Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 189 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, clear exposition of the damning arguments against anthropogenic (man caused) global warming
I have followed this issue for several years. It took me a couple of years before I came to the point of view that Sussman lays out here. Global warming is a deeply insidious expression of Marxism with the express agenda of de-development and global wealth redistribution. This is as anti-capitalist and un-American as it gets. Sussman lays out the major issues well,...
Published on April 27, 2010 by Kent Gordon

versus
35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CONTENT CRIPPLED BY SUSSMAN'S POLITICAL AGENDA
Reading a book is all about having an open mind to extract as much as possible from its content. So that exactly how I approached CLIMATEGATE. I really won't go in to deep detail in regards to what this book is about, but what I will say is that Sussman planted a seed of doubt in my mind as far a the reality of "Global Warming". This book creates a serious argument that...
Published on September 28, 2012 by E.R


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

150 of 189 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, clear exposition of the damning arguments against anthropogenic (man caused) global warming, April 27, 2010
By 
Kent Gordon (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
I have followed this issue for several years. It took me a couple of years before I came to the point of view that Sussman lays out here. Global warming is a deeply insidious expression of Marxism with the express agenda of de-development and global wealth redistribution. This is as anti-capitalist and un-American as it gets. Sussman lays out the major issues well, which basically amount to cherry picking of data and manipulating mathematical models to produce the desired results.

What was so hard in my journey here as an engineer was to see that such a large segment of the academic and scientific community has been corrupted into religiously advancing this theory. The incentive system of having government funding as the primary source where you get funding to advance the theory, but sit out in the cold if you don't buy in is in itself rather disturbing. Sussman didn't delve into this aspect, but it is partially covered in the book "SuperFreakonomics". I have yet to see any author take on the challenge of how to reform science funding. For the sake of the continued contribution of science to human prosperity, this challenge must be taken up.

My only real criticism of Sussman is that he is preaching to the choir. He doesn't do enough to bring people along who are where I was a couple of years ago -- skeptical, but not quite able to believe the extent of the corruption. In my own journey the writings of Freeman Dyson at Princeton, Richard Lindzen at MIT and the well known systems engineer Burt Rutan helped me a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 135 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, April 3, 2010
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
Sussman provides many very good, but also very quick 'snapshots' of the entire movie it would take to fully understand the scientific, economic, political, moral, etc. problems with the bases for harmful AGW. He highlights the fact he's won several awards for being a good TV personality, but doesn't make the fact he has a meteorology degree well known (I read this on a third party website). A lot of readers may not appreciate the fact that he goes into into a fair amount of history, political philosophy, and even a touch of theology in the first chapter. But, I do admit I was glad I read that portion thoroughly, since it does provide the reader with a more solid background/foundation on which to understand why he believes/says what he does.

Sussman is not afraid of letting you know what he thinks about certain people and ideas. Most of the time, this makes for good reading. On occasion, though, he could've toned things down a little (like calling Karl Marx a bast****). The text is well referenced, but there are the occasional exaggerations (300 mph jet streams? - rare, at best) and instances when more/better documentation would've been great - especially when he references his own interviews and refers to the climategate emails. Sussman is clearly writing about a topic he holds to be important, and it is this fervor which makes this book good. As much of the book is about his personal experiences (challenges, perhaps), he's encountered in both his professional and personal life since he's officially become a 'denier.' Very little of the science presented in this book was 'new' for me; that will be true for you as well, if you keep up to date on the topic. If you're looking for a peek into the makings of climategate and care about scientific integrity & ethics, however, this will be an excellent read. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear concise and empirical... Explosive in its exposure of fraud, March 31, 2010
By 
Denver "grampa competitor" (San Mateo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
Finally, a highly-trained professional meteorologist discloses the truth about the fraud that is man-made global warming.

Mr. Sussman names names and uncovers the vile deceptiveness that has both "educated" our children and provided a huge moneymaker for Gore, Obama and others who will profit from this hoax.

A must read. I'm buying several copies for presents.

Dallas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CONTENT CRIPPLED BY SUSSMAN'S POLITICAL AGENDA, September 28, 2012
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
Reading a book is all about having an open mind to extract as much as possible from its content. So that exactly how I approached CLIMATEGATE. I really won't go in to deep detail in regards to what this book is about, but what I will say is that Sussman planted a seed of doubt in my mind as far a the reality of "Global Warming". This book creates a serious argument that puts to question the possibility of manipulation of information from some individuals to lead us to believe that Global Warming is a real threat. Unfortunately, Mr. Sussman has not realized that we are in a new century, and that the Cold War is over. His political agenda and backward thinking cripples his ability to think openly and balanced when is time to support his Climate Change theory. Sussman's preoccupation for bashing Marx, Democrats, and Hippies, displaces the main reason from which he supposedly wrote this book, and turns it into a political battle. I realize the topic has direct incidence on political affairs, but I was looking for scientific arguments to support a controversial topic,rather than a lecture onto why I need to hate Obama and Gore.
Much of this book is spent on reminding the reader that people manipulate information to suffice their political and economical goals; but if Sussman also has an agenda, wouldn't you think that he has omitted some of the information as well? I know I do.

I HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU GET A SAMPLE OF THIS BOOK BEFORE YOU BUY IT because this is not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Prophet Seeking Profit, April 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
I managed to order the book with overnight shipping and got my copy over 2 weeks before it will be officially released. I highly doubt that the 1 start reviewer paid for overnight shipping then sat up all night to read it before writing a review. I could be wrong.

I am in college and have this preached in every class from business strategy, New Testament Theology, chemistry, biology, history....you name it, I hear about global warming. Suddenly every class is actually about global warming. Sussman does a great job pointing out environmental fraud since Rachel Carson in 62 and Paul Ehrlich in 68, both of which I learned about in the college classroom as being new additions to the Holy Trinity.

It is worth noting that Gore had a cold (or would it be a fever?) and did not go to the climate talks in "hopenhagen." I think even he is realizing that his credibility is evaporating (freezing?). The global warming group and environmental fad seems to always resort to a tactic of fear. It has been turning lukewarm on me. The latest Rasmussen shows man made global warming believers flushing down to 33%.

This book covers the "science" and politics of global warming, I mean, climate change. He points out that 2005 was actually #16, not #1 as Gore says, on the list of hottest years in recent history. Just ask yourself, who will be the winner and who will be the loser if government control is increased for the "ecological justice." (See Blood and Gore)

What's wrong with greenhouse gas emissions? I release them every time I have Mexican food. Will the government tax that too? Is that what "taxing up the wazoo" means?

I think Dennis Miller said it best when he spoke about global warming, "Beware the prophet seeking profit."

1971: Global Cooling
2002: Global Warming
2006: Climate Change
2010: Global Climate Disruption

Further reading:
Green Hell by Milloy
Red Hot Lies by Horner
The Deniers by Solomon

Green Hell: How Environmentalists Plan to Control Your Life and What You Can Do to Stop Them
Red Hot Lies: How Global Warming Alarmists Use Threats, Fraud, and Deception to Keep You Misinformed
The Deniers, Fully Revised: The World-Renowned Scientists Who Stood Up Against Global Warming Hysteria, Political Persecution and Fraud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Read the citations", April 26, 2010
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
Purchasing the book on April 15th at the Pleasanton, CA Tea Party event, I've read the book, twice - and sat back to watch the non-intellectual food fight - here on Amazon and throughout the media. What I've come away with so far from the public discourse is at best disheartening.

Missed so far on these pages is a simple observation: of being that Mr. Sussman's research was not originally scientific - it was research for citable data from professional and academic sources that he analyzed and then commented on. Anyone who disagrees with Sussman has missed the point and indeed the science and method involved. Rather than challenge Sussman - 'warmers' need to debunk or argue to marginalize his sources.

When you mix political discourse with science - as Sussman has done - sparks tend to fly. Make no mistake - this book was deliberately released to stimulate the NEEDED debate over CAP-'n-Trade - the (people who currently run the) Federal Government's attempt to curtail the emission of CO2 by taxing its producers. Since corporations don't pay taxes - only collect them from their customers - the rationale behind this legislation should be wide open to further discussion - not shut down and most importantly - with China and India exempting themselves from the process - exactly what climatic gains will result? Sussman answers this - almost none. This aspect of the debate has been waiting for an answer from the 'warmers'.

Then there is Sussman's delving into his political associations, history, impetus and what he claims is the true agenda of the 'warmers'. There is no doubt in my mind that Sussman knew in advance exactly what his book would do. Here is where he gains, loses and draws vile from various special interest groups. It's amusing to see keyboarders cite their favorite scientists from their favorite schools about their favorite subjects - never once doing any research on their own. On a good day then - they're no better than Sussman picking and choosing his own scientific sources.

Let me be very clear. This is not bad. This is healthy. If the scientific method is applied to anthropogenic global warming- then ALL unexplained phenomena or that which falls outside expected norms or which fails to conform to theory needs to be investigated - and proved without exception before our country and all nations on planet earth goes down a rabbit hole from which there is no return.

East Anglica has its 'fudge factor', the "hockey stick" has been debunked.

An 'Inconvienient Truth' comes with a warning label in England.

Polar bears are NOT drowning.

As CO2 levels have gone up - global temperatures have not followed the same template.

Solar cycles are left out of the debate or minimized. Why?

What effect will the Western World have as China, India and other fast growing industrial countries who have opted out of any climate action increase their manufacturing exponentially: China now being the largest automobile market in the world. Why is nuclear power - which produces no CO2 still tied up in endless enviromental and licensing delays from the same special interests who tell us we have run out of time?

The book could have stood on these factors alone - Sussman's linking of some well meaning folks and misguided causes to more sinister groups causes unnecesary controversy that detracts from the core subject of scientific method. It gives the 'warmers' an out - saying 'look over there' - a chance to debunk Sussman instead of debating the science or the lack thereof.

In Spain every 'green job' cost 2 to 3 manufacturing jobs in their economy. Is this our future along with increased utility bills and sky high costs for gasoline? Conversely - where will tax revenue come from when gasoline is replaced with other means of powering vehicles? Any climatic action takes money - and how are the unemployed of the United States ever going to be employed in this 'green world?

Hopefully we've not heard the last of the debate - and sadly the last of the detractors of this book who want meaningful debate curtailed will continue to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brian Sussman says, "Debate me AlGore"., April 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
Much like environmentally friendly, pure, cold pressed orange oil, Sussman's "Climategate" essentially dissolves and removes any and all arguments that would be in favor of the Toxic Marxism infused, incredibly destructive "Cap and Trade" "we are going to control everything that you do", world government style proposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History and Overview of the Entire Global Warming Scam, May 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
I bought this book, expecting to find a detailed discussion of "Climategate", which is the name given by the press to the e-mails from the Climate Research Unit at the University of East Anglia, which were leaked by a whistleblower or hacked into by an outsider. To my surprise, while this book contained a few references to those e-mails, it really is about a much larger topic, the entire global warming scam. As such, the title "Climategate" is a little misleading. Sussman does have a point. The term, "Climategate" is much more apropo to describe the entire scam, rather than just the e-mails, for the e-mails are just a small, though damning part, of the picture of the greatest scam ever perpetrated by scientists, politicians, educators, and the media in history.

Sussman's thrust is two-fold: first that there is no proof for anthropogenic global warming, and he thoroughly refutes all the arguments and the manipulated temperature data and second, he theorizes that the scam was perpetrated by Marxists who have penetrated our government, our schools, and our media. He lays out a very believable case that the people doing this are out to grab more power over our lives, and make a good deal of money doing it. Even if he had not made this argument, and it is a good one, the fact that politicians, scientists, educators and the press have used false science, and false statements, to drive us to the brink of actually enacting legislation which would cripple the world economy, is more than enough reason to have the world take another careful look at this issue.

The book is written for the layman, who, with even a modest understanding of science, will gain a lot of insight as to what and who is behind this global warming scam. Sussman, a former weatherman, who spent many years studying the weather, writes in a way that appeals to your common sense. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, If Somewhat Outspoken, August 21, 2010
This review is from: Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam (Hardcover)
By Steve Goreham, author of Climatism! Science, Common Sense, and the 21st Century's Hottest Topic.

Climategate is an excellent book, if somewhat outspoken, regarding global warming alarmism. The author is Brian Sussman, talk radio host and former TV meteorologist in San Francisco.

Climategate argues that man-made global warming is a fraud, driven by Marxism and special interest dollars. Sussman states: "An elite brigade of zealots has cleverly created a new political platform to carry out the collectivist goals of redistributing wealth and destroying personal liberty, utilizing something that Karl Marx himself never envisioned: the environment, or more specifically, the climate." In an easy-to-read style, Sussman demolishes the science of global warming, uncovers the motives of the United Nations, and points out how government leaders are seeking to control the lives of American citizens through Cap & Trade legislation and remotely-controlled smart meters.

Chapter 1, "Foundation of Fraud" discusses historical events which founded the environmental movement, such as the 1969 oil spill off Santa Barbara California, and ends with an introduction of the reader to the "Climategate" release of emails from the Climate Research Unit at East Anglia University. Chapters two through four are very informative, covering the Mann Hockey Stick temperature curve, the many inconsistencies in the global temperature record, and the bizarre idea that carbon dioxide is a pollutant.

In Chapter 5, Sussman discusses Al Gore's ties to Occidental Petroleum, and other connections and activities of Mr. Gore. He concludes that Gore has pursued climate alarmism for money. This chapter, as well as others in the book, is well documented.

Chapters 6, 7, and 8 are some of the best in the book. Chapter 6 debunks the projected catastrophes of sea level rise, storm damage, polar bear extinction, and other topics. Chapter 7 dispels the myth of "consensus" among climate scientists. Chapter 8 educates the reader on some history of the United Nations and the motives of the organization. Sussman warns that President Obama and his key advisors all subscribe to man-made global warming ideology. Chapter 9 addresses the shortfalls of renewable energy as the solution to global warming and touches on the war on energy that has gripped the United States. Chapter 10 informs the reader how smart meters will allow our utilities and government to remotely control our energy usage.

Is man-made climate mania a fraud, driven by Environmentalism and Marxism? It's always difficult to know what's in a person's heart, but Sussman makes a strong argument. In any case, Climategate is an excellent book, worthy of a read by anyone interested in man-made climate alarmism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sussman explains the reality of climate, December 23, 2014
By 
Tom Sheahen (Deer Park MD, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This really is a good book, although the title isn't accurate. It is about all the events -- the claims and arguments, the data or lack thereof -- that preceded the ClimateGate event of November 2009. This book certainly brings out the bleak reality of a scientific scandal, which is exactly what ClimateGate exposed. Sussman writes with clarity, and makes the entire story understandable to the layman. The reader will learn why there is a large body of professionals in the "hard sciences" [physics, chemistry, etc.] who aren't buying the notion that CO2 is to blame for the constantly-changing climate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam
Climategate: A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam by Brian Sussman (Hardcover - April 22, 2010)
$25.95 $18.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.