Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 1, 2002
Few students in America can get out of high school without having to read Lord Of The Flies in English class sometime during the four years that they are there. The story is fairly easy to understand on a superficial level, but the real purpose of this novel is to understand symbolism and foreshadowing. Items in the novel like Piggy's glasses and the conch shell have a "deeper" meaning that may not be obvious to every reader. If the reader is keen, he'll be able to realize that the author tells the reader what is going to happen in a subliminal way prior to actually coming out and saying it. That's called foreshadowing, and it may also be difficult for some readers to comprehend. For these reasons, these Cliffs Notes are extremely useful. The reader will gain a better understanding and appreciation of the novel by using this supplement while reading the actual novel. With these notes, the reader is given the added benefit of reading commentary written by someone who has already read the book, and is capable of breaking down the significant parts of every chapter.
One drawback to having these notes (as is the drawback to having ANY Cliffs Notes) is the temptation to substitute the notes for the actual novel. While this substitution may work for other novels, it isn't a good idea to think it unnecessary to read the book just because you've read the notes. I tried that, and it didn't work. Besides, the Cliffs Notes are just about as long as the actual book, so you might as well read the real thing.
The bottom line is that these notes are a good investment if you want to gain a good understand of the novel, and insight into what your English teacher might think is important. I recommend these notes.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2009
I find that this little book of notes is an excellent teaching resource. It is also excellent for students, and is helpful in understanding the novel which is complex. This book is easy to navigate, and is one of the best I have seen as it covers every aspect of the novel. I use this book every literature class with my students.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
My son is Aspergers and not the greatest at creative writing this described characters that he did not think was important and explained why. It has all the vocab by chapters now I want you to understand this was the tool I used to help him I did not hand it over to him. It is to good and teachers are aware so they add stuff to tests and report that is not in here so if you are a student reading this you better read the book also this is an aid not a replacement....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
As a dark commentary on human nature, Nobel-Prize-winning novelist William Golding's *Lord of the Flies* has more layers than your average quick read for a lazy day on the beach. That is why, to plumb its depths, it is not only nice but necessary to have this excellent commentary as a key to what Golding has to tell us about the "savage mind" of young boys and by extension the men they might grow into. An essential commentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2000
As I was reading the novel i understood the story, but did not understand the symbolism contained in Golding's work. The Cliff Notes explain the imagery through character analysis and comments on each chapter making the novel very understandable. It was very interesting in how the book pulled together showing a parallel of modern society, not just an adventure story of boys on an island, that Golding so ingeniously created.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
Excellent for students who have difficulty comprehending the vocabulary and the plot. I teach a Special Needs Student and between an encapsulated version and Cliff's Notes, he was able to complete his summer reading well before it was due! Kudos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
Read: 8/13
Rate: 4/5

8/13: CliffsNotes: Lord of the Flies got me through the dreadful bore of a novel, understanding it a bit better. However, the summary of each chapter was too brief, and the author went forever in the analysis. For whatever it was worth, CliffsNotes: Lord of the Flies was a good idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
Needed these to brush up so I could have intelligent conversation with child who is writing about book for his middle school lit class. I couldn't remember (decades ago) or I missed big chunks of what the author was saying. In this case Cliff notes were just right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2011
The novel Lord of the Flies is an excellent book but confusing at times.
The Cliff-Notes helped me to understand the vocabulary, Golding's complex descriptions, and the meaning of the book.
The summaries helped the most. They gave quick information to preview the chapter and to review for tests & the essay.
Hope you enjoy the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
This guide offers character insight and in-depth analysis of every chapter and how it relates to several different themes. Very helpful! I highly recommend it for first time readers of Golding's tale or anyone who wishes to grasp a deeper understanding of the material. Genius guide. Flawless. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.