Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Suspense
I couldn't put this page-turner down. Stalkers come in all shapes and sizes -- even genders, and Eliza Blake (from Clark's debut thriller) is the perfect target, smart and self-assured, even when the letters and phone calls become increasingly menacing. The reader finds out who's getting closer and closer only when Eliza does -- and then it's too late! Immensely...
Published on August 25, 2001

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story spoiled by way too many characters & subplots ...
We've felt the same way after all four of M.J. Clark's four novels of mystery and suspense set in the interesting venue of "Key News", no doubt a knock-off of CBS News where our author toils in real life. Her stories are invariably entertaining and suspenseful, even though her female leading characters verge on Wonder Women. And one eventually gets used to her...
Published on July 9, 2002 by Jerry Bull


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Suspense, August 25, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Close to You (Hardcover)
I couldn't put this page-turner down. Stalkers come in all shapes and sizes -- even genders, and Eliza Blake (from Clark's debut thriller) is the perfect target, smart and self-assured, even when the letters and phone calls become increasingly menacing. The reader finds out who's getting closer and closer only when Eliza does -- and then it's too late! Immensely enjoyable. When I'm watching Katie Couric and Diane Sawyer these days, I can only wonder who else is watching . . . and planning God-knows-what. I strongly recommend Mary Jane Clark's latest, and very readable, suspenser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story spoiled by way too many characters & subplots ..., July 9, 2002
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Close to You (Hardcover)
We've felt the same way after all four of M.J. Clark's four novels of mystery and suspense set in the interesting venue of "Key News", no doubt a knock-off of CBS News where our author toils in real life. Her stories are invariably entertaining and suspenseful, even though her female leading characters verge on Wonder Women. And one eventually gets used to her one- and two-page (or less!) chapter lengths. But we really don't need three main plots and three sub-plots in one fairly short novel, much less the several dozen characters it takes to populate all those mini-stories.
The tale this time is about Eliza Blake, reprised from Clark's first novel "Do You Want to Know a Secret?", who now anchors the evening news broadcast. Two or more viewers, not to mention some of her co-workers, are taking way too much interest in Blake, leading to three variations of a stalking problem, two different male romances gone awry, and one potential female liaison thrown in for good measure! As before, Eliza is so perfect it's clear she's Clark's vision of a modern, progressive, gorgeous, single female parent on the pedestal personified, which gets just a little tiresome after a while. But even more tiresome is the seemingly endless cast of characters and plot details that only sap strength from the main story.
We've complained loudly about this same "clutter" in MJ's three earlier works. We guess there's just no recourse but too quit now before we invest any more time in an author who otherwise has tremendous potential. Can't an editor do something here?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, May 30, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Close to You (Hardcover)
With Close To You, Mary Jane Clark has an interesting premise but turns it into a disappointing novel. At under 300 pages, it's is certainly a quick read, but Clark fails to deliver genuine suspense. The so called "thrilling" sequences in the book are much too short, barely giving the reader time to think about what's going on. On top of this, the novel is quite predictable. Anyone with half a brain could figure out the identity of the killer within thirty pages.
One could forgive the predictability if the characters were well developed, but unfortunately, Ms. Clark didn't do this either. Other than the novel's heroine, we don't get much of a backstory for any character.
Mary Jane Clark has a long way to go before she can join the ranks of the great suspense novelists, such as James Patterson and John Sandford. All and all, you could easily find something worse to read than Close To You, but the real question is, why would you waste your time with it when there are so many better books out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHY?, August 31, 2004
By 
Mitzi Ditsy "ditsymitzi" (Bristol, CT United States) - See all my reviews
I love MJC's books but I am inclined to agree with other reviewers that she wraps up her books too fast and that when the villain is ultimately revealed, there is no explanation behind his/her motivation to commit the crime.

In this book, she brings back Eliza Blake who is a loveable character from her previous books. Eliza who is a news anchorwoman is being stalked not by one but by a few psychos. The book moves along quickly and the reason behind some of the stalking was a bit surprising but when you find out who the "REAL" stalker turns out to be, you will have one burning question. WHY? We know that stalkers are usually crazy people who get fixated on someone but there usually is a reason why they become fixated (the person they are stalking, reminds them of someone who they hate/loved) but in this case you really don't get a grasp of why this person was stalking Eliza.

MJC has the potential to be another Mary Clark Higgins but she needs to work on her endings and this is why I am rating this book a 4 instead of a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overkill, March 6, 2005
The concept of the book was interesting and I tried to get into it. But what I found was too many nutcases and too many bad things happening at once in Eliza's life. It got to the point, where I just would scoff and shake my head. I liked the climax and maybe would have liked it more if I could have felt it was more believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could not put this down!, August 20, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Close to You (Hardcover)
This goes back to the first in the series, with Eliza as the star. She has many creepy admirers, and from page to page (gotta love those short chapters), it's impossible to tell who the most threatening stalker will be. Plus, there's a romance or two on the side . . . Tons of fun & perfect for late-summer beach reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart-racing thriller, August 21, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Close to You (Hardcover)
This will probably be the fastest book you ever read. My heart was racing. I HAD to figure it out -- and didn't until the very end. This is Mary Jane Clark's BEST -- though I loved her last one (LET ME WHISPER IN YOUR EAR) too.
You'll devour this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close to You by Mary Jane Clark, June 3, 2003
A Kid's Review
Close to You is about a young anchor-woman who goes through adventure escaping multiple stalkers. She struggles to protect her daughter, while her colleagues and those close to her try and keep her safe from trouble. After moving into a new house with a new nanny, Eliza, being a single mother, has no choice but to feel vulnerable to those after her. But when simple letters turn to threats, and she doesn't know who they are coming from, she starts to suspect everyone that is close to her. Eliza does her best to crack down on her problems, and free herself from harm.
Close to You is a book that Clark does a very good job of creating suspence and really makes you relate to all the characters and their feelings. It keeps the pages turning till the end, and creates a new kind of suspence from the celebrity stalker situation. This story was very well developed. If you are looking for a good mystery and can stick with a book, "Close to You" is just for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, August 22, 2003
By 
claire podesta (bear, de United States) - See all my reviews
I could not put this down! The sub plots made the book interesting! The suspense was incredible. There were a lot of twists. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would highly recommend it. Mary Jane Clark is extremely talanted. I am looking forward to reading Nobody Knows next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Mary Higgens Clark...Mary JANE Clark, April 9, 2007
Not bad. I was in desperate need of a MHC novel to read, but I read them ALL!!! Figured I would try Mary JANE Clark and I was not dissapointed. A nice substitute if you like MHC. But I am pretty sure MJC has her own loyal following she a pretty good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Close to You
Close to You by Mary Jane Clark (Hardcover - September 10, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.