Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J.T. Ellison at her best!
The Boston Strangler, the Zodiac Killer, and the Son of Sam are all back. OK, well maybe not technically, but someone is out there killing in the same gruesome fashion as these notorious serial killers. With the murders happening across the nation it soon becomes apparent that they can-not possibly be the work of one killer, that there is a greater evil out there. An evil...
Published on February 25, 2011 by L. Gondelman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So Close the Hand of Death
This is the newest entry in the Taylor Jackson series, and picks up several threads of earlier books. At the end of the prior book, "The Immortals," Dr. John Baldwin, Supervisory Special Agent and Taylor's fiancé, was about to attend a hearing into a case from his past, held at FBI headquarters at Quantico. The aftermath of that hearing resulted in his [hopefully...
Published on June 22, 2011 by Gloria Feit


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J.T. Ellison at her best!, February 25, 2011
By 
The Boston Strangler, the Zodiac Killer, and the Son of Sam are all back. OK, well maybe not technically, but someone is out there killing in the same gruesome fashion as these notorious serial killers. With the murders happening across the nation it soon becomes apparent that they can-not possibly be the work of one killer, that there is a greater evil out there. An evil all to familiar to Taylor Jackson. The Pretender has returned.

With this book taking place immediately after The Immortals ends, there is not one second for Taylor to stop and catch her breath, to deal with her emotions after having shot and killed a young man, or to process what happened to Fitz and figure out what is going on with Baldwin that he isn't talking about. But she needs to push all of that aside and once and for all take The Pretender down. She is over knowing that he's out there, waiting for her. She is sick with the thoughts that until The Pretender is caught, everyone she loves will be at his mercy, and there is nothing she can do about it. Will she be able to let others help her? Or will she find herself seeking her own kind of justice? Can she do what needs to be done? Can she protect the ones that mean the most to her against the one person that hates her the most? And when the ultimate betrayal comes who will be left standing to deal with the repercussions?

So Close the Hand of Death is the sixth book in the Taylor Jackson series. The book can definitely be read as a stand-alone, but to get a deeper understanding of Taylor, her G-man fiance Baldwin, her medical examiner BFF Sam, and the rest of her team, you should read them in order (All the Pretty Girls, 14, Judas Kiss, The Cold Room, The Immortals). I'm keeping this review, as vague as possible to avoid any spoilers. If you pay close attention, virtually everything that happens in this story is a clue about what has happened in the terrifying past, and what's going on in the intense present and what will happen in the explosive near future. There is no doubt J.T. Ellison is a master at her craft. Just when you think her last book is her best yet, you read the next one. And you realize just how wrong you were. So Close the Hand of Death is an edge-of-your-seat, white-knuckled, can't-turn-the-pages-fast-enough thriller that will have you clutching the book as you turn pages almost faster than you can read them, in a desperate desire to find out what comes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exciting police procedural, February 24, 2011
Across the United States copy cat serial killers of dead or jailed psychopaths surface. Law enforcement is stretched way too thin as the homicidal frenzy is from sea to shining sea. The media adds to the taut situation demanding underpaid and understaffed cops do their jobs.

Nashville police homicide lieutenant Taylor Jackson knows who the mentor of these crazed killers is. The Pretender has returned with a horde of trained deadly predators imitating the worst murderers of society. She also knows his personal target is her as she has been for quite a while (see The Cold Room, for instance). The apprentice killers are just background noise to isolate her from support and to break her mentally with what happens to those who remain close to her. The Pretender is coming for the woman he cherishes and loathes for cherishing her.

So Close the Hand of death is an exciting Taylor Jackson police procedural (see All The Pretty Girls) that grips the audience with suspense as fans anticipate the Pretender coming close enough to Jackson to either kiss or kill her. Fast-paced and tense from the onset, fans of the series will appreciate the latest case though wonder whether Jackson is a modern day Typhoid Mary as anyone who befriends her throughout the six books is in jeopardy from a serial killer.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lock The Doors And Turn On The Lights, June 5, 2011
By 
Sandra Kirkland (High Point, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Homicide Lieutenant Taylor Jackson should be happy. She is engaged to the love of her life, Baldwin, and they are getting ready to marry. But the life of a homicide detective is rarely peaceful, and Taylor's is no exception. Her life turns upside down when a serial killer decides that she is his next target and that he will stop at nothing to achieve his goal.

The killer, nicknamed The Pretender, attacks on two fronts. He has a cadre of assistants who have fanned out across the country and are killing in homage of famous past serial killers such as Zodiac, Son of Sam and The Boston Strangler. While the police are putting those puzzle pieces together, he acts on the main front. He and his team start to attack those close to Taylor, her friends and co-workers, inching ever closer to the main goal, putting an end to Taylor's life.

This is the sixth book in the Taylor Jackson series. Those who have read the others won't be disappointed in this fast-paced, gruesome tale. Those who have not read any of the other books in the series can easily pick this one up and read it as a stand-alone, although that plan comes with a warning. Once a reader discovers the Taylor Jackson series, they will want to go back immediately and buy the five prior books to feed their new addiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So Close the Hand of Death, June 22, 2011
By 
This is the newest entry in the Taylor Jackson series, and picks up several threads of earlier books. At the end of the prior book, "The Immortals," Dr. John Baldwin, Supervisory Special Agent and Taylor's fiancé, was about to attend a hearing into a case from his past, held at FBI headquarters at Quantico. The aftermath of that hearing resulted in his [hopefully temporary] suspension. But the tentacles of that prior case extend well beyond that, to threaten Taylor's career and, indeed, her life and that of those nearest and dearest to her. As the book opens, one of those is immediately apparent as Pete ("Fitz") Fitzgerald, Taylor's dear friend who has been nothing less than a father figure to her, has seen the love of his life, Sue, murdered, and now lies in a hospital bed, grievously wounded [something apparently called "enucleation," but you'll have to look that one up yourself]. Taylor, a six-foot tall Metro Homicide Lieutenant in Nashville, Tennessee, vows to prevent further fallout.

A serial killer, the self-styled "Pretender," learned his deadly craft at the feet of another character from past books, the Snow White killer, is responsible for 26 known deaths as the tale begins, and has in turn amassed several acolytes of his own, who at his behest have now begun killing sprees across the US mimicking famous, or infamous, serial killers of years past: the Boston Strangler, the NY killer known as the Son of Sam, and the Zodiac Killer. This is all part of a deadly cat-and-mouse game on his part, the ultimate prize being Taylor Jackson. His identity, and the motive behind all this, is the biggest mystery, beyond the fact that it is very, very personal.

In this novel the reader discovers that Baldwin has unsuspected baggage that is about to complicate his and Taylor's lives, but the emphasis is, of course, on identifying and stopping the serial killer who has targeted Taylor and those she loves, with the suspense increasing as the inevitable confrontation comes closer. I felt that the book could have benefited from some judicious editing, but nonetheless found it a very enjoyable summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Taylor Jackson Installment, March 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a Tennessee native I love reading stories set in familiar setting, especially novels that pop like J.T. Ellison's Taylor Jackson. In this installment the Pretender is back with a vengeance and no one is safe. I love how Ellison fleshed out the Pretender's story and provided the back story for why he became such a violent, psychotic man. I was a little disappointed that some of the story seemed somewhat predictable but that didn't hurt the story at all especially when you throw in the wonderful Taylor, Baldwin subplot that was more than enough to overcome any obvious plot devices. Overall, it is a wonderful addition to the Taylor Jackson series with a swiftly moving plot and plenty of action and even the introduction of who is sure to be the next killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting adventure for Lt. Taylor Jackson!, April 19, 2012
By 
Stephanie Ward (Cochranton, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"So Close the Hand of Death" is another superb crime thriller by best-selling author J.T. Ellison. Fans of her earlier novels will not be disappointed with the trouble that heroine Taylor Jackson finds herself in once again. The book is full of surprising plot twists and solid writing. The psychological cat and mouse game that goes on in the novel sets you at the edge of your seat and has you trying to guess what is going to happen until the very end. Ellison's characters are very rounded and built upon a strong background from her previous novels - which helps the reader to understand and sympathize with them all the better. "So Close the Hand of Death" is a wonderfully written, taut crime thriller that will make readers eager for the next adventures of Lt. Taylor Jackson.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Close the Hand of Death, October 9, 2011
By 
M. Thomas "NynTheBookLover" (Pine Hill, Nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Close the Hand of Death (A Taylor Jackson Novel Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
It's been a long time since I read a good suspense book, this one had me on the edge of my seat. It took a little while to get to know the characters but that was only because this is my first Taylor Jackson novel. Now I have to go back to read the others while I await the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Cat and Mouse Chase, May 23, 2011
So Close the Hand of Death by J.T. Ellison is the sixth Taylor Jackson mystery. Because I have not read all of these books, I was a bit confused as to the different character subplots. However, the suspense was awesome. Ms. Ellison brings back three serial killers to this installment. All are playing a cat and mouse game and want Taylor Jackson to "play." Across the country murders are happening in different states, but all of them are connected in some way. Working against the clock, Ms. Jackson needs to figure out who and what before there is another victim. Overall, this was great. I definitely need to go back and read the last two books. Received Courtesy of Net Galley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new reader has been born, April 25, 2011
I've not read any of J.T. Ellison's work prior to picking up this dandy of a book at my local grocery store the other night and, I have to say, I'm ashamed of myself. I've long been a lover of thrillers, having devoured staples by Koontz, King, Patterson, and the like but someone how I missed Ellison.

The book is good. Really good. Apparently there were 5 in this series prior to this one but she did a great job of guiding me through the story without feeling like I was watching from the outside, having missed vital information by not having participated in Taylor's earlier adventures. For her welcome inclusion into this newest work I'm grateful.

Also, I have to say that Ellison's prose is wonderful to read. There were quite a few sentences in this book that I actually had to stop and read a few times so that I could truly savor her style. I mean really? Describing the freezer in the morgue as "ten bodies greeted her, all nesteled in their black casings like caterpillars preparing to shed their chrysalis, their souls hardening into afterlife's wings."

O. M. G. Have to say that may be one of my favorite sentences ever written. (I speak in hyperbole but you get my drift.)

Thriller fans, this one is for you. I'll let you know how the other 5 are soon. I have them on order at my local bookstore!! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Close The Hand of Death, April 24, 2011
By 
grumpydan (Andover, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
People are being murdered all across the country in similar manners of previous serial killers. Are they connected? You bet. It's all part of a game that The Pretender is playing with Nashville homicide lieutenant Taylor Jackson, one cop that he despises. This thriller is just that a thriller and a cat and mouse game as Jackson tries to learn who the Pretender is and catch him before he kills again (especially if it is her he wants next).

Since this is the sixth in a series of novels that these and other characters appear in, it may be confusing to the new reader (such as myself), but overall it is still a first-rate book with interesting characters and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.