Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful.
"Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffs Notes)" is a great way to help you understand what you're reading, if you're having difficulties. If you're not having a problem reading "The Great Gatsby," this will give you questions to test your knowledge of the book. Of course, you should read the Cliffs Notes AFTER you read "The Great Gatsby,"...
Published on August 20, 2002 by MAB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cliff notes
It is very useful but I have used these in the past and spark notes are putting Cliffs notes in the past
Published 12 months ago by carol vice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful., August 20, 2002
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
"Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffs Notes)" is a great way to help you understand what you're reading, if you're having difficulties. If you're not having a problem reading "The Great Gatsby," this will give you questions to test your knowledge of the book. Of course, you should read the Cliffs Notes AFTER you read "The Great Gatsby," not instead of. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relatively good notes for subject, October 29, 2005
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
Here is an honest review of the book for what it is, not the ethical and educational implications of reading this book. In terms of the educational value received from the book, it's not too bad. Although their vocabulary isn't as great as the vocabular sparknotes employs, their guides seem to colloquially explain the subject material, which is the purpose of the book. I bought the book because I was at Target and needed a guide for an upcomming test where I wouldn't have internet access the nights before (I usually use sparknotes because it's free), and I was surprised by the writing quality of the book. Granted, it's not as good as Fitzgeral's writing, however it does relate the story, which is the primary purpose for a history class.

Concerning the people who have condemned this book, they need to understand the multiple approaches to learning subject areas. Currently I maintain a schedule where on good days I receive 6 hours of sleep and on bad a receive 3 to none because of my busy schedule and heavy extra-cirricular activity. Reading cliff-notes doesn't mean we as readers won't look in the book for quotes (for example - writing a paper) to support our ideas. Simply condemning them because they're not the real book is unfair to the book, the authors, and the people that use cliff notes for ligitimate purposes. Overall, it conveys the idea well, however sparknotes does an equally decent job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, May 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read the book several times over many years. I just wanted a refresher and maybe a bit of insight. This was perfect for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIFESAVER, May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
Some of the vocabulary in the Great Gatsby is challenging and Nick carraway kinda beats around the bush so this book helped .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Gatsby in notes, May 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
Not only is this great for understanding what Fitzgerald was trying to tell us, which I have found that many people did miss the the point. It also is great for helping me as a writer. He wrote 170 +or- pages and it knocks your socks off. My last book (still writing) has 480 pages. after reading this I have begun to cut a lot of things out. And of course, CliffsNotes are always super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT!!!!!, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
It really helps you comprehend any chapter and gives a great in depth character analysis! Too bad teachers frown apon the use of it. Ooh well still worth buying and is a great help when it comes to essays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gatsby, February 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent review for my book club discussion. I had read the book in the past couple years before the recent movie so I did not want to reread it so the CliffNotes was an excellent review and I learned new things about Scott and Zelda! Phyllis R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great help, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
My son was having to read two books for school at one time so this was a great help to use after he read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, December 24, 2013
This review is from: CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature) (Paperback)
This study guide has excellent summaries and analyses of each chapter, three essays on main characters and background information about the author and the context of the novel. It’s also got some extraneous content, like a Character Map which visualizes the relationships between the characters in a kind of flow chart and two literary essays in the back that don’t add much to what has come before it. Graphics in the margins denoting “Character Insight” and other topics also don’t seem that useful to me, and the copy editing is poorly done with misspelled words including characters’ names on many pages. This study guide does have some unique content. For example, it points to a possible homosexual theme in a scene involving the narrator, and also highlights the warped perception of his perspective after a night of drinking. This study guide has the most thorough chapter summaries and analyses of any guide I’ve read but it’s also stuffed with extraneous content which dilutes the purpose of this type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but I would have thought there were deeper themes behind such a popular book in education., November 20, 2013
By 
Reginald H. Henderson (Rochester, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's good, but I would have thought there were deeper themes behind such a popular book in education. Great Gatsby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

CliffsNotes on Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (Cliffsnotes Literature)
$5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.