Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Motivating, Short, and To the Point!
This has to be one of the BEST and MOST MOTIVATING books I have ever read. This is a short, easy-to-read book. I read it in one day. This author REALLY UNDERSTANDS the problem of people like me who are "pack-rats," and WHY we are pack-rats. He tackles the problem from this point of view.
The very next day, after reading the book, I was able to organize...
Published on November 10, 2002 by Imperial Topaz

versus
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just throw out your stuff and save your money
Since I am a clutter-aholic, I have read oodles of organizing books and de-cluttering books and this one is the least inspired. He seems to be just filling space with each topic, rather than offering any new insights or ideas. For this particular topic, I recommend the Messie's Manual for a beginner and Julie Morgenstern's Organizing from the Inside Out for some...
Published on October 7, 2005 by Lynn 56


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Motivating, Short, and To the Point!, November 10, 2002
By 
Imperial Topaz (Marrakesh, Morocco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
This has to be one of the BEST and MOST MOTIVATING books I have ever read. This is a short, easy-to-read book. I read it in one day. This author REALLY UNDERSTANDS the problem of people like me who are "pack-rats," and WHY we are pack-rats. He tackles the problem from this point of view.
The very next day, after reading the book, I was able to organize my entire office. I am now involved in packing for a home move, and for the first time in years, I am making progress on knowing what to save, and what to get rid of. This book helped me TREMENDOUSLY in making these decisions. And it provides precise, practical suggestions for how to go about it step-by-step, so that you get rid of the problem of being entirely overwhelmed and not knowing where to start.
If clutter is disturbing your life, then THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When you think about it, the advice is obvious..., July 31, 2000
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
but it really does help to hear it from a professional. It's almost like someone telling you that it's okay to throw out odd screws and socks and other ridiculous things that you think you'll use "some day," but, surprise, surprise, the day never comes. Have applied it to my desk...now I just have to hit the closets and the rest of the house. If you've ever wondered what should stay and what should go, this is definitely the book for you. I'm probably going to purchase _Speed Cleaning_ next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read this book when you're ready for serious decluttering!, October 6, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
This book was guiding force for a major home decluttering. Mr. Campbell gives a lot of practical advice and also provides psychological insights into why we accumulate so much stuff. I have thrown/given away a lot of stuff and have missed virtually none of it. He also helps you to store efficiently what you do keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most of America needs this book, March 15, 2001
By 
Amyred "Amyred" (Houston, TX (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
I think I need to re-read this one, because I'm finding clutter here and there. But this book will tell you exactly what you need to do manage your life. You don't need all that stuff you've been saving all these years, and hey--no time like the present. If you are afraid of your closet, or under the bed, this is the book for you. The next step is to not let it happen again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just throw out your stuff and save your money, October 7, 2005
By 
Lynn 56 (Crawfordsville, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
Since I am a clutter-aholic, I have read oodles of organizing books and de-cluttering books and this one is the least inspired. He seems to be just filling space with each topic, rather than offering any new insights or ideas. For this particular topic, I recommend the Messie's Manual for a beginner and Julie Morgenstern's Organizing from the Inside Out for some practical tips. The best part about Clutter Control is a guide on page 137 giving suggestions of how long you should keep certain kinds of documents. I ripped out page 137 and threw the book away. The latest organizing book I've read is David Allen's Getting Things Done. It is awesome for paper clutter, one of my worst problems. I seem to be making progress!

To be fair to Jeff Campbell, his book, Speed Cleaning is THE BEST on the subject of how to clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncluttered Thoughts, August 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
When I set my house in order and kept only what I needed, this book stayed on the top shelf. Great ideas and they really work too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, July 24, 2000
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
This little handbook is definately something to put in the "Keep" pile. I was amazed at how many useful ideas, suggestions and tidbits this little volume held. Everything was practical and could be easily implemented.
It's also very easy to read, unlike another organizing book I purchased at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Motivator, December 27, 2000
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
Most of what the book contains the average person already knows, however I found this book to really motivate me to get rid of the piles. It includes a lot of useful hints and suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saint Jeff, March 16, 2004
By 
TundraVision (o/~ from the Land of Sky Blue Waters o/~) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
Jeff Campbell, guru of The Clean Team, and author of the books *Speed Cleaning* and *Spring Cleaning,* chides and guides the reader to declutter one's domestic existence - the better to clean around, my pretty!
It's a Holy War against Clutter and Chaos, in which Less really *is* More. If you are tired of living like Fibber McGee, get this book. Then READ it. Don't just leave it lying around in the midst of all the incoming mail clutter.
Campbell first lies down The Uncluttering Rules, #1 of which is: "When in Doubt, Throw It Out!" and then, with compassion and humour, goes through The Psychology of Clutter. He grants dispensation from guilt of liberating oneself of Gawd Awful gifts from well-meaning friends and relatives. Then there are "Uncluttering Guides: An Alphabetical List" of Clutter Combat Zones. It is a truly emancipating experience.
Cannonize Campbell!
TundraVision, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Info, August 7, 2006
By 
E. Coniglio (Mission Viejo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed with the information in the book - it was pretty basic, not much innovative or new material. Just good common sense ways to tackle the clutter in your house. Also a little too much into the "psychology" of clutter instead of practical advice. If you have never read anything else on getting rid of clutter this book would be helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet
Clutter Control: Putting Your Home on a Diet by Jeff Campbell (Paperback - April 1, 1992)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.