Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent
I picked up this book tonight and got a quick glimpse of it. When I heard the advertisements for it on the Dan Patrick Show, "Squeegee's" interview with D.P., and read reviews about it, they made it sound like it was a tell all book that would really be damaging. If you know and/or read about the Jeter, Bernie, Coney, Paulie, Andy, Jorge, Mr. T's, etc. Yankees, there's...
Published on August 17, 2011 by B. Wyatt

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty interesting, quick read
I enjoyed the book. It only took about 4 hours to read. Although it says it is over 300 pages the print is big and the pages are small so it wont take you took long.

I never figured this would be a book to divulge all the intimate bad details about the players. I think the best way to review it is to break it down into pro's and con's.

Pro's:...
Published on August 18, 2011 by johnn noxville


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, August 17, 2011
By 
B. Wyatt (Burlington, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I picked up this book tonight and got a quick glimpse of it. When I heard the advertisements for it on the Dan Patrick Show, "Squeegee's" interview with D.P., and read reviews about it, they made it sound like it was a tell all book that would really be damaging. If you know and/or read about the Jeter, Bernie, Coney, Paulie, Andy, Jorge, Mr. T's, etc. Yankees, there's really nothing surprising. It's most just stories to confirm Jeter is down to earth, Bernie was aloof and forgetful sometimes, Cone was a womanizer, and O'Neill, Pettitte, and Posada were intense. It seems to be mostly just a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable Look Inside the Yankee Clubhouse--Better Than Collecting Baseball Cards In Our Youth..., September 5, 2011
By 
Big D (Auburn, AL. USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you are looking for dirt and scandal, this is not the book for you. If, however, you are looking for an inside look at Yankee Clubhouse and the personalities who reside therein, this is the book for you.

Told from the perspective of a very young batboy, this book is a recounting of his thoughts and observations of the men who made up, arguably, the world's greatest sports franchise.

Not all positive--he does get in a shot or two at A-Rod and the way he "escorted" women to their cars while still married--but all in all, an upbeat inside look at the personalities of the New York Yankees. Some are surprising, some not. All are interesting and readable and at times you can feel the young man's excitement and enthusiasm as he writes about the greatest names in the game.

Of particular interest are his pieces on Derek Jeter and Joe Torre--"Mr. T" to Jeter in a show of respect to Torre.

Many players and situations covered here. Just a good, ole fashion baseball read, the kind we lovers of the game have been looking for for a long time.

Scandal seekers, muckrakers,and smut peddlers, steer clear. Lovers of the game and the men who play it...get the book...get it as soon as possible. It is good, quite good.

Almost as good and in some ways better than collecting baseball cards as we old guys used to do with much zeal and furor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty interesting, quick read, August 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the book. It only took about 4 hours to read. Although it says it is over 300 pages the print is big and the pages are small so it wont take you took long.

I never figured this would be a book to divulge all the intimate bad details about the players. I think the best way to review it is to break it down into pro's and con's.

Pro's:

Each chapter is broken down into a different player and the author includes about 2-3 stories that he remembered about that player.

The author manages to take the high road on a lot of the things he says and it doesn't seem like he is bashing the players and their lifestyle, which is something I think the reader can appreciate.

He divulges what was going on inside the players mind, which when I read the acknowledgements, he had the help of a psychologist to help him out.

Con's:

There are some grammatical mistakes in the book which probably should have been caught.

Some of the stories he tells are repeated from the beginning or from other chapters of players. This happened about three separate times.

As i said he divulges what the players were thinking and feeling which is interesting. Not to say he wasn't in a position to understand them and how they were feeling, he tends to make it seem like he was in their head and knows exactly how they were feeling emotionally and physically. It just seems like he is assuming a lot, and stretching his interpretations

It really doesn't reveal that many interesting details. Yes I know paul o neill probably has anger issues as we see him beat up the water cooler. That isn't that much of a surprise. We know jason giambi is a nice guy and it's pretty obvious jorge is very emotional and passionate.

Overall it was a good read which I would recommend to any yankee fan. If you are a pretty serious fan you already probably know a lot of the things in the book. If this book was any longer and wasn't as easy to read I think it wouldn't be enjoyable nor something I would recommend. It is a fun read and definitely keeps you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RED ALERT!!! This book is awesome!, November 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Clubhouse Confidential" is one of the truly enjoyable reads for any baseball fan, told by former Yankees bat boy Luis Castillo. Its an honest but fun look into his stint in the Yankees organization. This book also gives the reader a good understanding as to exactly what a batboy's duties are and I think readers will have a new respect for those young men and what they mean to baseball players.

Baseball has an unwritten golden rule - what goes on in the clubhouse stays in the clubhouse. Castillo does write about some of the more fascinating players and their personalities, and some of the more interesting details of life in baseball. However, he doesn't indulge so far that it crosses personal boundaries or that will humiliate and embarrass anyone.

I titled my review "Red Alert", named after the funniest chapter of the book talking about how everyone dealt with George Steinbrenner. The "system" (I won't go into detail 'cause you have to read the book) is amazing and HYSTERICAL!! It read like something out of a movie.

The one thing that I did get out of this book is that I now understand why the Yankees were so successful during Castillo's stint - particularly between 1998-2002. The team environment was fun, united, congenial and truly dedicated to winning. And it feels like that atmosphere on the Yankees is now lost. Its sad but this book heightens the appreciation of those years more so than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definite Must-Have for a Yankees Fan!, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is definitely great for anyone who calls himself a New York Yankees fan. The book is light and amusing and the way it is written is not overly wordy or overly ambitious. It's fun reading and the best part of all is it's current - most of the players and personalities being talked about are still active so the book kind of gives the reader a better understanding of them when they're out in the mound or the plate. It's a great book. I couldn't stop reading once I started on the first chapter. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clubhouse Confidential: A Yankee Bat Boy's Insider Tale of Wild Nights, Gambling, and Good Times with Modern Baseball's Greatest Team (Hardcover)
Great book to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clubhouse Confidential: A Yankee Bat Boy's Insider Tale of Wild Nights, Gambling, and Good Times with Modern Baseball's Greatest Team (Hardcover)
I thought it was pretty interesting about the players quirks but a couple of things bothered me about the author. First, he constantly seems to feel he has to remind the reader that only he knew of the players certain rituals or quirks. Secondly, the book was flowing nicely until the author took time out to whine about being fired from the Yankees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Time, January 12, 2013
This review is from: Clubhouse Confidential: A Yankee Bat Boy's Insider Tale of Wild Nights, Gambling, and Good Times with Modern Baseball's Greatest Team (Hardcover)
Shame on this money hungry "author" revealing things about the clubhouse. He was a trusted BAT BOY....a BAT BOY. Not a player, manager or anyone of significance for the Yankees beyond being a maid/butler. He should have enjoyed the experience and left it at that. To try to cash in is despicable. And the writing itself is pretty low rent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Read about the Yankees clubhouse through the years from an attendant's point of view. Amazing look at the private world of professional athletes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seemed Bias, October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The writer seemed a bit biased here the only player he truly had anything negative to say in his book was A-Rod. I'm sure a lot more members of the team had issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.