Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price
The editor has collected an impressive group of contributors to this volume. It reflects the top thinking of the day on the art and science of mindfulness in therapeutic practice. It is an excellent and truly comprehensive collection. It is well worth the price for anyone interested in mindfulness and psychotherapy. Mindful Therapy: A Guide for Therapists and Helping...
Published on May 8, 2010 by Joseph

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who can afford this book?
I was able to read a chapter of this book compliments of NICABM. But to buy the book for $134.00?! It's a shame that a book based so much on buddhist thought sells at a Bernie Madoff price. There's got to be a way to make this more affordable, so that its valuble information can be more wide disseminated!
Published on February 3, 2009 by Andy Ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price, May 8, 2010
The editor has collected an impressive group of contributors to this volume. It reflects the top thinking of the day on the art and science of mindfulness in therapeutic practice. It is an excellent and truly comprehensive collection. It is well worth the price for anyone interested in mindfulness and psychotherapy. Mindful Therapy: A Guide for Therapists and Helping ProfessionalsMindfulness and the Therapeutic RelationshipMindful Recovery: A Spiritual Path to Healing from AddictionFinding the Center Within: The Healing Way of Mindfulness Meditation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Link, February 1, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Baltimore, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clinical Handbook of Mindfulness (Paperback)
I was very impressed with this book because it described the missing link between active awareness and impetus of change in thinking. The authors were able to succintly describe clearly the elements needed to uncover at the surface, as one begins to understand & link the crucial connection in the way schemas are developed. When some of these elements are delineated & brought to awareness opportunity for change is enabled to be processed & formalized. This book helped me realize the importance of staying focused in awareness resulting in strengthened recovery with processing my thoughts accurately in reality. Thank you for writing this book--it is valuable material to master & worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who can afford this book?, February 3, 2009
I was able to read a chapter of this book compliments of NICABM. But to buy the book for $134.00?! It's a shame that a book based so much on buddhist thought sells at a Bernie Madoff price. There's got to be a way to make this more affordable, so that its valuble information can be more wide disseminated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviews, January 30, 2009
Reviews

"In twenty years, this book might, as most handbooks do, take on a new role as an historical object in its own right, a marker of a creative moment in the history of an emerging field, still in its infancy..." -

From the foreword by Jon kabat-Zinn

"This book draws together a wide range of psychological interventions that incorporate mindfulness-based practices within psychological approaches to treating mental disorders. Such a large number of positions and contribution is rare and, thus, very hard to find. This book will serve as a reference text for anyone wanting to stay up to date on the applications of mindfulness to clinical practice."

-Prof. Marsha Linehan, Professor of Psychology, University of Washington

"This book is set to become a classic text. Open the book at any page and you find writing of extraordinary wisdom and precision. Its vision is comprehensive; and it allows us to see clearly how compelling it is when the art and science of wise investigation are brought together."

-Mark Williams, Ph.D., Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of Oxford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book that did not reflect its cover and disappeared, July 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One star for the right cover. The contents belonged in another book.

This book was long anticipated--and when I opened it up, the contents had to do with some obscure arm of psychometrics, nothing to do with mindfulness meditation, although the cover itself matched my order.

When I called Amazon, they said they would replace it by express mail, but nothing was delivered. I was ill so it took a few days to grab the UPS man as he sailed by, to take the right cover/wrong contents away for return. No replacement yet. I suppose I'll get a refund (I'll trust), but that's not much of a substitute for mindlfulness reading.

Badly handled. I don't even know if the publisher knows what happened.

It'll be a while before I order an expensive technical book again. Too bad. I saw some of the contents before ordering, and it's an important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clinical Handbook of Mindfulness
Clinical Handbook of Mindfulness by Paul R. Fulton Ed.D. (Paperback - February 12, 2010)
$149.00 $119.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.