting and will keep the attention of the viewer from start to finish. Definitely worth having as part of any movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
This is my second copy of these movies. I wore the the first ones out. I look forward to receiving clean copies. Harrison Ford is the greatest. I love movies about politics and the mysteries therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars movie, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
Sent when promossied package great Will be happy to work with this dealer again anytime thank you very much Micki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrison Ford Movies - MUST HAVE!!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games (DVD)
I had to have these two movies - haven't seen 'em in years since I didn 't have the DVD version. Looking forward to some spare time so I can get them watched again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games
Clear and Present Danger/Patriot Games by Phillip Noyce (DVD - 2011)
$14.99 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.