Closed Circuit and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$14.69
Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.00
  • Save: $1.31 (8%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Closed Circuit Paperback – February 14, 2011


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.69
$14.06 $18.15
Best%20Books%20of%202014

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 326 pages
  • Publisher: Logan Books LLC (February 14, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0982928009
  • ISBN-13: 978-0982928004
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,464,744 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

About the author:  Marte Brengle published her first work at the age of 12, a satirical retelling of the story of Macbeth in verse.  She's since published movie and concert reviews, poetry, satire, song parodies, technical articles and software manuals.

From her home in Burbank, California, she now runs Logan Books, manages four technical forums and keeps up three active blogs.  Closed Circuit is her first novel, and the first in a series about the fictional town of Lyric, Iowa.  The second book in the series, Dutchman's Puzzle, is scheduled for publication in spring 2011.

More About the Author

Marte Brengle comes from a long line of teachers, preachers, and writers. Born at the beginning of the Fifties, she entered her teen years as the Beatles conquered the world, graduated from high school into the tumultuous, catastrophic world of 1968, and graduated from college just when Nixon thought he had it all.

This produced a distinctive world view that falls into no set category.

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, she creates novels full of warmly appealing characters, who must come to terms with themselves, their surroundings and their pasts.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful By D. Bevan on September 18, 2010
Format: Paperback
Small town stories make for in-depth novels and Marte Brengle's debut Closed Circuit is no exception.
Lyric, Iowa and the electronics repair shop on the northwest corner of the town square set the stage for mystery, drama and romance. A sticky hot summer has barely begun when Ruth Peyton discovers that her landlord has sold the building where she lives and works - to Adam Tallbott, someone from her past that she'd rather not speak to ever again.
Not only that, but there are rumours flying that he's bought other buildings around town, and is planning to raze them all. Or build a supermarket. Or dig for minerals. Gossip runs wild and all too soon Ruth finds herself in the thick of it, as Adam tries to win his way back into her life.
Can she play him long enough to find out what he's really up to - without losing her heart to him in the process?
Brengle has created an entire cast of characters for Lyric who soon become as familiar to the reader as their own friends, and the story is told in an omniscient voice that allows their individual traits to shine through. There's Chet, the kind curmudgeon who works with Ruth - determined to solve his own mystery in the town - Jodi, femme fatale, who gets her comeuppance the first time in one hilarious scene involving a too-short skirt - and a few shady characters running - or trying to run - a pot growing operation. Plus Grace, Eleanor, Eddie...
The next book in the series is called The Dutchman's Puzzle and will continue the story of Lyric and its inhabitants - I can't wait!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again