Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Van Cliburn Retrospective has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by stone_alliance
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: CD in very good condition and plays perfectly. Complete with all inserts/artwork also in very good condition--no sawcuts or other markings. Free upgrade to 1st class shipping. Mailed in a sturdy bubble mailer. Buy with confidence from a one-person operation, where items are always in stock and accurate grading and descriptions are the norm, not the exception--as my feedback substantiates.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Van Cliburn Retrospective
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Van Cliburn Retrospective

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, June 20, 2000
"Please retry"
$9.46 $5.97

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 20, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Video Artists Int'l
  • ASIN: B00000C3PK
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,038,457 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Piano Sonata No. 2 in G minor ('Eroica'), Op. 50: 1st movement: Flos regum Arturus
2. Intermezzo for piano in A minor, Op. 118/1
3. Intermezzo for piano in A major, Op. 118/2
4. Ballade for piano in G minor, Op. 118/3
5. Piano Sonata: Molto Moderato
6. Piano Sonata: Vivace
7. Piano Sonata: Andante Sostenuto
8. Sonata for keyboard in A major, K. 322 (L. 483)
9. Sonata for keyboard in G major, K. 14 (L. 387)
10. Piano Sonata No. 3 in D minor ('Norse'), Op. 57: 2nd movement, Tristemente ma con tenerezza
11. Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 16: 1st movement, Andantino

Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By DAVID BRYSON VINE VOICE on September 11, 2005
The international piano competitions have a great deal of atmosphere and `buzz' about them, not to mention a great deal of politics like any other sport. Van Cliburn was the first non-Russian to win the Tchaikovsky competition in Moscow, and when the prize in the next of those seemed inevitably to be going to Ogdon the Soviet authorities pressed a reluctant Ashkenazy into entering to split the award with him. The reclusive Cliburn founded his own event in Fort Worth, and this disc contains a selection of the entries for the first two of the series in 1962 and 1966. Recorded material appears to be thin on the ground, and the only complete work of any great length here is the Copland sonata played by gold medallist Ralph Votapek in 1962. The other contributions are from Lupu, gold medallist in 1966, and from Nicolai Petrov who was apparently silver medallist in that year, although the liner-note tells us at another point that that award went to Barry Lee Snyder.

Of the three, Lupu has made the big time and deservedly so, and my impression is that the other two have not. Votapek starts very well with a movement from one of the MacDowell sonatas, displaying a big tone at the start and a lot of sensitivity and sympathy to this slightly reactionary music later. In any case it's pleasant to hear anything by MacDowell these days other than To a Wild Rose. In the three Brahms numbers from op118 there are more wrong notes than I would expect to hear from a gold medallist in any of the more recent competitions, but they are agreeably played, showing a good sense of the composer's idiom and some real originality in the clog-dance effect that he gives to the rhythm of the ballade.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in