Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Nothing can kill The Grimace!"
Ah, remember the summer of 2000? Reality TV dominated our sets. Whether it be Survivor or Big Brother, there was certainly an abundance of it. And lost in the midst of it all was this treasure. Clerks, the failed animated series based on the Kevin Smith film of the same name, lasted a mere two episodes on the ABC network before having it's plug pulled. But alas, they had...
Published on May 13, 2003 by A. Estes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good
I would still suggest that you own this one for the occasional viddy. So much contrast are the reviews of this set from fans and non-fans alike. I guess I'm in the middle. While a lot of the episodes seem to be just filling time there are quite a few light spots that make drudging through the episode worthwile, especially for some safety/amusement tips by Jay and Silent...
Published on April 2, 2001 by gsturzl


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Nothing can kill The Grimace!", May 13, 2003
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
Ah, remember the summer of 2000? Reality TV dominated our sets. Whether it be Survivor or Big Brother, there was certainly an abundance of it. And lost in the midst of it all was this treasure. Clerks, the failed animated series based on the Kevin Smith film of the same name, lasted a mere two episodes on the ABC network before having it's plug pulled. But alas, they had more than just two episodes, there were six all together, and all six of them are right here, uncensored, on DVD, for your viewing pleasure. A lot of Smith fans questioned if the transition from an R-rated "potty humor" movie to a nationally syndicated primetime animated series was logical, or even funny. Well, rest assured, it is. The witty writing, the clever pop-culture references, the odd usage of celebrities, it's all here. No Kevin Smith fan will be disappointed. The animation on the series is flawless and all 6 episodes are hilarious and diverse. If this show had been given it's fair chance, we'd still be watching it today. All 6 episodes come with commentary by Smith and friends, where towards the end, Smith vents about his distatse for a certain thin-mustached lawyer. We are also given a few animatics (animated storyboards) and some little "making-of" featurettes. A definite must-buy for any Kevin Smith fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting animated series...Why was it cancelled?!, July 16, 2001
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
First of all, I've never been a huge fan of Kevin Smith. I did enjoy Mallrats, and viewed Dogma, as well as Clerks, and found them interesting, but nothing that I would really get into. When word hit of an animated series, the shows were put on the air for two episodes, before ABC television decided to cancel the series. After this, KEvin SMith and his creative team decided to get their version of revenge, and released this DVD set, featuring all six episodes. Yes, ALL SIX EPISODES! What's great is that the series had some funny yet creative parodies, everything from Japanese animation, Star Wars, The Matrix, Indiana Jones, The Last Starfighter, the original Batman TV series, and much more.
The basic premise of the series revolves around Dante Hicks, the down-on-his-luck clerk at the local "Quickstop" convenience store, and his annoying and troublesome chum Randal Graves, who usually succeeds in getting Dante into more trouble than he needs. Along for the ride are the fast-talking Jay, and his long-time companion Silent Bob.
The episodes are as follows: Episode 1: This TV pilot episodes was never shown, because the people who saw it were Hollywood suits who did not get it. The plot basically stems around the fact that in the city where Clerks is based (LEonardo, New Jersey), the town founder's relation Leonardo Leonardo, has returned to stay, and plans to open a new convenience store (Quickerstop), which could pose a risk for Dante and Randal.
Episode 2: After getting locked in the storage freezer at the "Quickstop," Dante and Randla begin to reminesce about their past adventures (which doesn't amount to much considering it's only their second show, but it is still funny!).
Episode 3: After a new pet store opens nearby run by Patrick Swayze (though voiced by Gilbert Gottfried), Randal gets the idea that a monkey in the store has infected the entire area with a virus, just like the movie "Outbreak." His idiotic overreaction causes the government to quarentine the Quickstop, and call for the extermination of the town to keep the virus from spreading. Side note: the voice of the leader of the government group is played by James Woods, great casting!
Episode 4: One of only 2 episodes that aired on TV. After Jay slips on some spilled orange soda in the "Quickstop," Randal idiotically manages to coax Jay to sue Dante for $10 million dollars. It doesn't look good when the NBA all-stars take the jury, and Randal does nothing to help the case (how can calling George Lucas and Steven Spielberg as witnesses help? Watch and see!). The episode also has a surprise animation ending, that just gets funnier everytime you watch it!
Episode 5: After Dante is berated by the fact that his high school baseball team does not remember that he was their team manager, Leonardo Leonardo gives Dante the chance to coach his little league team, and slowly, the team wins their way to glory! Meanwhile, Randal finds an old video game from his past, and after beating it, is recruited for a secret government operation, but it's not what he thinks!
Episode 6: After hearing from fellow fans that the entire Clerks cartoon series seems nothign like the film, Dante pledges that the cartoon will be more like it's predecessor. The entire episode then goes on to include everything from Matrix references and Chuck Jones cartoon jokes!
Along with all this, the DVD also has commentary by the people involved (and crude language is used, A LOT!!), as well as storyboards for each episode. The discs had me watching for several hours, and I still keep watching them! Buy this DVD, and experience cartoons that aren't for kids, and not quite for grown-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oh my God, Bear is driving! How can that be!?!?", October 5, 2004
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
These cartoons of Kevin Smith's critically acclaimed "Clerks" are hilariously funny. Dante and Randall play off of each other's words and thoughts brilliantly, much like the movie. The characters in the film are very animated to begin with, so making a cartoon series from it's basis makes sense, along with a lot of laughs. They tackle much of the same type of topics as they do in "Clerks", pushing the jokes much further in comparison, creating original and unique ideas untouched by your basic adult cartoons.

Fans of "Clerks" will find these 6 cartoons very entertaining. The same actors are used as voices, and they did an excellent job of matching up the animations with each characters personality. These cartoons move very fast, rattling jokes off, one after another, much like other comparable adult cartoons.

It's just too bad they stopped after 6 episodes. If they continued making them, "Simpsons", "South Park", and "Family Guy" would have some stiff competition on their hands. If they would have kept making them, they would have only gotten better with time, much like many cartoon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show is TOO GOOD for TV!, April 17, 2001
By 
Bryan Smith (Georgetown, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
I can't believe that this series was cancelled after only 2 episodes. God, I hope someone got fired for that one. This has got to be one of the funniest shows I've ever seen, and I haven't even seen the original Clerks. After viewing this DVD, I paln on buying the original. If it's anything like this, it's worth it. There are 6 episodes on the DVD, and all are excellent. The funniest moment is the last half of episode 4: it's a total spoof of Pokemon, and I was on the ground laughing. There's also some cool extras on the DVD, including a couple of featurettes, a film festival trailer for the series (this is a great trailer: it totally bashes the series, which is very funny), a promo which aired during the Super Bowl, trailers for the original Clerks, Chasing Amy, and Princess Mononoke, and best of all: commentary by Kevin Smith and the voice actors for each episode. Lately, TV has seen a lack of good shows(for the love of God, Survivor 2 absolutely , and it's a shame that Clerks: The Animated Series is no longer on the air. But this DVD moree than makes up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Cartoon for people who watch cartoons.", July 9, 2001
By 
h3adlin3 (DeKalb, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
Kevin Smith said it in the commentary track for one of the episodes, and a more accurate assesment of 'Clerks the Animated Series' would be hard to find. I saw both of the origianlly aired episodes, and was sorely dissapointed when the show was cancelled. To me this DVD collection is a Godsend, not only all of the episodes(in order!), intros to each episode with Jay and Silent Bob(I think everyone agrees the intro to episode two is the funniest of the six), background info on character creation and story development, but best of all(apart from the cartoons themselves) Kevin Smith and crew doing what they do best: Audio Commentary! Anyone who's bought Kevin's DVDs(or laser discs) will know what a treat his commentaries are. Sometimes outshining the movie they're commenting on. Definatley worth the price of addmission on its own. Well about the actual episodes themselves: 1) Somewhat typical first episode fare, establishes the main characters of Dante, Randal, Jay and Silent Bob, and Leonardo Leonardo, as well as the adversarial relation ship between the Clerks and Leonardo Leonardo. It also makes it quite clear that this is NOT the Clerks movie in animated form, but an honest to goodness effort at a new cartoon. 2) Hillarious take on all of the sitcoms that ever used the 'locked in the freezer' premise, and 'flashback to use old clips to fill time' dodge of cartoons as well as sitcoms, just made all the funier by the fact they only had one episode to 'flashback' to.
3) two words: James Woods. 4) An amalgamation of courtroom drama and Anime. "Who is driving?" "Oh no! Bear is driving! How can that be?!" 5) One of the strongest episodes story wise combines 'The Bad News Bears' with 'Temple of Doom' and a little 'Last Starfighter' thrown in for good measure. Meeting Randal's old girlfriends at his ten year highschool reunion has got to be one of the funniest moments in the cartoon. Both Randal and Dante's characters really begin to develop, and move beyond their movie counterparts. 6) Going 'OldSchool Clerks' this episode was created to answer the unavoidable backlash Kevin and company knew would come from die-hard Clerks fans. The main part of the episode deals with the Clerks staying inside the store, as incredibly exciting things that we never see, but only hear about, are occuring outside. Very funny, with refernces to 'THe MaTRiX' and Bug's Bunny Cartoons.
With voices by the original Clerks stars, and an interesting list of bigger names, such as the afore mentioned James Woods, Alec Baldwin(as Leonardo Leonardo) and Gweneth Paltrow, the vocal talent really adds to the show. The style of the animation really fits as well, psuedo comic bookish but not saturday morning stiff.
Excelent all the way around, and made for multiple viewings, a lot slips by the first time. And as you get to know the characters like Kevin Smith does, more of their motivations become clear. Buy it, Watch it, Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not the movie, accept it and laugh your a** off!, April 2, 2001
By 
Mr. Kevan (South Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
I waited for this collection to come out ever since Clerks: TAS was unforgivably cancelled after just two episodes. The 2 disc set did not disappoint. I watched all six episodes in one sitting, and laughed. I immediately watched all six episodes again with running commentary, and laughed some more. I can't fathom the View Askew fans who bash the show because of it's lack of cuss words. The show was on network TV, Disney-owned network TV, and still managed to be pretty vulgar. How many cartoons out there are poking fun at the Challenger disaster or Schindler's List? The latter gag, which was actually edited out when the network originally aired it, is pee-your-pants hilarious!
Most of the shows gags are spoofs of pop-culture, a la The Simpsons or The Critic. But unlike The Critic (which I also enjoy and am in no way dissing), The parodies on Clerks are out of love. The episode that spoofs Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (and The Bad News Bears AND The Last Starfighter) comes off less like a scathing satire than it does a fan letter.
Another jewel in this great collection of cartoons is Alec Baldwin's performance as the evil Leonardo Leonardo. His mantra, "Well played," is brilliantly delivered every time he says it. Brian O'Halloran's and Jeff Anderson's reprisals of Dante and Randall are also right on the mark.
Unfortunately, fans of Jay and Silent Bob may be disappoined. Certainly the most potty-mouthed in the entire Askewniverse, the cleaned up Jay isn't nearly as funny. The two have their moments though, esp. in their public service announcements and their tour-de-force in the last episode.
The DVD presentation is awesome! Everything is sharp and crystal clear. The media and featurettes are great and interesting, though it bothered me that the same exact features were on both discs. And as I mentioned before, the commentary is highly entertaining. You won't learn much about any speciffic elements of the show, but Kevin Smith and Co. are always funny to listen to, and this time they're bitter about the fate of the show.
Ultimately, my biggest complaint is that the six episodes made me hungry for more and I have to deal with the fact that there are none. This truly was a great cartoon and it's sad that it was cancelled so quickly while King of the Hill still lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Clerks" enters the toon world, July 14, 2001
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
WARNING! If your DVD player is more than a few years old, these discs may give it trouble. My own trusty Toshiba SD-3006 refused to play them. Oh well, I wanted a PlayStation 2, anyway. But enough technicalities for now.
Clerks Uncensored is essential for any Kevin Smith fan. It features all six episodes of the "Clerks" cartoon series originally created for ABC (which ended up airing only the fourth and second episodes, in that order). It also includes a raft of extra material, as any View Askew aficionado would expect.
Each of the episodes, three per disc, has an alternate audio track containing running commentary by cast and crew. (In one memorable moment, Kevin Smith talks about making the decision to go with ABC over other networks, and wanting to grab the metaphorical brass ring: "Folks, I'm here to tell you right now, f*** the brass ring.") There's also an alternate video track showing the "animatic" storyboards for each episode.
Each episode is introduced by new live-action vignettes featuring Jay and Silent Bob--not good for much more than a chuckle, but hey. You can also look at the scripts synchronized with the episodes if you're fortunate enough to have a DVD-ROM drive for playing them on your computer (I'm not, so I can't verify this). Elsewhere on the discs, there are promo spots and a making-of featurette.
Bottom line: is the series funny? Okay, maybe not the funniest thing ever seen on TV. But it's got its share of belly laughs and enough movie references (and toon references!) to keep film geeks happy. And it's great to hear all of the original actors from the movie doing the voices for their characters.
What makes it "Uncensored"? Some gags were snipped from the two episodes that aired, due to ABC's cold feet; these are restored on the disc in their original form ("Flintstone's List" gets my vote for the funniest). And, as you might expect, there's plenty of coarse language in the commentary and extras. Ironically, the commentary itself is not entirely uncensored; the participants fall over themselves trying not to mention ABC or anyone connected with the network by name, presumably due to legal entanglements.
Brass ring, indeed.
If you're still building your Kevin Smith collection, Clerks Uncensored has everything you could ever want. Yes, even a cameo by Walt Flanagan. Noonch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much for the Mouse House Network, December 25, 2000
By 
Jay Smith (Harrisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
You know, I think that Clerks on ABC makes about as much sense as The Sopranos or Tales from the Crypt or Dennis Miller. There are some things that are just too good for network. Kevin Smith should have known better after Disney tried to buffalo Dogma than to trust them to take care of him and his franchise in prime time.
Yes it would have been glorious. Yes it WAS for the brief moment it lasted, but it was doomed. Had it been on HBO or Showtime, perhaps we'd be able to see more episodes. But now, we have to settle for the DVD release.
Kevin Smith combines his uncanny ability to create realistic situations in a cartoon environment with his ability to create a cartoon situations with a realistic environment for a show that recalls the cartoons our generation grew up watching while appealing to our more mature sensibilities. Its great for a fan to finally see Dante and Randall together again at the Quick Stop and to see more of Smith's fictional version of Red Bank, New Jersey. So this series has great promise as a regular fix for our View Askew addiction. I hope it will contain many great extras and supplemental features.
This will be on my shelf as I don't feel my collection is complete until I know the WHOLE Clerks animated story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, all the episodes, December 18, 2000
By 
Todd Gray (Holt, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
With only 2 out of the 6 episodes ever making it to prime time, this series was soon forgotten by many of Americans. Sure the shows did not get great ratings, but the shows were genuinely funny, despite what all the critics had to say. These episodes were greatly unappreciated. They came and went, with the third episode being replaced by a rerun of Spin City. This show had enough material to make a series, and enough jokes to beat a lot of the other crap that is on television now. We finally had an educated television show, with humor that matched, and what does ABC choose to do to all of us loyal Kevin Smith fans, replace it with a show that we do not want to see. TV is so cluttered with the same generic shows that when a real show comes along, it gets lost in the crowd and suffers the same fate that Clerks did. This show deserves another look, and a home in the video or DVD collection of all the smart people who are sick of all the same things that are on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Addition to Kevin Smith Collectors!, February 24, 2001
This review is from: Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored (DVD)
This new 2-disc Clerks: Animated Series Uncensored DVD is an amazing addition to any Kevin Smith fan! The 2 DVD set contains all 6 uncut episodes of the Clerks animated series, which is good since only 2 of the episodes aired on TV, out of order I might add. The episodes are shown in the order they are supposed to be in, so they don't confuse us with unseen footage.
Aside from all the half-hour episodes, we get a bevy of extras. First up is a commentary track for each episode that includes Kevin Smith, Scott Mosier, Dave Mandel, Chris Bailey, Jason Mewes(Jay), Brian O'Halloran(Dante), and Jeff Anderson(Randal). We then get 2 featurettes, one covering how they wanted the same style of the Clerks movie in the tv show, and the other covering the development of the characters. We also get a trailer and a TV spot, introductions to each episode by Jay and Silent Bob, animatics for each episode, and loads of DVD-ROM material.
All-in-all, this is a great addition to the View Askew collector. The only gripe I have about the whole series is that because it was made for TV, that the bad language is minimal, but the shows are still hillarious because they capture the essence of the film(quick dialouge, and unique conversations). This is only a tiny scrape on what is one of the best View Askew DVD's ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored
Clerks - The Animated Series Uncensored by Brian O'Halloran (DVD - 2001)
$22.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.