Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth look at the methods he used to achieve victory
With the assistance of co-author Jay Carty, 94-year-old John Wooden (one of the most successful college basketball coaches of all time including 10 NCAA national championships in 12 years; an 88-game winning streak, and 4 perfect seasons.) provides a personal, in-depth look at the methods he used to achieve victory on and off the basketball court and which he imparted to...
Published on May 9, 2005 by Midwest Book Review

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Man and His Pyramid
I am a long-time fan and admirer of the late, legendary Coach John Wooden, and his famous Pyramid of Success. I read this book wanting to learn more about both the man and the Pyramid. The book did teach me about both, but my education was a bit diluted by the execution of the authors' best intentions.

The book was logically organized around the Pyramid's...
Published on December 10, 2010 by Matthew Dodd


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth look at the methods he used to achieve victory, May 9, 2005
With the assistance of co-author Jay Carty, 94-year-old John Wooden (one of the most successful college basketball coaches of all time including 10 NCAA national championships in 12 years; an 88-game winning streak, and 4 perfect seasons.) provides a personal, in-depth look at the methods he used to achieve victory on and off the basketball court and which he imparted to generation of his students and players in Coach Wooden's Pyramid Of Success: Building Blocks For A Better Life. Coach Wooden demonstrates how success is built block by block in his "pyramid" where each block is a crucial principle contributing to life-long achievement in every area of life. Such key values as honesty, hard work, and respect for others make up life's "pyramid of success". Coach Wooden's determining factor of success is not in winning or in achievements, but rather is to be found in "self-satisfaction achieved when you know that you did your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming." If you only have time for one book on self-improvement, self-realization, then make it Coach Wooden's Pyramid Of Success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Man and His Pyramid, December 10, 2010
By 
This review is from: Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success: Building Blocks For a Better Life (Paperback)
I am a long-time fan and admirer of the late, legendary Coach John Wooden, and his famous Pyramid of Success. I read this book wanting to learn more about both the man and the Pyramid. The book did teach me about both, but my education was a bit diluted by the execution of the authors' best intentions.

The book was logically organized around the Pyramid's fifteen building blocks and its ten mortar qualities (the mortar that holds the building blocks together). A four-page chapter was dedicated to each of the building blocks and mortar qualities. Each chapter had three parts: Coach's experienced thoughts; Jay Carty's biblical perspectives; and then Bible readings, probing questions, a commitment statement, and a concluding prayer to help readers apply the chapter's principles to their lives.

Coach Wooden was a very spiritual man, and he helped inspire my own budding spirituality. In this book, I expected to read about how his spirituality influenced his Pyramid. However, the book was much more Bible-focused than I expected. I found too many Bible passages too long (I printed all the cited passages in seventy-three pages!) and disconnected from their chapter topic. Fewer, shorter, and more focused/more easily understood Bible passages would have been much more effective in complementing the authors' preceding insights.

I am sure many people will find the book's content properly balanced, and appropriate for their expectations. As much as it pains me to say something less than stellar about Coach Wooden's work, I was disappointed with this book. Overall, I would still recommend it for anyone wanting deeper insights into Coach Wooden and his Pyramid of Success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coach Wooden has another championship, April 18, 2005
Another great book by "The Coach". Coach Wooden does an excellent job of explaining his success, while teaching others that we can succeed as well.

The book is a great read. It is divided into the blocks of the pyramid and the motar sections. I am reading one block each night to my kids!

A great book for anyone at any age. Would make a great graduation gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for both young and adults, January 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first heard of this book from a trainer in Mexico. It did not take me more than 30 minutes into reading to understand how valuable this book is towards self-development. It is easy to read and it's very convincing how each element in his building blocks have a directly impact on our lives. I use it to train adults and children with a slightly different approach but always giving credit to John Wooden and his book.

For those who are Christians, there is a segment at the end of each block with verses from the Bible for them to meditate on. I, personally, find it very useful. For those who are not Christians, they can simply ignore it as every element towards achieving success has a very logical rationale to it and it's spiritual beliefs is largely similar in other religions.

It's an excellent way to keep ourselves on track in everything that we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Challenge By Coach Wooden, March 7, 2008
This review is from: Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success: Building Blocks For a Better Life (Paperback)
"Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success" consists of 3 main areas:

1. Introduction to Coach Wooden and his concept of using a pyramid to teach success.
2. 15 chapters on "Building Blocks" that includes such traits as: planning, self-control, alertness, and loyalty.
3. 10 more chapters on "Mortar Qualities" such as ambition, sincerity, and honesty.

At the end of the book, Wooden and Carty take these qualities and show how they help form the "apex" of the pyramid. In each chapter ending there is a mention of a particular Bible verse that could apply to the described trait.

Read, enjoy, and be challenged by one of the greatest coaches in all of sports history!

Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great tool., October 30, 2007
I read this book after I read "Wooden on Leadership". I think once you understand the pyramid's concept, you can apply it to all aspects of life whether it be your own, your children's, students, players you coach, etc.

This is an amazing man who has proven the success of the pyramid. Highly recommend any of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Advice, but not as Visionary or Devotional as I Hoped it Would Be, October 21, 2010
By 
Fr. Charles Erlandson (Tyler, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success: Building Blocks For a Better Life (Paperback)
Coach John Wooden was legendary for his success in coaching UCLA basketball teams which won 7 consecutive NCAA titles and a total of 10, as well as winning 88 straight games. But people off the court have also recognized him as a great teacher.

His "Pyramid for Success" is a widely used motivational, self-help method/book, and it is filled with useful life information. His definition of success, for example, is very useful for those distracted by more worldly and more selfish measures of success. For Wooden, success is "a peace of mind that is the direct result of self-satisfaction in knowing you did your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming." Anyone who reads this book will not fail to come away with some important lessons in life.

I also like the way that Jay Carty has taken Wooden's principles and then applied them to the life of Christians from the Bible: what a wonderful enhancement to Wooden's work!

I do, however, have 2 criticisms of the book. First, I'm not convinced that all of the 15 "building blocks" and 10 "mortar qualities" necessarily build on each other the way the book implies. They seem more like disjointed points which, though excellent, don't add up to a coherent vision to understand and live life. My second criticism is that by building a devotional book on top of Wooden's pyramid, one comes away sometimes with the idea that one is building up oneself in terms of faith or salvation. Wooden's advice is based on human experience and endeavor and doesn't begin with the gospel of grace. For this reason, the devotional part of the book, while very useful in some ways, is insufficient and even misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wizard of the court and life, March 8, 2006
By 
Brant C. Arendts "bfit" (Romeo, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
John Wooden is a certified legend, not only in basketball but in life. He has deliverd more positive role models than anyone. This book is outstanding and a must read, I have given this book to some of the most successful people I know and they are as impressed as I am. If you want to get your life in order and take the steps necessary to be success in life this is your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Successful Book!, June 22, 2005
Loved the previous collaboration of Coach Wooden and Jay Carty (One on One), so had to pick this one up also. Have already selected it for our weekly Men's Bible Study and also for my Baseball Chapel group to read and discuss during our weekly meetings in addition to our Sunday Chapel sessions. Coach Wooden and Jay make a great team as Coach Wooden brings a common sense, no nonsense approach that any person, no matter what their beliefs might be, can relate to, while Jay adds relevant scripture references and spiritual insights-a successful combination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and Life-Changing, July 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success: Building Blocks For a Better Life (Paperback)
This book, by no doubt, changed my life. John Wooden helps the readers search themselves to find inner source of leadership, responsibility, and success. He not only calls on the readers to change how they look at themselves, but also how they interact with others. Wooden's Pyramid of Success truly is made up of building blocks for a better life. Jay Carty takes expands on the philosophy by illuminating biblical context of each building block that helps the reader build on a more spiritual relationship with God. A fantastic read that will change your outlook on the world and on yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success: Building Blocks For a Better Life
Used & New from: $1.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.