Start reading Close My Eyes on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
Close My Eyes Narrated by Marisa Calin $27.99 $12.99
Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Close My Eyes [Kindle Edition]

Sophie McKenzie
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (106 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $7.99
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $5.00 (63%)
Sold by: Macmillan
This price was set by the publisher

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $2.99  
Hardcover $17.38  
Paperback --  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $23.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
Mass Market Paperback $7.99  
Audio, CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged $36.03  
"Prodigal Son" by Danielle Steel
New York Times best-selling author Danielle Steel tells a brilliant, suspenseful story of suspicion, betrayal, and a life-and-death struggle for survival. See more

Book Description

Gone Girl meets Before I Go to Sleep in Sophie McKenzie's Close My Eyes, a riveting psychological thriller about a grieving mother who finds out years after her daughter's death that her child may still be alive



When Geniver Loxley lost her daughter at birth eight years ago, her world stopped… and never fully started again. Mothers with strollers still make her flinch; her love of writing has turned into a half-hearted teaching career; and she and her husband, Art, have slipped into the kind of rut that seems inescapable.


But then a stranger shows up on their doorstep, telling Gen the very thing she's always wanted to hear: that her daughter Beth was not stillborn, but was taken away as a healthy infant and is still out there, somewhere, waiting to be found. It's insane, unbelievable. But why would anyone make that up? A fissure suddenly opens up in Gen's carefully reconstructed life, letting in a flood of unanswerable questions. Where is Beth now? Why is Art so reluctant to get involved? To save his wife from further hurt? Or is it something more sinister? And who can she trust to help her?


Ignoring the warnings of her husband and friends, Gen begins to delve into the dark corners of her past, hopeful she'll find a clue to her daughter's whereabouts. But hope quickly turns into fear and paranoia, as she realizes that finding the answers might open the door to something even worse than not knowing. A truth that could steal everything she holds close - even her own life.



Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. Imagine losing a daughter at childbirth and living your life in a depression, only to have a mysterious stranger inform you years later that the girl is actually alive and well. This is the premise of Sophie McKenzie's new novel, which is skillfully narrated by Marisa Calin in an inspired, emotional performance. Calin's ability to capture the essence of the novel's troubled, ravaged heroine, Geniver Loxley, is extraordinary. Calin's pacing is steady, her tone is simple and understated, and yet her voice possesses a slight tremble during Geniver's dialogue. In this audio edition, McKenzie and Calin—by the power of her performance—force listeners to wonder how they might act in a similar situation. A St. Martin's hardcover. (July)

From Booklist

Geniver Loxley has never recovered from the stillborn birth of her daughter eight years prior. Her husband, Art, is anxious to have another child and to move on with their lives, but Geniver is still grieving. Then a woman shows up claiming that Gen’s baby had been born alive and was taken away by the doctor and given to someone else, and that her husband was in on the scheme. Reeling from the shocking news and unsure of whether she can trust her husband, she turns to free-spirited Lorcan, an old colleague of Art’s who is now a successful actor and is extremely empathetic. As the two investigate, they discover some shocking secrets that put their lives in jeopardy. Although this novel is being touted as a read-alike for Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl (2012), it lacks the complexity and depth of that title; instead, it more closely resembles Elizabeth Haynes’ slam-bang suspenser Into the Darkest Corner (2012). Nothing, though, will prepare readers for McKenzie’s chilling epilogue, a dark and twisted scenario that is the definite high point of her novel. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: A best-selling, award-winning children’s and YA author in the UK, McKenzie makes her U.S. debut with a thriller for adults that has a 150,000-copy first printing. --Joanne Wilkinson

Product Details

  • File Size: 550 KB
  • Print Length: 417 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1471111733
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press; Reprint edition (July 9, 2013)
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009LRWH9K
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #26,292 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but flawed June 28, 2013
Format:Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book has many good qualities. The plot is well conceived, intriguing, and, for the most part, well executed. The writing is good, and I didn't find the narration getting in the way (if you listen to many books, you know that bad audio or narration really spoils the experience).

Unfortunately, along with the many good qualities came many not-so-good qualities. There were frequent leaps of assumption that left me wondering how a person could possibly have gotten from A to B based on the evidence at hand. However, just when such a leap is direly needed to move things along, the story instead bogs down while Geniver, the main character, dithers about with obvious questions and pointless hesitations. Geniver's sister-in-law, Morgan, is of the opinion that Geniver is too stupid to be married to Morgan's brother. At several points in the story, I agreed.

There were also many hard to swallow lucky breaks; for example, luckily coming across a stranger who not only knows the man Geniver is looking for but also knows his habits well enough to direct her to his likely location on any given day. The man being sought has critical evidence and conveniently stays away from his house even after he has talked to Geniver and knows she is there for the sole purpose of getting this evidence. The house is unguarded, easy to break into, and has an unlabeled thumb drive handily available that Geniver just knows has exactly what she needs (see "leap of assumption," earlier).

One could divide the book roughly into thirds: The setup, the chase, and the resolution, and each of those ran on just past the point of enjoyment. The setup was very interesting and introduced all the main characters, but after awhile I was longing for someone to get up and DO something about it all.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could give it six stars July 13, 2013
Format:Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I got the audio version on CD, so I am going to review both the reader and the book.

The book is set in England, so the reader, Marisa Cailin, has a lilting and lovely british accent. It took me about a minute to find the flow of her voice, but I have to say that I would listen to just about anything she was the reader for. I stopped and read the first chapter that was listed on Amazon and I can't say I would have had the same positive reaction to the book if it hadn't been for Marisa Cailin's delivery.

Marisa - the reader has a wide range of depth to her voice, so sliding in and out of characters happens in an effortless fashion. Her narration is engaging. I do think there are points where the book might have lagged, but Ms. Cailin created a rhythm to the delivery that saved it from stagnation. Kudos to her reading ability.

Now - for the author. I really liked this book. I think that Jen is a sympathetic character. Eight years after giving birth to a stillborn baby girl, she is struggling to find her way. Her husband, Art, is described as a strong workaholic and a powerful (pushy) man. Jen is being pushed to undergo IVF once more for her husband's sake. In the midst of the angst that option causes a knock on the door pushes her into a horror she didn't think possible. She is told that her daughter never died and that the doctor engaged in a conspiracy to steal her child. She is also told that her husband, Art, is part of the conspiracy.

I think Jen did exactly what a lost woman would do. She disclosed too much about what she'd been told to all of the wrong people, and she still managed to keep looking for the shocking truth.

I think this book is artfully done. I highly recommend the CD version because it is such a wonderful delight to listen to. I found my ride to work was filled with rapt tension as I waited to find out what would happen next.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor Narration, Gripping Novel May 27, 2013
Format:Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What if everything you know might just possibly be nothing but lies?

The book is written in the first person from the view of two different characters. The main character is Jen. In the beginning Jen discusses her day to day activities, her relationship with her successful husband, family & friends. This part of the book is a bit dull & it gets a tad tiresome.

Thankfully a surprise arrives on Jen's doorstep in the form of a mind reeling revelation. Jen drove me crazy with her lack of action after discovering this earth shattering news. She dwelled on it, told her best friend & her husband all while continuing on with her day to day activities. I had to take myself out of the story & imagine if it was my life. How would I react? Well, I guess I'd probably act very similar to Jen. To take the word of a stranger over what your friends & family say is a big leap. By imagining this as real life vs. fiction it then became understandable to me for her to have her doubts & not immediately behave like a action hero ready to right the wrongs that might or might not have been committed.

Once the story starts to get going, it kept a tight hold on me all the way to the unsatisfying end. Mainly this was because I wanted to know the answer to the mystery that I was trying to solve along with Jen. Was the revelation by the stranger correct or were they tricking Jen? Was it her friends or family tricking her or was it someone she just met? Being told mostly by Jen, you only know as much as the main character reveals (except for when the novel occasionally goes into the other characters first person narration). Jen along with the help of a newly made friend slowly unravel the the answers.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book
I loved this book. A psychological thriller with lots of twists and turns. Will keep you guessing until the end.
Published 2 months ago by Suzy
1.0 out of 5 stars Comparing this to Gone Girl and Before I Go To Sleep is RIDICULOUS!!!
This is nothing like Gone Girl or Before I Go to Sleep! HORRIBLE book! Predictable and awful. I do not recommend. And for the price?? I'm so disappointed!
Published 4 months ago by booksnbooks
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Excellent book. Never sure what will happen until the very end.
Published 4 months ago by Beryl Chester
4.0 out of 5 stars While the story is a little far fetched, this ...
While the story is a little far fetched, this book is a total page turner. I couldn't put it down and didn't have an inkling as to what was going on until near the end. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Kimberlyputnam
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought this book because it was a Richard and Judy UK Book Club...
I'd rate this book a 3 1/2-4 star read. I bought this book because it was a Richard and Judy UK Book Club selection and I have had a lot of luck finding great reads and new authors... Read more
Published 6 months ago by Laraine
4.0 out of 5 stars Who can you trust?
This story of Geniver and the mystery surrounding the death of her baby 8 years before was impossible to put down. Read more
Published 8 months ago by Electablue
1.0 out of 5 stars A really Unrealistic Plot
This book was well written but the characters were so unrealistic that the book just didn't work. The main chart or has been grieving for a lost child for eight years. Read more
Published 9 months ago by Berengaria
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Okay
A book so forgettable that i finishedi it a week ago and can barely remember the story.. No real value in reading the book, and another case of ann a author having trouble ending... Read more
Published 9 months ago by Alice Siegel
2.0 out of 5 stars Histrionic MC and dragging plot makes this only an OK read
On it's release, this book drew numerous comparisons to Gone Girl, which I absolutely loved, but the biggest problem with such a comparison is that the reader is undoubtedly meant... Read more
Published 9 months ago by Aurania
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down
The story-line hooked me from page one. Loved the writing style, and the plot. I read this book in just over a day. Read more
Published 10 months ago by Koo
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category