Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Film-making
"Klip" (aka "Clip") probably will not appeal to a wide-ranging audience, and there are several potential reasons for that...
It is made in a documentary style, and may be considered somewhat boring because it essentially just depicts a few weeks in the life of a Serbian teenage girl. Also, it is in Serbian language with English subtitles; and many people don't enjoy...
Published 16 months ago by nzbeatlefan

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice film clip
Shot like a home movie with an experienced shooter. Typical coming of age (teen) plot. Yes, nudity is a bit strong for some. Actors are ok, but Isidora actually seems to pull this off. Good, but not great, probably not a good date movie, definitely not family. Nice glimpse of what appears to be Eastern Europe life (aspiring middle class in the midst of poverty) for...
Published 13 months ago by R. Overall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Film-making, July 29, 2013
By 
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
"Klip" (aka "Clip") probably will not appeal to a wide-ranging audience, and there are several potential reasons for that...
It is made in a documentary style, and may be considered somewhat boring because it essentially just depicts a few weeks in the life of a Serbian teenage girl. Also, it is in Serbian language with English subtitles; and many people don't enjoy having to 'read' movies. Plus, it may offend some viewers with it's hard-hitting depictions of teenage drinking, drug use, and sexual promiscuity.

However, beyond those potential limitations, "Klip" is actually a competently made and well acted movie. And the kind of movie which is capable of leaving the viewer pondering what they have seen, long after the end credits have finished rolling.

"Klip" gives us a brief glimpse into the life of Jasna. She is a 14-year-old girl, living in a decayed Serbia. She has a dysfunctional relationship with her family; she seems to have contempt for her mother, and essentially ignores her father and younger sister. Jasna also enjoys partying, drinking and drug taking far too much. And in her attempts to secure the affections of a boyfriend, she essentially allows herself to be used and abused by him.

Isidora Simijonovic gives an inspired performance as Jasna; realistically conveying teen angst, anger, sadness, bewilderment, excitement, and desperation. (I also was surprised by how much I thought Isidora resembles the American actress Emma Roberts).
First-time writer and director Maja Milos has successfully made "Klip" a low-key but thought-provoking movie. And I believe this movie is a commendable starting point for potential international career's for both it's Writer/Director and Lead Actress.

Quite simply: A very good movie, which is likely to only be appreciated by those viewers who can comprehend and accept what it is... rather than what they mistakenly think it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually a pretty good movie.., June 28, 2013
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
If you mixed KIDS with the movie THIRTEEN - you would pretty much get KLIP!

Awesome acting, some explicit scenes and the lead girl is incredibly hott.

If you like either of the movies mentioned above then you will probably like KLIP.

Def worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done in most respects, October 14, 2013
By 
Bobby R. Treat "DrMajorBob" (Round Rock, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
The acting was perfect. Isidara was marvelous, and the story was told as it should be told. People don't SAY what they feel so much as directly SHOW it in their actions.

The camera is, however, trained far more on male private parts (at least one of them rubberized) than female. That's unusual, so I'm not sure I should criticize the braver choice, even if I don't prefer it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at the behavior, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
This is such a universal story of a young woman desire for a older man; she is will, unbeknownst to herself, of degrading herself. Look beyond the hardcore scenes and look at the sadness of a young woman’s lack of self respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, November 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
This film was very good, but difficult. It follows 14 year old Jasna and her relations with her family and friends. As for her family relations, I guess some would call it dysfunctional. There is a lot going on there, what with her father having Cancer. Jasna finds her escape with her friends and the club scene. This leads to experimentation of all kinds. In my opinion, she is used by her boyfriend, but I guess she allowed herself to be used. When I was watching this, I was reminded of Larry Clark's KIds and to a lesser degree, Ken Park. Isidora did a great job in her first lead role. It is said that she was 14 when the filming started , but turned 15 during filming. It was also a good start fro the Director's debut film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice film clip, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
Shot like a home movie with an experienced shooter. Typical coming of age (teen) plot. Yes, nudity is a bit strong for some. Actors are ok, but Isidora actually seems to pull this off. Good, but not great, probably not a good date movie, definitely not family. Nice glimpse of what appears to be Eastern Europe life (aspiring middle class in the midst of poverty) for their teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend...!!!!!!!!!!, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
Yasna - a beautiful teenage girl. Not wanting to come to terms with life in a provincial backwater with Serbian tortured work mama and constantly sick father, she is in conflict with everyone behaves wildly, experimenting with sex, drugs, and just killing time. But gradually her desperate protest helps her come to terms with the painful reality....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanna hate teenagers? Watch this movie, May 18, 2014
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
"Clip" is a downer that will make you realize that American teenagers aren't the only despicable pieces of s--- on the planet...apparently Serbian teenagers not only are just as bad, they might even be worse.

(Inevitably that leads you back the ultimate problem, which is adults--specifically, parents. But I digress.)

Jasna (Isidora Simijonovic) is a loser, a drugged-out, oversexed 14 year old who is selfish, emotionless and generally just disgusting. If there is one thing positive to say about her, what we see in this movie at least is that she is pretty monogamous. Except that she gloms onto just about the worst possible male that she could have, a total sicko punk a couple of years older than her that gets off on (just to name a few) making her act like a literal dog and telling her that she's no good for anything other than hard anal sex. And all of the other girls want this guy too. Go figure.

"Clip" refers to Jasna's constant video recording of so many of these moments in her life to share with others, using a mobile phone. Oh yeah, this definitely could have been set in the United States and not Serbia. Although one thing that does paint Serbia as particularly ugly is the way that the school system functions--or, more accurately, doesn't. Nobody is paying attention, students get up and wander around of their own free will, sex is taking place in the bathrooms (and even hallways) throughout the day. Drugs are distributed and used stem to stern. The teachers have no control, the students don't care and there seems to be nothing even approaching discipline. We can at least say that school isn't like that in our country.

Jasna's home life isn't the best, with money problems and a father who is dying of cancer, but her detached, unfeeling way of dealing with it will make any decent human being want to scream at her. And really, that's exactly what the writer/director was going for here I think. She's painting a bleak picture, but it's a real image--just not a very entertaining one. Newcomer Simijonovic puts in a flawless performance, and the maturity that she brings in delivering such an immature character is just brilliant.

However, it isn't until we get far into the movie, when Jasna visits an orphanage, that this film actually held my attention. A little girl immediately takes a shine to Jasna, and for the first time she seems human. (The little girl also did a fantastic job in this role.)

Unfortunately it doesn't hold long, and Jasna goes back to being gross and seeing her gross boyfriend, so we're free to hate her and her whole generation again.

As an American you can take a certain amount of solace in knowing that teenagers aren't acting this way only here in the States. As a resident of our Earth it's a bit petrifying to realize that maybe they're all this bad no matter where you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very decent movie that paints a crude but accurate picture., September 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clip (Amazon Instant Video)
The comments had such opposite opinions that I was intrigued about this movie. After watching it, I can say that it's definitely not the most shocking thing I've ever seen and that this actually turned out to be a very decent film that falls under the "foreign film" category.

I liked the photography and the creative use of various camera types and angles. I don't want to spoil the movie by saying too much.

My advice to susceptible audiences is:

If you don't like foreign style movies, this is not for you.
If you think that the credits scenes at the end of the Hangover movie were awful, you might not like this movie.
If you are looking for a super sexy movie that makes you want to have a good time, you might have to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CLIP makes me feel as if I had been circumsized out of $20 beause I was not its target audience., July 13, 2014
This review is from: Clip (Klip) (DVD)
Even though I don't like it much, it shines a disturbing light on how our youth and any country's youth in general can spiral out of control and lead themselves into bad habits and even worse situations. I do not suggest you buy this for youths or young adults who are impressionable, but there is some time in adults lives when this type of film may or may not help out for an intervention as long as they watch the film all the way through to see how the producer and director intended it to impact an addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clip (Klip)
Clip (Klip) by Maja Milos (DVD - 2013)
$29.95 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.