Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars against the tide
Much of the content of this book will be familiar to those most likely to read this book. The proposition that peer review is biased and unreliable should come as no surprise. The sections on the widening gap between the predictions of alarmists and statistics on actual climactic conditions are worthwhile, but unsurprising. This book does an excellent job of explaining...
Published on April 16, 2011 by D. W. MacKenzie

versus
1 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man proposes - Nature disposes
In reading this book, I was constantly reminded that all the protestations of constitutional infringement and political machinations are totally irrelevant. What we choose to think about our collective contribution to climate change will have zero effect on the actuality.

What IS relevant is the reality (or not) of climate change and it's implications...
Published on February 20, 2012 by Walter S. Freeman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars against the tide, April 16, 2011
By 
This review is from: Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives (Hardcover)
Much of the content of this book will be familiar to those most likely to read this book. The proposition that peer review is biased and unreliable should come as no surprise. The sections on the widening gap between the predictions of alarmists and statistics on actual climactic conditions are worthwhile, but unsurprising. This book does an excellent job of explaining the facts concerning economic costs of environmentalist regulation. One of the strengths of this book is that it clarifies the pervasive nature of environmentalism. Stricter enforcement of enviro-regulations by the Obama Administration will most certainly limit further progress in living standards in industrialized nations, and lack of global economic progress could have disastrous consequences for relatively poor nations.

The idea that environmentalism fits with the unconstitutional trend of empowering the presidency is correct, but one that has little reach beyond those already critical of anthropogenic global warming movement. The fact of the matter is that committed environmentalists have no respect for the Constitution, and most other people have come to accept unconstitutional governance in America. This is an important problem, but I don't think this book will do much directly to solve it. Attitudes concerning law need to change. The aforementioned sections that debunk alarmism may help take the wind out of the sails of this anti-constitutional environmentalist movement, but I don't expect concern over the constitution itself to mount any time soon.

The last chapter is the most important. K-12 environmental indoctrination is dangerous. I had already gained the impression that children are being taught to believe particular things about warming, rather than to think critically about its causes. While it is true that environmentalism is taking over our government and our lives, this is because environmentalist beliefs are taking over "our minds". The simple solution to this problem is to promote critical thinking and tolerance, but this is easier said than done. My guess is that too few people will read this book (at the margin of beliefs), but the authors of its chapters deserve credit for trying to improve public understanding of these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucid and instructive, April 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives (Hardcover)
In the foreword, Michaels writes: "Edited volumes are supposed to be boring, uneven, and unread. I don't think this one will garner those labels." My take follows:

Chapter 1 - The story of how the Constitution has been reinterpreted versus the founder's initial intent is well told by Pilon & Turgeon. Not only have the "enumerated powers" of Congress been reduced to insignificance, but also the "separation of powers" has been undercut by the rise of administrative agencies controlled by the President. All Congress really has left is the power of the purse.

Chapter 2 - The president's favorability rating (strong disapproval minus strong approval, Rasmussen) dipped into negative territory just after the Waxman-Markey bill was passed by the House of Representatives in late June 2009, where it has stayed ever since, after which the cap-and-trade bill died in the Senate. Michaels theorizes that many members of Congress backed away from this controversial legislation, and would prefer that the EPA regulate carbon emissions on whatever basis it chooses.

Chapter 3 - Ross McKittrick relates his long and ultimately successful effort to publish a paper refuting "an important claim in the IPCC's Fourth Assessment Report." By his reckoning the IPCC's claim was "not just wrong" but "based on fabricated evidence" as well. Most of the reviewer comments were positive, and yet one editor after another turned the paper down and in some cases simply refused to communicate with McKittrick. Pretty sad, when science is supposedly directed to finding the truth.

Chapter 4 - Why is it so often said that global warming is a "national security" issue? Per Ivan Eland, global warming zealots think this claim will give their agenda more "punch," while generals, admirals, et al. see it as helping to justify more military spending. Actually, global warming - even if the results were unfortunate - would not make wars more likely.

Chapter 5 - Referencing provisions of the Waxman-Markey Bill (dead at this point), Sallie James suggests that attempts to ban imports from countries that did not impose comparable restrictions on greenhouse gas emissions (a) might violate international trade agreements, and (b) in any case, would be deeply resented by the targeted countries. Not a good idea!

Chapters 6 & 7 - Dire predictions about the effects of global warming are off the mark, write Indur Goklany (re economic well-being) & Robert Davis (re human health). The basic error is to ignore adaptations to a generally warming trend that have been/will be possible with scientific progress and increasing wealth, e.g., heating and air conditioning, better forecasting of severe weather events, and measures to combat malaria. Diversion of resources from growing economic output to reducing greenhouse gas emissions would be counterproductive for developed and developing countries alike.

Chapter 8 - Some US schools attempt to indoctrinate students in the human-caused global warming theory; others ignore the issue on grounds that it is too "controversial." Neal McCluskey argues for school choice so parents can decide what they want their children to learn. Otherwise, "we will get people who either know little or nothing about climate change or people who are scared to death of it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climate Coup, August 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives (Hardcover)
The editor of this book is one of the leading skeptics of "greenhouse gas/global warming." The chapters by various experts in their fields discuss in detail the attempts at censoring the works of the leading skeptics, the hacked emails from the Climate Research Unit in Britain, effects of the phoney GH/GW alarm on the national economy, and the attempts by the national defense community to get on board the GH/GW ship. Strongly recommended as armament for those not convinced of greenhouse gas/climate change scam.
/R. C. Whitten, research scientist NASA-retired
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usurpation of power, June 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives (Hardcover)
This book explores more than just the fraud of climate change, but reveals how the true believers are subverting constitutional power to achieve their goals. Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance... P Michaels is a luminary, November 17, 2011
This review is from: Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives (Hardcover)
Make no mistake ... Patrick Michaels is a luminary.... An increasingly rare commodity ... a scientist able to apply common sense and insight to see through the scaremongering, and discern a more rational approach based on sound science. In just seven minutes Patrick Michaels succinctly sums up the situation and appropriate approach :-
[....]

Patrick Michaels, a pre-eminent climate scientist and member if the
IPCC has carried out the cost benefit analysis of implementing Kyoto and the 80%
reduction target by 2050 on a world wide basis and has concluded that
the earths temperature would be reduced by 0.08 of a degree and would cost in the trillions. The cost benefit does not stack up. (Also, I believe that the 0.08C would be snuffed out by the increased emissions of China and India who are exempt. i.e. the 0.08C is just for the Wests carbon reductions.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truth, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stop listening to lies. Eco-Marxist are using lies to blame capitalism on everything they can. The ruling class want us on bicycles while they have private jets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man proposes - Nature disposes, February 20, 2012
In reading this book, I was constantly reminded that all the protestations of constitutional infringement and political machinations are totally irrelevant. What we choose to think about our collective contribution to climate change will have zero effect on the actuality.

What IS relevant is the reality (or not) of climate change and it's implications.

For this, we will have the excruciating luxury of observing first-hand what will happen for it will not take too long to be evident.

At that time, I hope we will summon, right or wrong, the authors of all such feckless productions to the court of judgement for their just rewards. On those that were proven correct, we should heap accolades and rewards; for those whom time shows the lie, perhaps a sojourn spent in residence staked to a ant-hill would be appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False, October 23, 2011
The information in this book is false and misleading. I pray that our young people will not fall victim to the lies these CATO institute people spread so eagerly among the wealthy baby-boom generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives
Climate Coup: Global Warmings Invasion of Our Government and Our Lives by Patrick J. Michaels (Hardcover - April 16, 2011)
$24.95 $19.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.