Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Shop Now HTL

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars37
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$14.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon August 8, 2010
The first reviewer gives away enough of the plot. I just want to say a few words about the quality of the series as a whole.
Sara Pennypacker is in the process of writing what may eventually be thought of as one of the best series for young readers in our time. Or she may evolve into someone who pounds out variations on the same formulaic plot. At this point, it is hard to tell. I am a great fan of these books and have read everyone of them to my daughters. This last one seemed to me to start to show signs that the author has perhaps stalled creatively.
So what is good about it? Clementine herself is funny, smart and very observant. My own girls love her and totally get her point of view. She is also remarkably kind-hearted. Combine that quality with her powers of observation and she always seems to know exactly the right thing to do to help people in the end.
I love her relationship with her brother. She refuses to call him by name. Instead she refers to him by an endless series of vegetable names. Her ability to never use the same name twice is awe-inspiring and displays a wry wit on the part of the author.
Another thing I like about the series is Clementine's friend Margaret. Margaret is a more complex character than Clementine and brings a sort of desperate self-assurance to every situation. I like the way Clementine regards her with both awe and annoyance. I think the author catches some of the nuances of the way young kids can be friends and occassional rivals.
Margaret and Clementine are really the center of the series. But Clementine's parents, Margaret's brother and especially Clementine's school principal all have their own charms and insights to offer.
And as mentioned by all the reviewers of the series the illustrations by Ms. Frazee are outstanding.
If you have young readers, especially girls, give this series a chance. I especially loved the second book, The Talented Clementine. But all of them are worth reading to and discussing with your young ones.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
My first grader has developed a fondness for this series, since listening to the Clementine audio CD. We plan on checking out the books as well. When third grader Clementine gets picked as friend of the week, she is predictably over the moon! The perks include being line leader, collecting lunch money, and feeding the classroom pet. But then, as always, Clementine goes a bit overboard. She gets her close friend Margaret to help her get on her classmates' good sides so that they will write wonderful things about her in the booklet that is customarily given out to the friend of the week. Will Clementine save her friendship with Margaret before it is too late?

The narration on the audio CD by Jessica Almasy is fun and credibly done, and is unabridged on two CDs, and runs for 2 hours.

P.S. Since my last review, I purchased the book for my daughter and she has finished reading it. She loves the story! My daughter said, "There are plenty of good lessons in here mom!"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2011
My daughter just finished reading Friend of the Week; this was her very first chapter book that she read on her own. She loved the book. Clementine is a great character who experiences ups and downs and works her way through a variety of situations. She is fun, a problem solver, creative, smart, and considerate. She is a fine character to have kids reading about and sympathizing with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 29, 2011
Clementine, Friend of the Week (2010)
Sara Pennypacker and pictures by Marla Frazee

Aesthetic readers will enjoy this realistic fiction chapter book by Sara Pennypacker because of the expert characterization and first-person point of view portrayed in Ms. Pennypacker's writing style.

We are immediately immersed in the deep and comical thoughts of Clementine, a third grade girl who is chosen to be the Friend of the Week at school. This means she gets to feed the class fish, be first in line, assist the teacher, and, best of all, receive a booklet filled with all of Clementine's "valuableness", as her best friend Margaret states.

A character foil unfolds between Margaret, who is prim, proper, organized, and always the best at everything, and Clementine, who is directly opposite of Margaret. Other secondary characters include Clementine's mom, dad, and brother. The reader will enjoy learning about Clementine's family and how she interacts with them. Some humorous, reoccurring details are the names Clementine gives to her younger brother. She thinks that since she got a food-related name, he should too. So she just replaces his name with the name of a vegetable like Turnip, Broccoli, Corn Kernel, and Pea Pod!

The setting of this story is school, mainly Clementine's classroom and the playground, and Clementine's apartment. This story takes place during the week that Clementine gets to be "Friend of the Week".

Ms. Pennypacker's writing style includes an array of common, melodic, rich, and emotional words. Even fun words like "valuableness" that a third or fourth grader would actually say.

Clementine decides to do things for her classmates so that they will "write great stuff" about her in her booklet. When Clementine's kitten, Moisturizer, is lost, promises that were made are broken and bonds that were broken are then repaired.

Through this unique and humorous experience with Clementine, Margaret, their freinds and family, we learn that friendship is deeper than each other's annoying habits or will to be the best at everything. Friendship is when you find "the best friend a person could ever have," as Clementine describes it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 3, 2015
Clementine is a third-grader and budding artist whose dad is the super of an apartment building in Boston. Sorry that her baby brother does not have a food name like hers, she bestows vegetable nicknames on him like "Turnip," "Corn Kernel," and "Mung Bean." In this fourth book in the Clementine series, Clementine is selected to be "Friend of the Week" for her class; her classmates will fill out a book describing why they are glad Clementine is in their class. Before she can read the book, though, Clementine must figure out why her older friend Margaret is mad at her and deal with the tragedy of a missing kitten.

Clementine is a delightful narrator. Unlike so many narrators of young reader books, there is nothing insincere, sarcastic, or cynical about her. Her affection and appreciation for those around her, even those like Margaret who are difficult to get along with, is apparent throughout. When she gets in trouble it's because of her desire to do things for others (such as offering free tattoos - made with markers, of course - to her schoolmates). In short, she is a refreshing contrast to the Greg Heffleys of kid lit. The story is greatly enhanced by Marla Frazee's illustrations which are - there's no other way to put it - adorable.

Both of my daughters have enjoyed the Clementine series. My younger daughter is not a giant fan of chapter books yet but will engross herself in a Clementine book without any hesitation. These are the books that parents should encourage their younger children - say second and third grade - to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2013
I read this over several days with my 7-year old daughter. It was entertaining and gave us an opportunity to talk about loss and being a good friend. Each chapter ends at just the right point. With each chapter you get to ask, "what do you think will happen?" It is a great way to nurture a love for reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2012
This book was a Christmas gift for my 7 year-old grandson. Even though the main character is a girl, my grandson is enjoying it. He thinks it is quite funny and it makes him laugh a lot. He reads it at night with his mother and sister listening to him which I think is great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2014
My daughter Reagan, age 9, has this to say: I liked the part where Clementine drew Moisturizer for the posters and when she named Maria's lizard! She is so curious and a great artist! I couldn't put it down! (Compliment to Sara Pennypacker😃)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 18, 2012
I got this book for my Grand Daughter for Christmas, she started reading immediately! She loves these books. They arrived on time and we patiently are waiting for the next one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
Friend of the Week

I like this book because it is very funny which everybody likes in a book! The book is weird… but in a good way. Clementine is a funky, interesting, weird person which is why she is unique.

Main Part: Clementine is a girl who gets chosen for Friend of the Week. She gets to collect the lunch money, and feed the fish. During the week, Clementine’s classmates will write good things about her in a booklet. At the end of the week, Clementine will take the booklet home to show her parents.

Characters: Clementine, Margaret, Mr.D’Matz, Mitchell, Clementine’s parents, Clementine’s brother, Clementine’s classmates, Kitten

Setting: Around our time now.

Clementine, Friend of the Week is a great book that will keep you interested all the way through until you finish. Marla Frazee and Sara Pennypacker make a great team. Sara writes books that are so interesting and Marla finishes the book off with her illustrations.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
A Box of Clementines (3-Book Paperback Boxed Set) (A Clementine Book)
A Box of Clementines (3-Book Paperback Boxed Set) (A Clementine Book) by Sara Pennypacker (Paperback - September 13, 2011)

Clementine and the Spring Trip (A Clementine Book)
Clementine and the Spring Trip (A Clementine Book) by Sara Pennypacker (Paperback - January 7, 2014)

Clementine and the Family Meeting
Clementine and the Family Meeting by Sara Pennypacker (Paperback - June 19, 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.