Customer Reviews


583 Reviews
5 star:
 (474)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


303 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 Steven Wilson remix, not an old remaster
Amazon must have attributed all of the reviews from other remasters to this version. This accounts for the misinformation regarding which remaster this is by some reviews. Here is the real product description as this is a brand new 5.1 mix by Steven Wilson:

A new edition of the progressive rock masterpiece from 1972, the first in a series of Yes albums to get...
Published 16 months ago by DS

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but not cigar
This SACD is better in some aspects than its red book counterpart: more details revealed, more air,perhaps a better image, so it you like the music and have the capability to reproduce SACD, buying this is not really bad judgement. Unfortunately, at least for my personal taste, the sound as a whole does not excite,. Bass did not improved (I prefer that from the...
Published 22 months ago by Rafael Mendez


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

303 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 Steven Wilson remix, not an old remaster, September 9, 2013
Amazon must have attributed all of the reviews from other remasters to this version. This accounts for the misinformation regarding which remaster this is by some reviews. Here is the real product description as this is a brand new 5.1 mix by Steven Wilson:

A new edition of the progressive rock masterpiece from 1972, the first in a series of Yes albums to get the deluxe remix treatment. Featuring new stereo and 5.1 surround sound mixes by Steven Wilson from the original multitrack reels, and transferred flat at 96K/24 bit. Also included are a flat transfer of the original stereo mix, instrumental mixes, and other bonus material.

Presented in a mini vinyl replica gatefold card sleeve with booklet featuring new sleeve notes by Sid Smith, along with rare photos and archive material, the album has been mixed for 5.1 Surround Sound from the original studio masters by Steven Wilson and is fully approved by Yes.

The CD features a new stereo album mix, plus a new mix of America and an early mix of Close to the Edge.

Contains original artwork by Roger Dean who has overseen the artwork for this new edition.

The Blu-Ray features:

- 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio Surround (24bit/96khz) mixed from the original multi-channel recordings.
- the new stereo album mix in DTS-HD Master Audio (24bit/96khz).
- the original album mix and America in a DTS-HD Master Audio flat transfers from the original master tape source. (24bit/192khz)
- exclusive instrumental versions of all new mixes in DTS-HD Master Audio stereo (24bit/96khz).
- exclusive needle-drop of an original UK vinyl A1/B1 pressing transferred in 24bit/96khz audio.
- numerous audio extras appear in high-resolution stereo including single edits & studio run throughs of album tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to the edge, October 22, 2006
By 
Jeffrey J.Park (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
I don't think that enough good things can be said about this 1972 album, which many feel was (and is) the definitive Yes album. In fact, Bill Bruford also felt this way and left Yes after Close to the Edge to join the ranks of King Crimson. He was quoted as saying that the band would never top the perfection of Close to the Edge. As a huge Yes fan (they are my favorite prog act), I personally feel that this album is simply superb. Although subsequent albums would also feature greatness, Close to the Edge works incredibly well as a complete work that fuses album cover art, music, and lyrics together in one seamless totality.

The group members at this point include the classic lineup of Chris Squire (bass, vocals); Rick Wakeman (mellotron, moog, Hammond organ, piano); Steve Howe (electric, acoustic guitars); Bill Bruford (drums and percussion); and Jon Anderson (vocals). I should also note that Eddy Offord (as the producer) was also considered to be part of the band and in fact appears on the back cover as a "sixth" member. I think it goes without saying that all of the musicians in Yes were positively top shelf and were true virtuosos. The individual and group ensemble work on close to the Edge is breathtakingly complex and the arrangements are incredible - everything flows from one piece to the next seamlessly.

The magnum opus Close to the Edge (18:50) is a fantastic composition that more or less follows a sonata form. This is an incredible piece of music and an excellent structural analysis of Close to the Edge is provided by Edward Macan in his book Rocking the Classics: English Progressive Rock and the Counterculture (1997). Squire's thunderous and lightning fast lines on his trebly Rickenbacker bass that can be heard in the introduction to Close to the Edge always thrill me - he is indeed a master. And you and I is somewhat shorter (10:09) and is a delicate and spacey piece with loads of acoustic textures and great mini-moog work from Rick. The closing track Siberian Khatru is very vigorous with searing guitar playing from Steve and provides a nice contrast with the softer track And You and I. Jon's high-pitched and ethereal voice soars above it all and imparts a very uplifting feel to the music.

A great deal has been written about what the lyrics to each of the songs on this album actually mean - if such a thing can be done. One interpretation states that the album focuses on the spiritual quest. In fact, the narrow and somewhat treacherous looking bridge leading to the idyllic "world" depicted on the inner gatefold has been suggested by others to reflect the great difficulty associated with reaching an elevated spiritual plane. Although I feel that the album can be interpreted a number of ways, I am a Biologist and not a philosopher and I am going to stop this discussion here before I overstep my bounds.

The remastering job by Rhino is stupendous and brings me back to the days when I used to listen to this album on vinyl as a teenager. Although I miss the "large" cover art and looking at that bridge and "wanting" to get to that other place while I listened to the music, this remastered effort is the next best thing. This package features loads of liner notes, reproduced cover art, lyrics, and a ton of color photos of the band. The sound quality is also excellent. As far as the bonus tracks go they are OK but do not add much to this masterpiece - I could have done without them in fact.

All in all, this album is regarded by many to be one of the finest moments in the recorded output of Yes and I do not disagree. Very highly recommended along with all of the albums from the Yes Album (1971) to Going for the One (1977).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yes's Fifth Studio Release Has Greatly Improved!, August 31, 2003
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
Remastered for the second time, Yes's 1972 masterpiece album "Close To The Edge" contains four bonus tracks "America" (Single Version), "Total Mass Retain" (Single Version), "And You And I" (Alternate Version), and "Siberia" (Studio Run-Through Of "Siberian Khatru"). The epic song "Close To The Edge" running at just under nineteen minutes, is a complicated weaving of instruments, notably Steve Howe's unique and superb guitar playing, Chris Squire's solid bass playing, and Rick Wakeman's fabulous keyboards. The song has alot of changes throughout and twists and turns and hint at what to expect from The Yes's next album "Tales Of Topographic Oceans". The lengthy "And You And I" is an acoustic and electric guitar based song and again like the song "Close To The Edge" has many change ups and highlights Wakeman's synthesizers & keyboards. "Siberian Khatru" is my personal favorite with excellent guitar work by Howe, unusual baroque sounding keyboards by Wakeman as well as excellent drumming on Bill Bruford's part. Of all The Yes albums it is "Close To The Edge" that (in my opinion)shows the group has greatly matured and has perfected the art of progressive rock. The sound quality of this cd is superior to the Joe Gaswirt remixes that were released in 1994 with increased bass, an increase in mid-range and the total output of the cd has been maximized. The attractive packaging (digipak) is first class and the enclosed booklet includes the lyrics to the songs, colorful photos and information on the making of the album and it's songs. If you enjoy listening to seventies progressive art rock then "Cloe To The Edge" is a must have in any collection. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undimmed Perfection, February 1, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
Great works have a sense of inevitabilty about them - you can feel secure that you won't be let down when your enter their artistic space. Close to Edge is epitome of English Rock - call it prog or not, Yes created the finest work of music to come out of the rock movement. Thirty-some years ago when I first heard this album, I was captivated, and through the years, I've remained enthralled with this music, never growing tired of it, never becoming bored, even though I may have listened to CTTE over fifteen thousand times.
The reason this music holds up so well is that for a summer in 1972 Yes achieved a perfect confluence of talent, opportunity, and technique. Jon Anderson finally had the total vision he had strived for since starting the band: five of the best musicians in the rock world, tempered by touring and recording, and informed by all the influences each brought to the mix. Rick Wakeman was largely the movitativing force in the creation of the mature Yes sound, not because he was one of the two best keyboard players in England, but because he had an inborn feeling for structure, and what makes CTTE work, and keep on working is the stucture of the main piece and the two other pocket symphonies on the album.
Close to the Edge has been described as a Sonata, a musical form that introduces and then explores themes and variations, returning in the last movement to main theme. This structure gives the work a unity that eluded most of the other prog rock epics, including some of Yes's own.
Listening to Close to the Edge now, the craftsmanship is even more apparent to me than when I first heard it in 1972. Yet, even if every note is perfect, and every musical choice is logical within the logic of the piece, it's still the sheer joy of playing that comes through and fills the music with a life of its own. There are many interpretations of what CTTE means, but I'm not interested in the literalness of the words, or even if they make sense - they're as much part of the instrumental score as Steve Howe's guitar. The discipline of the arrangements, the freedom of the musical choices, the lyrics are all of a whole - remove one and CTTE would collapse.
The other two pieces on the album, And You and I and Siberian Khatru are both sub-divisions of CTTE in that one explores acoustic and symphonic textures and contrasts, and the other takes up muscular rock playing and savage wonder. Either could have been merged into CTTE itself as sub-suites. Needless to say both shine with same light as the main composition.
The Cover art is also perfect - Roger Dean managed to capture the feeling of the music - of greeness, of earth sky, and impossibility that pervades this album. Yes, I had the poster the inside sleeve up on my wall.
After recording this, Bill Bruford left the band, feeling that Yes had reached it's perfect sound, and had no where to go after that. Given the improvisational work he did with King Crimson, perhaps he left too soon. What would he have done with Tales? His no-nonsense attitude might have had a beneficial effect. Pointless to worry now. Alan White's contributions to Yes are not to be gainsaid or denied, and he's played CTTE more times than Bruford ever did.
The reissue by Rhino is up to their excellent standards, although I don't really know what the additional material adds to this album, but it doesn't hurt it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music with lyrics to match., June 3, 2001
By 
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
"With Anderson the thing is to always enjoy his soaring tenor voice and forget about the inane lyrics; try explaining 'A seasoned witch could call you from the depths of your disgrace / And rearrange your liver to the solid mental grace / And achieve it all with music that came quickly from afar / Then taste the fruit of man recorded losing all against the hour.'"
"A seasoned witch could call you from the depths of your disgrace."
Disgrace is a condition people find themselves from time to time. It is a state of ignorance, sorrow, dishonor, humiliation, or whatever. A witch...well, witches aren't necessarily evil. They are people who can draw upon natural powers beyond metaphysical realities. Seasoned means to have been around for a while. So, you will be called from the depths of your disgrace, but you will not be taken from it. That's something you have to do yourself.
"And rearrange your liver to the solid mental grace."
This is the line for which Yes is most often ridiculed. But it's actually quite smart. What is the liver? Well, one of its functions is the detoxification of drugs, poisons, and endogenous toxins. However, these are physical maladies. There are greater impurities than those of the corporeal form -- like those of the mind and the spirit. Of course, the use of the word "liver" is highly metaphorical here; what's important is that we must purify our minds and spirits. Putting the first two lines together, we see that something will call us, so we can elevate to a state of mental/spiritual grace (which is the opposite of disgrace). (I think the adjective "solid" is just used to aver the strength of the mind.)
"And achieve it all with music that came quickly from afar."
What is this "music"? It could be God (afar=not of this world; quickly=through prayer), or it could be some other form of spiritual revelation. Now I'm not sure on Jon Anderson's religious background, but he seemed like a pretty spiritual fellow, so I think this makes sense. In any case, this line tells us that spiritual revelation, divine or simply epistemological (I like to think it's the latter), is the way to rise above the depths of disgrace. Another interesting point is music "came," not music "comes." This implies that this spiritual strength has been here all along for those who wish to seek it.
"Then taste the fruit of man recorded losing all against the hour."
Fruit...that's something we produce; it's the results of our efforts. Depending on where you see the song going from here, you might think that this fruit of man is virtues like love, benevolence, compassion...you know, all that good stuff. Unfortunately, many people have lost touch with virtues. There are many morally gray people in today's world. But rising up from the depths of our disgrace, we can again taste the righteousness of man's life. So without some kind of spiritual epiphany, we cannot get back on the right path.
That's my take on those four lines. There's so much more depth to the lyrics of this song, and I'd like to share it, but I don't have the time nor the space with the 1,000 word limitation. But hopefully this little review has given some of you something to think about -- hopefully you're reconsidering the idea that Yes' trippy lyrics have no value beyond their sound.
Close to the Edge's music is brilliant; it's absolutely brimming with tasteful complexity. Yet the composition works harmoniously to express the song's deeper meaning. Note how the song is cyclical (which corresponds with the "Seasons Of Man" theme), and the music moves from the oh-so-chaotic opening to a more melodious arrangement. The concord between music and lyrics is part of what scores the album five stars. Were it to only consist of the title track, it's still enough to qualify for the highest rating possible here at Amazon. Close to the Edge's lyrics may be "inane," but they mean a lot to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stunning peak of Yes' 30 year career, April 19, 2001
By 
Nick Whittaker (Farnham, Surrey, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
This is a classic album. A classic. A classic of it's and every other genre. It's all to easy to sneer at progressive rock but not quite so to sneer at the superlative playing exhibited throughout this fine disc. 'Close To The Edge' features the classic Yes line-up of Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Steve Howe, Chris Squire and Rick Wakeman - a line-up that was soon to fall apart as first Bruford left to join Robert Fripp's King Crimson and then Rick Wakeman de-camped after the release of their next LP 'Tales From Topographic Oceans'. Things would never quite be the same for Yes after 'Close To The Edge' but who on earth could follow such a record? From the jungle noises at the opening of the title track which give way to a claustrophic and utterly chaotic piece of Steve Howe acid guitar brilliance; through the elvish combination of majesty and subtle folk touches that is 'And You And I'; to the closer 'Siberian Khatru' which provides us with one of Steve Howe's greatest riffs - this is an amazing piece of music from start to finish. Jon Anderson's lyrics are as obtuse as ever but they never mar the playing of a virtuosic group, riding the peak of a wave of creative genius, playing with breathtaking musical exuberance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I get up! I get down! I get impressed--this album is the pinnacle of progressive rock, August 6, 2006
By 
Argyris (The universe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
Words simply cannot describe the wonder that is `Close to the Edge' (1972). Yes--at this point consisting of vocalist Jon Anderson, drummer Bill Bruford, guitarist Steve Howe, bassist Chris Squire, and keyboardist Rick Wakeman--were trying desperately to top their breakthrough release `Fragile,' also from 1972. The result was a bastion of musical synergy that had not been topped before then and would not be topped afterward by anyone, even Yes themselves (in any permutation of their lineup, which shifted several times after this album).

On this album, the band functions more as a unit than in any previous release. Gone are the individual showcase works, the indulgent solos, and the restraints inflicted upon the band by record producers. Now insanely popular and possessed of two very solid releases, Yes decided to shelve the mantle of popular expectation (something to which they never really adhered in the first place) and simply make music for music's sake. Instead of truncating their powers of musical expression into cookie-cutter formats (even considering that music written on the scale of Yes's "standard song format" would be epic-worthy in the hands of most other bands), the band took their time on this album to say everything they needed to say, whether or not the music ever made it onto the radio.

It didn't, but that doesn't matter. Die-hard Yes fans, and just fans of profound music in general, fell for this album hook, line, and sinker. There is something genuine about this music that captivates; the length of the title track, for example, is not forced but necessary. The lyrics are presented more as an instrument in themselves than as the main vehicle of expression; the actual instrumentation serves as much or more to the effect of broadcasting just what the band were trying to say.

I could write a novel about this album, but now I will attempt to describe, in detail, each of the tracks on the original album. Significant of the time, there were only three.

1. "Close To The Edge" - Words fail me when trying to explain the appeal of this absolute masterpiece among masterpieces. I must warn prospective listeners that this track might not seem very appealing the first time you try it. Make sure you listen to it free of interruptions and distractions the first few times. By the third time, I assure you, something will click, and you will finally "get" it. Oh, I envy those who embark upon this journey on that magical time when it finally opens itself to them. Even the most complex minds will find this work fully encompassing, and it requires every last one among the brain's slew of resources to totally appreciate this music. This, I believe, is what contributes the sense of nirvana that listeners of this piece of music all report.

The beginning is unassuming enough, a crecendo of sounds from nature, accompanied by a celestial, LFO-derived synthesizer pad. Then comes what might be the most intense entrance in all recorded music, an almost cacophonic wash of sound that seems not to be held together by anything, yet boasts an underlying structure that keeps it from falling apart. Several heavenly vocal breaks stab into this entrance, and then a longer, sustained vocal chord signals the transition to the next movement. A guitar figure--a motif that appears time and again throughout the work--plays triumphantly above a complicated bed of instrumentation. After this figure takes its time asserting itself, a truly irresistible rhythmic figure takes over. This serves almost as an obbligato throughout the piece. Then Jon starts singing. Oh, what singing it is! It has been compared to rap, though I think it is far too high-brow (and, let's be honest--civilized) for that comparison. Plus, there is an actual tone to the words, even if their meaning is totally incomprehensible. At least every second one isn't an expletive (can you tell I disapprove of rap?). Don't waste your time trying to figure out what they mean, and don't read the lyrics when you first listen to the music. This will only distract you; you don't need to know a single word from the song to reach the aural bliss so many have affected from this work.

After this movement is explored to completion, a softer, pensive movement begins after an effective segue. This is the infamous "I get up I get down" part of the piece, the instrumentation of which makes the listener feel as though he or she is immersed in the depths of a clear, calm sea. As this section reaches its double climax, Rick blasts into action on a tremendous church organ (set to full plenum), then employs a trick he used on his first solo album, `The Six Wives Of Henry VIII': He doubles the organ bass--a little thin-sounding in the recording--with the deep growl of one of his Minimoogs. But even before the full impact of this effect is felt, several metallic blasts ensue and the piece propels itself into the next and final movement.

This movement serves as a sort of recap of the others musically, though its beginning is dominated by Rick Wakeman's finest recorded solo. As a keyboardist myself, I realize just how difficult this was to play. Wakeman is without a doubt the best keyboardist in the history of the craft. The climax of this final movement is the most monumental and uplifting in all of music, and its anticlimax/falling action reflects the sounds of nature that begin the piece. Wow! Is everybody still with me? The ride's not over yet...

2. "And You And I" - If "Close to the Edge" was Yes's most complicated epic masterpiece, then "And You And I" was certainly the band's most beautiful work. Written by Jon to his wife, this may well be the most esoteric and gorgeous love song ever penned. Clocking in at just over ten minutes in length, and coming in four parts, this song is breathtaking--the climax will inspire chills. Beginning with the soft sounds of Steve tuning his twelve-string guitar, the piece meanders through myriad musical marvels before ending on a quiet note. I'm a little winded after describing the title track, so you're on your own to fill in the considerable gaps in this description.

3. "Siberian Kahtru" - The words are nonsense. Understand this before you go any further. This song is a straight-up rocker, in that weird brand of rock trademark to Yes. The beginning riff is irresistible, and its permutations throughout the work are never boring. The middle solo section employs some unconventional instrumentation, including a sitar and a harpsichord (played brilliantly by Wakeman). The ending is dominated by an almost jazz-scat type vocal run, then comes a fade-out of instrumentation. All in all, this is an awesome song, fully on par with the other two on this album.

The bonus tracks don't really add much to the album, but contrary to the bloody murder some reviewers have been screaming, these tracks don't detract from it, either. You see, compact disc players have been equipped since their inception with a wonderful button it seems these people haven't yet discovered: "Stop."

The remastering on this album is sterling. While it's true there are things I like about Joe Gastwirt's work on the 1994 remasters (Wakeman's keyboards have a more organic, analog quality that the Rhino remasters lack), there are things I don't like about the old standard as well. On the whole, Gastwirt's work sounds sort of fuzzy and indistinct. The instrumentation sort of slides in, whereas on the Rhino remasters, each instrument or vocal part enters without apology. Plus, there was a little hiccough on Gastwirt's version of "And You And I" (just before the bass drum/bass part comes in just after timecode 1:12) that was corrected on the Rhino release.

All in all, this is a must-have staple of progressive rock. This album is legendary, and when you hear it to completion, you will know why. Even so, if you're new to Yes, I wouldn't start here. Go for `The Yes Album' (1971) or `Fragile' (1972), both of which are five-star albums, albeit more accessible than `Close to the Edge.' If you like what you hear, then there's no reason why you should dislike this release. In a sense, it's not a departure from the earlier two releases, but an extension. `Close to the Edge' explores just what the band would do in an ideal, limitless format, as opposed to the more radio-friendly arrangement that made the previous releases successful.

Don't waste another minute. Buy this release at the next opportunity, and just say "Yes!" to what is undoubtedly the finest progressive rock album ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quintessential Prog-Rock Masterpiece, November 18, 2000
By 
Eustace Lufgren (Raytown, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
Close To The Edge is undoubtedly the greatest of all Yes albums (and that says a lot), and its beauty is entrancing every time I listen to it. The title track consumes an entire side of the record version, and is the ultimate progressive piece, ever. How many bands can successfully climax with a church organ solo? Just one, Yes. Jon Anderson's lyrics are as vague and confusing and utterly beautiful as they ever get. He sings excellently, with wonderful melodies. Steve Howe imparts his EXCELLENT guitar chops to the album on not only his traditional Gibson hollowbody electrics, but also on electric sitar, pedal steel guitar, and acoustic 12-string. Wakeman is full of power, at his best with the band, undoubtedly. The Hammond organ in Close To The Edge is definately the best I've heard. He also gives us exceptional MiniMoog parts and solos. Chris Squire, my favorite of the Yes-men, is unbelievable. This album inspired me to buy a Rickenbacker bass guitar, and I have spent over a thousand dollars on effects and amps in pursuit of Squire's fat, rich, and clear tone. His style is brilliant and creative. Bruford, the final piece in the band, not only meshes well with Squire and the others, but adds his wacky but oh so creative jazz influences. What a inimitable creation. Deserves more than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close To Perfection, July 18, 2002
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
If Yes could be boiled down to one defining moment, Close To The Edge is arguably their finest. Fresh off the heels of two ground-breaking progressive albums (The Yes Album & Fragile), the formidable quintet of Anderson, Squire, Howe, Wakeman and Bruford created an album that many believe to be the standard that all other prog-rock albums are measured against. A mere three songs grace the album, but the quality of those three still stand alone today. Close To The Edge also marked Yes' first album cover by Roger Dean, whose visions became almost as recogizable as the music to Yes fans.
The album starts with the song Close To The Edge, 18+ minutes of mood-sweeping magic. The song is divided into four movements, sharply conveying the essence of not only the music, but also the combination of musicianmanship, musical phrasing and arrangement. It also is Jon Anderson's finest example of using lyrical vocals as a fifth instrument to augment guitars, bass, keyboards and drums. No, the lyrics might not make a tremendous amount of sense, but the combination of the amount of syllables and the sounds that the words make fuse together to make Anderson's voice an instrument of its own. Of course, it doesn't hurt to have the classically trained voice of bassist Chris Squire providing backing vocals. Anderson and Squire's vocal harmonies, also supported by guitarist Steve Howe, could be certainly considered brilliant.
The other two songs are stark opposites of each other. And You And I is a beautiful mixture melody and harmony, while Siberian Khatru is a more straight-ahead rocker. However, as soon as that's said, each has elements of the other within themselves.
Yes, in 1973, was at a point that would have destroyed most bands, with two of the original five members already departing the band (and a third, drummer Bill Bruford, set to leave for King Crimson after Close To The Edge), the keybordist (Rick Wakeman) with only a year in the band and the guitarist (Howe) only a year more than that. But this is Yes. At the time when it seems that their next album has every indication of being a disaster, they come together and give us Close To The Edge, a masterpiece in modern music.
If you're looking for bubble-gum, big-haired pop, or just about any other style of rock, don't look here. Yes gave us Close To The Edge, which proved that classical music isn't a forgotten artform. It's simply been called Progressive Rock since the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close To The Edge Of Perfection, December 12, 2003
This review is from: Close to the Edge (Audio CD)
Yes deliver another progressive rock masterpiece with 1972's "Close To The Edge." The final Yes album with drummer Bill Bruford (who would later leave the band to join King Crimson), "Close To The Edge" is one of the band's most barn-burning releases. The 19-minute title track alone is arguably the group's finest piece ever, a monstrous, dramatic, adventurous work that keeps you held in it's grip from fade-in to fade-out. "And You And I" is a gorgeous piece and an enduring Yes concert staple, and the concluding "Siberian Khatru" is another memorable, popular Yes rocker. Everybody in the band scores major points on this album: Jon Anderson's soothing falsetto voice & intriguing lyrics, Steve Howe's ace guitar playing, Chris Squire's thunderous bass, Rick Wakeman's brilliant keyboard work, and Bruford's awesome swansong Yes performance on the drumkit, as well as Eddie Offord's brilliant production, co-produced with the band. The early 70's were truly the golden years for Yes, as they were totally on top of the world and carving a very special place for themselves in rock history with these classic albums. "Close To The Edge" remains one of Yes' true masterworks, and one of the greatest albums ever from the progressive rock genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Close to the Edge
Close to the Edge by Yes (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.