Test Prep AP SAT GMAT MCAT Learn more Discover Test Prep Central

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Very Good | See details
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

CliffsQuickReview Algebra II [Paperback]

Edward Kohn , David Alan Herzog
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Paperback, May 29, 2001 --  
There is a newer edition of this item:
CliffsNotes Algebra II Quick Review, 2nd Edition CliffsNotes Algebra II Quick Review, 2nd Edition 4.0 out of 5 stars (4)
$8.70
In Stock.

Book Description

May 29, 2001 0764563718 978-0764563713 1
CliffsQuickReview course guides cover the essentials of your toughest classes. Get a firm grip on core concepts and key material, and test your newfound knowledge with review questions.

Whether you're looking for an in-depth treatment of the entire subject matter or occasional reinforcement of key algebra concepts, this is the place to find it.. CliffsQuickReview Algebra II is a comprehensive study guide to the many topics of a second course in algebra, including information on linear equations, complex numbers, and conic sections. In no time, you'll be ready to tackle other concepts in this book such as

  • Linear equations in one, two, and three variables
  • Factoring polynomials
  • Relations and functions
  • Quadratic systems
  • Exponential and logarithmic functions

CliffsQuickReview Algebra II acts as a supplement to your textbook and to classroom lectures. Use this reference in any way that fits your personal style for study and review — you decide what works best with your needs. Here are just a few ways you can search for topics:

  • Use the free Pocket Guide full of essential information
  • Get a glimpse of what you'll gain from a chapter by reading through the Chapter Check-In at the beginning of each chapter
  • Use the Chapter Checkout at the end of each chapter to gauge your grasp of the important information you need to know
  • Test your knowledge more completely in the CQR Review and look for additional sources of information in the CQR Resource Center
  • Use the glossary to find key terms fast.

With titles available for all the most popular high school and college courses, CliffsQuickReview guides are a comprehensive resource that can help you get the best possible grades.



Editorial Reviews

From the Back Cover

We take great notes—and make learning a snap When it comes to pinpointing the stuff you really need to know, nobody does it better than CliffsNotes. This fast, effective tutorial helps you master core algebraic concepts—from linear equations, relations and functions, and rational expressions to radicals, quadratic systems, and factoring polynomials—and get the best possible grade. At CliffsNotes, we're dedicated to helping you do your best, no matter how challenging the subject. Our authors are veteran teachers and talented writers who know how to cut to the chase—and zero in on the essential information you need to succeed. Study smarter @ cliffsnotes.com Free CliffsNote-A-Day tips Free test-taking tips and tricks Free test samples and schedules Free info on other test resources Plus hundreds of downloadable Cliffs titles 24 hours a day Make the grade with CliffsQuickReviews CliffsQuickReviews are available for more than 30 introductory level courses. See inside for a complete listing of these and other bestselling Cliffs titles.

About the Author

Ed Kohn is an outstanding educator and author, with over 33 years' experience teaching mathematics. Currently, he is the testing coordinator and math department chairman at the Sherman Oaks Center for Enriched Studies. Formerly an instructor at Fairleigh Dickinson University, David Alan Herzog is the author of over 100 audio visual tides and computer programs and has written and edited several books in mathematics and science.

Product Details

  • Series: Cliffs Quick Review
  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Cliffs Notes; 1 edition (May 29, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0764563718
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764563713
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 5.4 x 8.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #263,989 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Review or Preparatory Book For Algebra II November 28, 1998
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This book really helped me prepare for Algebra II. With the help of this book, I had a 97% in the first semester and a 94% in the second. Then at the end of the year, this was a great tool in reviewing for the final.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! January 7, 2007
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A fabulous help for those who need a desk reference for Algebra. It is clear, concise and very helpful. It covers every topic I need it too with easy to follow explanations.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with a few flaws August 2, 2006
A Kid's Review
Format:Paperback
Overall, this book is great. Everything is pretty clear and it makes algebra II almost easy. However, there are many typos I found, like forgetting a negative, or using a wrong variable. but otherwise, it's awesome!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Presentation is too fast for anyone but the lapsed master February 21, 2010
Format:Paperback
If you were once able to master the principles of algebra II and need a quick refresher, then this book may satisfy your needs. However, if you have never mastered them and need to learn them, then you will find this book woefully inadequate. The coverage is:

*) Linear sentences in one variable
*) Segments, lines and inequalities
*) Linear sentences in two variables
*) Linear equations in three variables
*) Polynomial arithmetic
*) Factoring polynomials
*) Rational expressions
*) Relations and functions
*) Polynomial functions
*) Radicals and complex numbers
*) Quadratics in one variable
*) Conic sections
*) Quadratic systems
*) Exponential and logarithmic functions
*) Sequences and series
*) Additional topics
*) Word problems

All of this is done in 244 pages, so the presentation is very rapid and brief. There are short three to four question quizzes at the end of each chapter and a 29-question test at the end of the book. Brief answers to all questions are included.
In my opinion, this is not enough proficiency testing to allow the reader to adequately test their retention of the material. On the cover the blurb is "The essentials fast . . ." but in my opinion it is too fast to do anyone but the lapsed master any good.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book January 9, 2007
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This Book is an excellent reference for tutors and teachers. It will help anyone learning Algebra II or training/teaching children.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Kohn. July 17, 2007
Format:Paperback
Material is step-by-step based, allowing you to learn in steps and excel in several areas of Algebra(II). [Helped me a ton- allowed me to start from the beginning and work my way up in areas both easy and difficult.]
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many typos May 6, 2012
Format:Paperback
There is at least one typo in every chapter and some chapters have multiple mistakes. The chapter on logarithms even has an example that they forgot to include the answer to and there was a mistake in the chapter on conic sections that made me think I was going crazy. Normally I'd be a little forgiving but COME ON. This is math. Having mistakes in a math book can really mess with people's heads.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I love CliffQuickReviews Algebra 2 November 7, 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I've read bunches of books on mathematics and I still find Cliff Quick Review mathematics series to be one of the most concise and thorough books in the genre! A must read whether you are in school or just looking to brush up on some of the stuff that you never really did grasp in school! I love it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars good book
I bought this book to prepare for taking this class. It is very educational and precise. You will like it
Published 1 month ago by R. Lancaster
4.0 out of 5 stars great
This was wonderful in helping my daughter she needed a guide and this was great and affordable would buy other books if needed too.
Published 11 months ago by Sunshine
5.0 out of 5 stars great book
great book and very helpful for me to study for a huge costly test. very easy to understand and plenty of examples.
Published 11 months ago by Sharon G.
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Reference Book
This was a great refresher for me on Algebra 2. I love how all the information is concise and easily accessible. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Dana Buchmiller
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Review Book
We keep several of the math Cliff books around and they come in handy during homework time. The books are clear and concise.
Published on December 20, 2011 by KC
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remedial Help.
This is a great resource for supplemental help in Algebra II. As a parent and teacher, I'm using it, myself, to hone my knowledge of Algebraic concepts I've forgotten. Read more
Published on July 2, 2010 by summermagic
3.0 out of 5 stars Albebra II Cliff Quick Review
The book has some good notes but is not as complete as I was wishing. This particular vender took longer to get the book to me than any I have ever used on Amazon however. Read more
Published on February 7, 2010 by Audun Mikkelson
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Received quicker than expected. Quality was great, just as if I bought brand new from a bookstore. would definitly purchase thru them again.
Published on October 11, 2009 by Tracy S. Romeo
4.0 out of 5 stars Algebra II Review
Thanks for being so prompt in the shipment of the Algebra II work book. It is a great help to my son this summer as he keeps up with his math skills in preparation for his next... Read more
Published on July 10, 2008 by Jasmine briscoew
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only




What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category