Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 7, 2012
After reading the reviews on this app., I noticed a distinct split in the ratings. Either a 5* or a 1*, nothing in between. I opted to try this app. as it's for a Kindle we bought our teenage child as a gift, as we wanted some extra protecting from the web., other than passcoding the wifi access. When I first used the app., it blocked nothing, and I thought "well there's a waste of money." However, after playing with it awhile it works perfectly. Now with that said, you MUST ENABLE the "BLOCKING" on the very first option. On the first 'button' on the list, there is either a choice between "Monitoring" or "Blocking". It comes set to default as "Monitoring". This monitoring default does Nothing for blocking content. Switching it to "blocking" changed everything.. It even stopped searches in search engines for adult content. Not bad at all. I believe, some if not all previous 1* reviewers did not change the first button from "monitor" to "Blocking", therefore it seemed as it did not work. With that said, never trust an app for 100% protection. It's just a tool, not a substitute for protection of your child from content on the web. Again, the app., (so far) has blocked all adult content I've tested on it.. 5 Stars!
22 comments36 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
I purchased Kindle Fire HDs for my kids. I thought it would have safe browser options like Mobicip that I have used on the IPod Touch. This app was not available so I installed Cloadacl. It does not work on the HD. Save your money don't buy this app!!!!!! Amazon, please release an app that will allow parents to monitor and filter material available to kids!!!!! Thank you
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
Very inaffective app. Don't bother trying it. The only thing it does is stop you from typing in googles web address and using google.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2012
Does not work on Kindle Fire. Here is how any kid can hack it... THE SEARCH BAR.
If you enter block "google.com" It will block "google.com" but it will NOT block the actual search queries. I gave it a run myself. Yes my child under 13 is smart enough to figure our a way around this. This app is only good for blocking folks who actually type in the website address in the browser. Most of us now a days do what? Google and click the homepage of the website.

#failed. Will be requesting a refund and my kid will NOT be getting the Kindle back until I figure out something. Darn porn ppl have "soft porn" every where. Its out of control...all this time I thought she was watching a Pokemon/Digimon like cartoon and she is watching some Ouran ( something like that).. BTW keep your kids off fansite.net!!! These ppl add sexual context to things as simple as Pokemon. :/
11 comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2012
Every time I log onto the internet this app flags me with a sorry message. The message is the application Webnanny has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. Then Force Close.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
Doesn't work on Kindle Fire...Tried blocking a website but it still allowed access. I'm guessing it was designed for another android device Waste of money.
44 comments7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
I just purchased this, gambled because it's the only thing available that said it was compatible with the Kindle. I just bought a Kindle for my 13 year old daughter and wanted to put this on to protect her from the wilds of the Internet. Unfortunately, it doesn't work. After ensuring the software was in "Blocking" mode (which it looks to default) and not "Monitoring" mode, each time I bring up the web app, the following message appears: "The application Webnanny (process com.cloudacl.webnanny) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again."
Needless to say, this is very annoying and I hope they fix this soon. I may have to return the Kindle as I don't see any other Parental Control option.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2012
I am not only disappointed with this app, I'm disappointed with Amazon! I bought the KindleFire for my daughter and bought this app to protect her from porn. Well my 9 year old now knows everything because she saw it!! Thanks Amazon for offering apps that offer absolutely no protection. After my daughter showed me what she saw, I typed in different words and everything popped up. This offers zero protection!!! It's
totally worthless and what's worse Amazon does not offer any other app to protect our kids so if you haven't bought a Kindle don't!!!WebNanny Lite
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2012
This is the first app I've ever reviewed. I'm writing because I am 100% TOTALLY disappointed in my purchase. I wasted my money. I'm not sure why I was able to purchase this app for a Kindle Fire HD becaue IT DOES NOT WORK ON IT! I set it up to block pretty much everything, and was able to access anything. The app blocked nothing -- even when I entered a specific website on the "black list". Maybe it works on a different device. The creator should specify on which devices this app will work. If I could give it less than one star, I would.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
I wish I could give it zero stars. I thought for $4 I'd take a chance that the 5* folks were right. I was able to get the APP working on the Kindle Fire. Unfortunately, it blocks very little of the pornographic content that is available on the web. It is COMPLETELY USELESS for anyone trying to keep users from viewing pornographic content.
My guess is that some of the previous reviewers thought it wasn't working when it was "working" but not blocking any of the sites they used for testing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.