Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Co-Active Coaching: Changing Business, Transforming Lives
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
95
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 21, 2013
This was a textbook for two courses. I learned more from this book than I did in Six-month coaching certification program. I reread it periodically to refresh my skills.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
Having purchased over $1200.00 in books this year I know that if you want to get into the field of coaching this is one of the best supported books on the market. It speaks in clear thoughts that can be used in everyday life, supported well by the books website makes the books value far more than the price paid.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
This book has great information to be a life coach. It is an excellent resource for how to be in a partnership with your client by asking powerful questions, listening at a deeper level, understanding the significance of values, while using intuition as a guide. Highly recommend it.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2012
This book is an excellent resource for coaches who are just starting out and coaches with established practices. It advocates a Co-Active coaching model in which the client's agenda, objectives and core values are paramount. Each section of the book includes examples of coaching sessions, and demonstrates skills at various levels of competency. I found these conversations particularly practical and helpful. This book clearly articulates the coach's primary responsibility: to help clients determine their best course of action, support them in staying on track, and empower them to become more resourceful over time. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2011
Great Approach at Coaching with good elaborations and examples. Co-Active approach is a great guide to Life Coaching and the various core disciplines of Fulfillment, Balance and Process. I believe however there was an opportunity to spend more time on Balance and Process the chapters are too short for such important topics. I would recommend this book for anyone looking to get a good approach at Life Coaching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have been recruited over the past few years to serve on boards and as a business advisor for companies in the healthcare field. My role has expanded in each to become a leadership coach for first time CEOs and COOs. I am not a professional coach nor have I been certified as a coach. I really enjoy growing people but building a career specializing in professional coaching would be a significant distraction from my real passion – “Bringing Entrepreneurs and Technology to Life.” That is, building new health related companies that are trying to solve intractable healthcare problems.

Presently, I am involved in companies focused on medication adherence, continuous remote patient monitoring, therapies for rare and neglected diseases, and the treatment of presbyopia.

I have always viewed coaching as a spiritual calling. As the authors note so well, the coach’s “job is to be out front, encouraging, pointing the way to a life fully lived, a life that is valued and without regret. There is more in life each day. The work of coaches is to assist clients in creating the work and lives they want.” This is a big responsibility with many obligations to getting it right.

I have had a number of important advisors (coaches) in my life – Tony Petrella (pioneer of organizational development), Peter Drucker, Ram Charan, Patrick Lencioni, and Dean Herman. Not all would be classified officially as coaches but all were or are.

The expansion of my role from informal coaching to more formal coaching has motivated me to learn more about coaching and the coaching profession. This led me to the third edition of “Co-active Coaching” by Kimsey-House et al. This book, according to the authors, gained prominence as a guide for “bringing coach-like conversation to important relationships at work or at home.” It is now “the standard text for coaching education in many colleges and universities, business schools, and coaching programs around the world.”

Authors believe coaching is chiefly about discovery, awareness, and choice. It is a way of effectively empowering people to find their own answers, encouraging and supporting them on the path as they continue to make important life-giving and life-changing choices.

“Co-Active Coaching” provides a unique way of communicating which will be valuable in many settings including the home. The authors provide an excellent on-line resource, the coach’s toolkit, which filled the early print editions. This approach provides coaches with tools to employ for discovery, awareness, and choice. “It is a way of effectively empowering people to find their own answers, encouraging and supporting them on the path as they continue to make important life-giving and life-changing choices.” The spiritual element is self-evident in the approach offered.

The book is organized around three primary topics: Co-Active Coaching Fundamentals; Co-Active Coaching Contexts (listening, intuition, curiosity, forward and deepen, and self-management); and Co-Active Coaching Principles and Practices (fulfillment, balance).

Some of what is offered is common sense so it will not knock your socks off. But the toolkit, its application, the sections on dealing with failure (the client’s) and value clarification, as well as the chapters on fulfillment and balance are excellent. In addition, the authors provide excellent examples of useful dialogue and many great questions to use when probing. Listening and asking great questions are the two most important keys to coaching success.

I expect to use this book as a reference often. The authors explain that “choosing a fulfilling life is a radical act.” It is our obligation as leaders, managers, friends, or family to keep this goal top of mind. The best gift we can give another is support for choosing a path that will lead to a fulfilling life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
Classic coaching textbook but would have preferred to have all the information in the book instead of having to go online.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2013
Great book and useful information to put into practice straight away. Co active coaching is esp. useful in business or IT settings in enhancing individual performance (in teams). Try get the book in your own language if available... its easier when it comes to things like practicing powerful questions etc. as how we ask questions differs per language/culture...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
I really like Co-Active Coaching, 3rd edition, for the clarity it provides of coaching and providing a number of relevant, practical tools and examples to help operationalize the many concepts shared. It is required reading for the Columbia University Coaching Program!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
Seemed to be a repeat of coaching literature and communication literature I read in college. Wasn't anything more than a regurgitation of life coaching academic studies. Good summary. Would be useful CLEP due to its shortness and easy reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse