Test Prep AP SAT GMAT MCAT Learn more Discover Test Prep Central

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Very Good | See details
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

CliffsQuickReview Algebra I (Bk. 1) [Paperback]

Jerry Bobrow Ph.D.
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback --  
Paperback, May 29, 2001 --  
Multimedia CD --  

Book Description

May 29, 2001 076456370X 978-0764563706 1
CliffsQuickReview course guides cover the essentials of your toughest classes. Get a firm grip on core concepts and key material, and test your newfound knowledge with review questions.

Whether you're brushing up on pre-Algebra concepts or on your way toward mastering algebraic fractions, factoring, and functions, CliffsQuickReview Algebra I can help. This guide introduces each topic, defines key terms, and carefully walks you through each sample problem step-by-step. In no time, you'll be ready to tackle other concepts in this book such as

  • Equations, ratios, and proportions
  • Inequalities, graphing, and absolute value
  • Coordinate Geometry
  • Roots and radicals
  • Quadratic equations

CliffsQuickReview Algebra I acts as a supplement to your textbook and to classroom lectures. Use this reference in any way that fits your personal style for study and review — you decide what works best with your needs. Here are just a few ways you can search for topics:

  • Use the free Pocket Guide full of essential information
  • Get a glimpse of what you'll gain from a chapter by reading through the Chapter Check-In at the beginning of each chapter
  • Use the Chapter Checkout at the end of each chapter to gauge your grasp of the important information you need to know
  • Test your knowledge more completely in the CQR Review and look for additional sources of information in the CQR Resource Center
  • Use the glossary to find key terms fast.

With titles available for all the most popular high school and college courses, CliffsQuickReview guides are a comprehensive resource that can help you get the best possible grades.



Editorial Reviews

From the Back Cover

We take great notes—and make learning a snap When it comes to pinpointing the stuff you really need to know, nobody does it better than CliffsNotes. This fast, effective tutorial helps you master core algebraic concepts—from monomials, inequalities, and coordinate geometry to functions and variations, roots and radicals, and word problems—and get the best possible grade. At CliffsNotes, we're dedicated to helping you do your best, no matter how challenging the subject. Our authors are veteran teachers and talented writers who know how to cut to the chase—and zero in on the essential information you need to succeed. Study smarter @ cliffsnotes.com Free CliffsNote-A-Day tips Free test-taking tips and tricks Free test samples and schedules Free info on other test resources Plus hundreds of downloadable Cliffs titles 24 hours a day Make the grade with CliffsQuickReviews CliffsQuickReviews are available for more than 30 introductory level courses. See inside for a complete listing of these and other bestselling Cliffs titles.

About the Author

About the Author Jerry Bobrow, PhD, is an award-winning teacher and educator. he is a national authority in the field of test preparation. As executive director of Bobrow Test Preparation Services, Dr. Bobrow has been administering the test preparation programs for most California State Universities for the past 27 years. Dr. Bobrow has authored more than 30 national best-selling test preparation books including Cliffs Preparation Guides for the GRE, GMAT, MSAT, SAT I, CBEST, NTE, ACT, and PPST. Each year he personally lectures to thousands of students on preparing for these important exams.

Product Details

  • Series: Cliffs Quick Review
  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Cliffs Notes; 1 edition (May 29, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 076456370X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764563706
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 0.3 x 5.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #517,122 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Jerry Bobrow, Ph.D. is an award-winning educator and author. He is a national authority in the field of test preparation and has been administering the test preparation programs for most California state universities for the past 29 years. Each and every year he administers over 500 programs assisting over 17,000 students in preparing for standardized exams. Dr. Bobrow has authored over 30 national best-selling test preparation books including Cliffs Preparation Guides for the MSAT, GRE, GMAT, SAT I/PSAT, CBEST, NTE, PPST, ELM, GED and ACT tests.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for brushing up May 4, 2001
By Kitsuno
Format:Paperback
This book is an excellent overview for people who may not have had any algebra for a long time, it is clear, and has very good examples and explanations. Unlike many 'learn algebra' type books, this one shows you exactly how to do the problems from start to finish. I believe you could actually teach yourself an entire semester of algebra on your own with only this book as a teacher. I highly reccomend it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent refresher for College Algebra. September 16, 1998
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
The book is an excellent review of the subject for those who need to brush up on the subject after many years away from formal mathematics. Provides a down and dirty guide to entry level college algebra with emphasis on process. Problem solving rather than jargon takes precedence. Provides many useful rules that were never taught in school. I find myself referring to it frequently in higher level college math courses.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Transition! September 18, 2000
Format:Paperback
I got this book recently because I needed a simple small "transition" book to review all the Algebra I had lost from taking Geometry. Well... I really like this book. It is very useful and I hope to be able to easily integrate it with the rest of all my studying materials. I really like how it has such an easy interface and is small. (to fit in small backpack pockets) For these first months of Algebra II, you guys that are too dumb to remember you basic algebra (like me), get this book. It is a great tool for reviewing even the most important sections in Algebra. Thanks Cliff Notes... you allow people to slack at all times of the year. :)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review tool! March 15, 2007
Format:Paperback
After 13 years off of college, I went back last fall. The University required non-traditional students to take assessment tests, and in my first test, I was two points under the "passing" grade to get into college-level math courses. I bought the book, spent a weekend on it just reminding myself of all those things I forgot, and took the test again 3 days later, this time getting a perfect grade, saving myself several hundred bucks and a year of boring math classes.

The book is concise, clear, shows every step to each problem, and doesn't have a lot of empty filler. I can't recommend it highly enough, and it was very helpful for me.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! January 7, 2007
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A book worthy of any math student's library. Truly an exceptional help in grasping the fundamentals of Algebra in clear, direct terms. Couldn't be better.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "Review" Book December 9, 2003
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This book is the 2nd Algebra book that I bought. I am the type of person who goes beyond what is given to me. This book is a great book for review purposes. I am over half way through the year in Algebra 1 and already know how to do everything that will be taught to me by the end of the year. I have really learned a lot from these books and I will say, that this is a great book for anyone that is studying Algebra.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise Review January 7, 2010
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is stripped down and to the point. All the information you need to do a thorough review without all the fluff. I would have rated it a "5" if it had more "Test Yourself" questions -- but, that's a personal preference (don't let it stop you from buying the book).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I've tried other Algebra and Pre-Algebra resource books, but keep coming back to this one.

Clear, concise, handy paperback filled with 13 chapters which review all you will learn in Pre-Algebra and Algebra I classes. A core review, online resource guide and glossary of related terms are also in the book.

An excellent reference resource, the book contains the following subjects:

Chapter 1: Preliminaries and Basic Operations (Pre-Algebra)
Chapter 2: Signed Numbers, Fractions, and Percents (some is covered by Basic Math and Pre-Algebra classes).
Chapter 3: Terminology, Sets and Espressions
Chapter 4: Equations, Ratios, and Proportions
Chapter 5: Equations with Two Variables (touched on in Pre-Algebra)
Chapter 6: Monomials, Polynomials, and Factoring
Chapter 7: Algebraic Fractions
Chapter 8: Inequalities, Graphing, and Absolute Value (touched on in Pre-Algebra)
Chapter 9: Coordinate Geometry
Chapter 10 : Functions and Variations
Chapter 11: Roots and Radicals
Chapter 12: Quadratic Equations
Chapter 13: Word Problems

For those students in need of a bit more review of the basic concepts leading up to Algebra I, consider this book:
CliffsNotes Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Practice Pack.

Overall, this book covers the core subjects in a well-organized, concisely written, simple way, which makes understanding the concepts and applying them, much easier.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Good
Published 5 hours ago by victor
5.0 out of 5 stars good book
I bought this book to prepare for taking this class. It is very educational and precise. You will like it
Published 1 month ago by R. Lancaster
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME
I love this book because it gives you problems to-do and explains the process. I would recommend this book to people who are not good at math.
Published 19 months ago by Hummzah
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Refresher, but a Little Light
I picked up this book as a supplement to my cache of teaching materials, hoping to find some great shortcuts I could give to the students. Read more
Published on March 15, 2012 by Stuart Gustafson
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy on Kindle
The Kindle is not capable of showing all the math symbols so it has a lot of [?] instead; making this book useless on the Kindle.
Published on January 22, 2012 by Andrew Kolb
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise with a few disturbing errors !
CliffsQuickReview Algebra I by Jerry Bobrow, 2001 edition, presents a clear, concise
review of Algebra I but with some errors which could create confusion and headscratching... Read more
Published on November 18, 2011 by Victor L. Nazaire
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome
It is a good refresher aid if you want something quick and understandable. I would definately recommend people to buy this. Read more
Published on November 3, 2011 by erwin
5.0 out of 5 stars liked it
just what I needed, didnt have to be new but was in good shape had a little writing but it was the answers so that helps thanks
Published on September 1, 2011 by mabels1958
5.0 out of 5 stars great product
I receive the product in a timely manner and it was in perfect condition.
Thank you
Published on August 8, 2010 by R. Storey
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent review for the person where algebra is still reasonably...
While this book will be of little value if you need to learn or significantly re-learn basic algebra, it is an excellent resource if you simply need a refresher to prepare for a... Read more
Published on February 4, 2010 by Charles Ashbacher
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Citations (learn more)
This book cites 2 books:



What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category